We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #12 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for four days. As motels go it had a clean room with decent furnishings and amenities as well as what looked like a newly updated bathroom. There was however a slight damp smell when you first walk in which I believe can be fixed with new carpet. Jerry's provided a good 'base camp' from which we drove from to get to our destinations for the day (premium outlets, Santa Monica, Disney land, staples center and downtown. Staff were helpful and professional. Even though the area may seem dodgy to non locals, they hotel felt very safe and I was at ease whilst leaving my luggage in the room whilst away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Arrived and guy on front desk was extremely helpful, gave us maps, recommendations and top places to visit. Also received a snack bag on arrival which was handy.

Stayed in the room for two nights, does what it said on the tin. Clean, fridge, microwave etc. beds were made when we returned from sight seeing.

Hotel is in great location, I highly recommend hiring a car. The city is SO big, made such a difference getting about.

Big tip if you want to see the Hollywood sign real close, set the sat nav to Dohendra Drive (might not be correct spelling) absolutely fantastic pictures.

Brilliant stay at Jerry's!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a family trip and stayed 2 nights at Jerry's motel in october 2013. Rooms were clean, beds are comfortable, no smells. Also we liked location of this motel. Thanks to Mr.Jerry and his family for nice start of our Californian trip! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We are very glad we helped you and your family enjoy your recent trip to Los Angeles. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hopefully we will see you again if you return to LA in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in Sept 13.
Please don't go to this motel expecting a 5* hilton but it is a 5* motel in my opinion.
Very reasonably priced, rooms clean and spacious, bathroom very presentable and clean, parking is free, easy to locate and a =10 minute walk to the underground/tour bus. I never experianced any problems with the area but it might be a little rough for some people.
Staff go above and beyond with a welcome package, maps, advice and leaflets.
Brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for your review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We're glad we provided a good value for your stay. We are a small family run operation, so we always do our best to help our guests out as much as possible in order to help provide a great stay. Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We wanted something cheap and central, what we got was worth double what we paid! It was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and friendly.

We where made very welcome. Although the location looks out of the way, it is easy to get transport. Just cross the road from the shop, (turn right out of the gate, keep going across road) grab the 316 or the 16 and get off at Pershing Square Metro Station, then grab the Red Line metro to Hollywood and Universal Studio!

One the way back, get of 7th Street, walk across to Rite-Aid and grab a cab, less than $10. Try Octopus Japanese Restaurant before you grab the cab!

I highly recommend this Motel, especially to my fellow Aussies!

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have lots of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OuzosMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review! You were both pleasant guests and we were very to glad to be of service! We're happy to hear our location worked out for you during your stay in the Los Angeles area. Hope you had a nice trip back to Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Jerry's Motel is exactly as described....truth in advertising and no hype. It is for the weary traveler who wants to bed down for the night and get an early start in the morning. It is reasonably priced, clean and a great location. If you want all the amenities forget it. Pay three times the price at the nearby Hyatt. The Internet is fast. Upon arrival you are greeted warmly and given a bag of snacks. It is very informal. The area is somewhat industrial but a block or so away, residential. Five minutes away by car are many good and funky places to eat. If you want to stay in downtown Los Angeles, consider this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Jerry's Motel. We really appreciate your review since we are a small, family run business and do our best to provide a clean, comfortable place to stay in Downtown Los Angeles. Hopefully we'll see you again when you're back in town. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We've been to LA many times & it's not easy finding a clean, safe, affordable place that's close to downtown. We used to stay at The Highland Gardens, but decided to try something different this time. I was very pleased with the cleanliness & comfortableness of our room. It is small, but still accommodating enough. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom was modern. A nice closet with a safe and a desk with a chair. Also a refrigerator & microwave that I always find handy. I read some of the unsatisfied reviews and so I'm trying to temper my excitement at finding this value. It's not anything like a hotel so you can't have those expectations. I liked that you could open the windows for fresh air, but when it got too warm, the air-conditioning worked just fine & wasn't gross like some other motels we've been in. There was also an interesting fan that I've never seen before that fit on a small shelf under the T.V. I found it worked really well if you didn't want the AC on. I did not detect any smoke smells whatsoever. The snacks in our bag were actually welcoming, as the manager has said, it was nice after a long road trip to have something to nosh on while unpacking & figuring your plans for the rest of the day. We had some granola bars, fruit juice & Cheez-its. No, it wasn't the healthiest snack bag in the world, but it wasn't the worst either. I already pack healthy snacks anyway when I travel because I don't want to be at the mercy of someone else's idea of snacks. And when we got back to the room at 12:30 am after partying & seeing the band we came to see in the first place, I didn't really care if they were healthy. I'm sure my body can process a small half of a bag of Cheez-it's without wrecking my health! Anyway, I never heard a peep out of our neighbors in the room next to ours so sleeping in was fine for us. And there's free parking right in front of the motel which is hard to come by in LA. We were also provided with a long list of food, grocery stores & restaurants nearby, a lot within walking distance. We we will definitely stay here again as long as it stays this great.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor all the way at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bombshelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope you had fun at the concert you were in town to see. We really appreciate you taking the time to address past reviews and provide your input. As you mentioned, our rooms are small but we try to make them as comfortable as possible, and we are glad you liked the free "goodie bag" with snacks that we provide in order to help our guests settle in. We try to provide a balance of healthier options such as granola bars, but also include more indulgent treats to try to include something for everyone. Thanks again and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#21 of 354 in Los Angeles
641 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#47 of 354 in Los Angeles
730 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £81 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing