We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Sands Motel Hollywood”
Review of Coral Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Sands Motel
Ranked #62 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coral Sands Motel Hollywood”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My stay at the Coral Sands was surprisingly pleasant! This motel is located on the corner of Hollywood Blvd. and N. Western in Hollywood and the neighborhood is a little intimidating. However, the motel is very secure, the staff friendly, the room clean and walking distance to EVERYTHING! Stores, restaurants, CVS, all the Hollywood tourist sites and centrally located to anywhere you may need to go in LA. For the price, this is a great place to stay. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have less distraction, however all rooms face the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMMILIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    459
    206
    44
    23
See reviews for
148
472
84
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You need to get your expectations aligned with the price that you are paying so that you are not disappointed. Which doesnt seem to be the case with a lot of people giving bad ratings to this place.

Price : $65 (booked through priceline)
Location : Awesome. Very close to the Hollywood walk of fame and the subway line. There are also a number of restaurants and convenience store within a easy walk.

Parking: On-site and free. They had sufficient parking space and covered by CCTV
Internet : Free wifi in room and speed was decent enough for me to make good quality voip calls.
Room : Dated with old furniture. But had fresh sheets and towel. Heater worked fine.
Toilet : Attached but very basic. Had good water pressure and hot water supply.

What deserves special mention is the fact that my wife had left behind an expensive piece of jewelry in the room and they found it and kept it until our next stay. And they remembered it was ours.

The place was very good based on what my expectations were, you want 5 star service you are free to pay $80-100+ for that location and add another $40 for you car

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SauravDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is terrible. First and foremost, we did not feel safe at all. The parking lot is creepy and there are some creepy people hanging out inside the hotel. The room itself is disgusting- dingy old furniture, a tiny TV, a bed with dirty looking sheets, and a dingy bathroom. The motel was very loud- the room had a window like a house and a flimsy door and the whole room shook when someone walked by the door. There is no elevator, so you may be carrying your luggage up stairs if you are on the second floor. I should have expected this based on the cheap room rate, but the reviews on TripAdvisor were so good I gave it a chance. I would only recommend this hotel (basically a hostel) to a group of young men trying to save money. The only redeeming quality was the guy at the front desk who helped us with our luggage and refused a tip.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor- no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 08Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you stay in this mini lush paradise, you’re only a short walk and 2 train stops away from the heart of Hollywood. There you’ll find the Chinese Theater with all those magic mega famous foot & hand prints, thousands of footpath “stars”, and just about as many hawkers. Be careful who you point a camera at, because they just might be putting out their hand for a payment, or rather, ”tip” soon after.
Motel rooms are clean and well serviced and there is a shopping center next door which has a Starbucks, Ross (cheap clothing outlet – great value) and a food supermarket. Reception guys are terrific, always helpful and quick to lend a hand. They’re actually much more aware of who you are here than any large hotel we’ve stayed in. That scores a big 5 stars, but being a motel, the facility is more towards a four. The noise from the spa is considerable, so get a room as far from it as possible. The spa and pool are great to jump into after a big day out, however. Also, only walk towards Hollywood after dark, or at least that was the advice we were given by the taxi driver, although we found the locals quite friendly.
Would definitely stay here again, if checking out Hollywood.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter away from the spa. Get one down the far end if possible (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just came back today morning from LA and my husband and I spent two nights in this motel. If you have a limited budget and really want to find a cozy, clean, good location place to stay while traveling in LA, I strongly recommend this motel.
Pros:1.Easy to get to downtown, Korean town(need transfer to purple line) and Universal Studio just by take the Red Line subway. The station is only 5 minutes walk.
2. There is a plaza beside the motel, which banks(Wells Fargo ATM and Chase) are located. Also there is a starbuck where you may get your breakfast.
3. Friendly staff will explain you how to take the subway according to your destination.
4. Clean, quiet and cozy
Cons: 1.Not so many channel on TV(but usually people will spend a whole day outside of the motel) 2. Sometimes the Internet is not stable if you watch the online stream.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lujing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stay two night in this motel to visit Los Angeles. The location is good as it nearby to the Western Hollywood metro station. The surrounding area also have a few good restaurants and beside the motel is a shopping centre where you can find Ross and Ralphs there. The motel location is just two stops away on metro. Besides that, there is also bus stop on the opposite road. Overall the motel is good and clean. The only complaint would be the wifi connection which is weak on my room.

Room Tip: Ask for room near to the wifi router if Internet is your priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boonchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Although the exterior looks old, the inn gives you a cosy feeling, with a common room for laundry (free detergents), a computer station and travel brochures. My bathroom in my room is definitely newly renovated, spotless and clean. Less than 5 mins walk to the Metro and 2 stops to Hollywood area. There is also free parking. Would definitely stay here again if I visit LA.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Raymondkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#115 of 350 in Los Angeles
673 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#117 of 350 in Los Angeles
663 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Motel

Property: Coral Sands Motel
Address: 1730 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4830
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Los Angeles
Coral Sands Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing