We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay to LA”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #11 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short stay to LA”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at Jerry's Motel in during my recent trip to LA in Feb 2014. I travelled alone, I am female, so Jerry's offered a safe and clean solution for me. In addition, the staff were really helpful. I recommend staying at Jerry's Motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    287
    47
    12
    1
See reviews for
67
369
108
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We've stayed at Jerry's twice in the past two years. The building is old, but the beds were excellent, the showers in good condition, powerful and invigorating (in a good way), the staff helpful. Parking was free and there was just enough. There are no frills and not much in the neighborhood, which may be a little dicey, but we were comfortable there. On our first visit, we got a complimentary welcome bag with snacks and bottled water, but nothing the next time. Take a right out of the parking lot, walk to the corner, then another right and down the hill and there is a Mexican bakery with excellent drip coffee. The pastries in the refrigerated display are as good as they look, the other bakery items I think you have to have a taste for. If you're looking for a place to sleep and park your car without losing your shirt, this is it.

For comparison, we stayed at the Checkers downtown on the first night of one trip, went to China, then stayed at Jerry's for our layover on the way back. Parking at the Checkers was $37 / night, if I remember. Jerry's had free wifi, microwave and refrigerator; don't think the Checkers did. Both convenient to downtown, but for our money, it's Jerry's from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Jones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This motel is exactly as described and the rooms look exactly as they do in the picture. As a solo female traveler I found no problem with the area, the bus stop is also very close so even when I came back from Hollywood late I had no issues at all :)

The rooms are very clean with a big walk in robe and nice bathroom. The room has a big and very comfortable bed and a flat screen tv with a great selection of channels.

The best part of this place is the service. I left my case with them as I came early and was also allowed to use a toilet of another room before heading out on a tour I booked. I was given great details on how to get public transport there as well as being given a card to use on so I didn't need to worry about getting one. This great service was given a few times with Jerry and his wife going out if their way to help with directions and tips.

The snacks are also great especially when you've come from a super long bus ride.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I'm so happy to have found Jerry's Motel for my trip to L.A.! First, I was greeted by the most pleasant woman at the front desk, really one of the best customer service experiences that I've had at a hotel. I got to the hotel fairly late, so it was nice to have treats and water provided. The room was comfortable and a perfect size for one or two people. I especially loved that the bathroom had a window! Natural light in a hotel bathroom, what!? I felt comfortable in the neighborhood, and did walk around during the day and night by myself. It's a convenient walk to downtown, or you can always pick up a bus that will get you there in a flash.

If you're looking for good value, a comfortable room near downtown and friendly hosts, this is definitely a place to consider.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very nice stay, simple with few frills but very comfortable, convenient, and clean. Room size was appropriate for 1-2 persons, not much noise, and the neighborhood was fine. Walkable to downtown business district, as well as Staples Center and LA Live, and close to highways. Free parking was key. Combine the affordable rates and the parking, you likely save about $50+ per night. Friendly staff - they even give you a goodie bag when you check-in. Would absolutely stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you're renting a car, being downstairs could help. You may be able to park right outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doveside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a pleasant surprise! Only 10 rooms - quaint and very well cared for. Was greeted with a bag full of snacks and 2 bottles of water. The room was charming - the furniture was dated but only added to the appeal. It was like staying at Grandma's! The bathroom was re-done - beautiful fixtures. The bed was very comfortable with quality linens and a comforter. The room had a safe and a clean refrigerator. The area is acceptable. An apartment beside the motel is questionable but the property felt very secure and I never saw anyone walking about. There was parking for every vehicle. Thank you for a great stay and providing a family businesses that tries to please!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have stayed at Jerry's three or four times in the last few years. Have enjoyed every visit.
It is quiet and clean and close to areas we visit. The rooms are not that big, but they are comfortable and all the necessities are there. They do not have all the extras that the bigger and more expensive hotels have, but if you are looking for a nice reasonable place to stay and sleep, we highly recommend Jerry's. The personal care and bag of goodies you receive when you arrive are "awesome"!!

JASLM

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemu731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hotel Normandie
#23 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#59 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing