We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious brisket and coleslaw”
Review of Lawry's Carvery

Lawry's Carvery
Ranked #729 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: You’ll find the hottest concerts, premiers, sporting events and more at L.A. LIVE. In the middle of it all is Lawry’s Carvery – a comfortable, casual restaurant serving signature hand-carved sandwiches, garden fresh salads and delicious prime rib. Join us for a quick, convenient meal before or after the big event. Dine in or take it to go. Call ahead and we'll have it waiting for you.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious brisket and coleslaw”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The brisket was delicious and the coleslaw was fabulous! Living near Texas, I know good BBQ. The coleslaw is similar to TJ Rib's in Baton Rouge, La. If you are hungry for BBQ and not in Texas anymore and can't make it to Papa's BBQ, eat here you won't be disappointed! Near the convention center and Staples Center in downtown LA.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was very fresh. I had the half peppercorn beef and cesarean salad.

Helpful?
Thank DDukes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great quick bites before the game”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

During our 5 night stay in LA - we had 3 games booked in - First night we just grabbed hot dogs at the staples centre, we were not thrilled with it, so for the next night I turned to TA to find an alternative.
Fast service with a smile, a good range of meals and sandwiches with assorted sides, all fresh and tasty - for the beer drinkers they had cheap drinks before the game. We ate here before both the games, along with a steady stream of other game goers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali_loves_Dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple, Quality, & Fast”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is an ideal eating venue for people attending events at the Staples Center. They serve mostly sandwiches, some plate meals, and snacks that are of very good quality for fast service and consumption. If you are not going to an event, you will have a much better meal at a leisure pace without the crowds who have left for a performance at Staples.

I had a prime rib sandwich with a side of macaroni and cheese with a glass of wine and it cost me about $30. The sandwich was good, the macaroni not so good, and the wine adequate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chinochito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Next best to the restaurant”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Whenever I get the urge for some really good prime rib but can't make the drive to the Lawry's restaurant.... i drive on over to here. Also love to go here before a game down at Staples.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lawry's Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing