We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average.”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #70 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty Average.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for a day in March. The staff are not rude or anything but they aren't that great either. Don't expect smiles or friendly faces. I did not feel a personal connection to the staff or the hotel. They were average. I think i expected more from the hotel. We stayed in a nice room overlooking hollywood boulevard. The rooms are very modern and I like their decor. A lot like the W San Francisco where we stayed before. Small and smart decors. Ordered in one time. Their eggs benedict was pricey but nothing special. They forgot to give us a wake up call. Feel like they need to care a bit more about the guests who come to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSadique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hello,

Our talent is well-known for being welcoming and creating a memorable experiences for each of our guests. Before your stay, I encourage you to reach out to our Insider, Chris. He is a great contact to have while staying with us and is always great at creating one-of-a-kind stays. If you have any issues during your stay, please let us know by calling Whatever/Whenever. We would love the opportunity to improve your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back.

Best,
Leon Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    499
    253
    125
    115
See reviews for
247
517
125
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here from 29th Jan to 7th February

Travelled as a couple and can say that we loved this hotel,both in our twenties and had high expectations due to price we paid and can say these expectations were met 100%

From check in to check out we experienced nothing but genuine happiness from all staff and guests alike. The room was lovely although the charges for the drinks were high.

Comfortable bed and huge bathroom.

Excellent location for everything hollywood. Directly above Hollywood and highland metro station can connect to everywhere.

The rooftop pool was amazing lay out a few times the designer was always there making sure everything was ok and we were not bothered once even when some PR company were up discussing using the space for an event and were taking photos an measurements they were pleasant.

Would highly recommend anyone who is looking for a stylish glamorous getaway from their everyday lives.

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for 3 nights with my husband on holiday. Hotel is very funky and stylish, reception was friendly, room and bathroom was nice - that's where it ends. On arrival bell boy did not help us with our heavy suitcases, no free wi fi, in-house menu was disgustingly expensive, and just a bottle of water was $5 in the room! Location was good, right in the heart of Hollywood, but overall would not stay here again. Can easily find something better and friendlier at half the price down the road!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Ratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hello,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the decor of our hotel and found our Welcome talent to be friendly. We are very well known for our attentive service and attention to detail. We don't offer free wi-fi in our guestrooms, but do invite you to join us in the Living Room for complimentary coffee and wi-fi. As a luxury hotel, we offer high quality services. Our in room dining includes only local, fresh ingredients.

I hope we can welcome you back.

Best,
Leon Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The check-in desk people was friendly but other that I would not recommend anyone staying there- too many hidden charges. The room was comfortable but no amenities, with the high price they charge for the room you would expect to have free Wi-Fi, free Spa entrance, no bathrobe, no sleepers, poor service from the bell man, poor waitress service at the outdoor lounge. I tried to communicate with the General Manager but he never returned my call. I would never ever stay again in this pretentious W Hollywood hotel. A big disappointment!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi Christine,

Our Welcome talent is exceptional and always glad to fulfill any requests upon check-in. As a luxury hotel, there will be additional charges for Wi-Fi and entry into Bliss Spa. We are happy to bring you anything you request. We don't hide any of our charges and make all the information easily accessible on our website. If you experience any problems with service, please let us know as we would like to improve your stay.

I do apologize for not returning your call. Please reach out to me at GMLeon.Young@whotels.com.

Best,
Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

W Hollywood Great Rooms Great Location ! ! !
we have stayed here a few times, we will be staying there again next week,
Very friendly staff, great service !
if your looking for a hotel Hollywood then the W Hollywood 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, is the place for you !

Sgt Eddie DeLuca

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHitManMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! We love welcoming you in each time you stay. Our talent takes great care to provide memorable experiences for all of our guests. On your next stay, connect with our Insider Chris. He will be glad to give you some recommendations and set up you reservations with them.

We look forward to seeing you this week!

Best,
Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you don't like creature comforts or efficiency, this is the perfect place to stay. Wifi doesn't work unless you stand right next to the phone. There is a circa 1990 clock radio on which you can listen to radio, but no ipod enabled speakers or cd player (even though they sell a cd for $15). They provide no bathrobe, the hair dryer is 20 years old, your room may or may not be cleaned by housekeeping. If you're lucky enough to get room service to show up, chances are good that the order will be wrong.
But, it's a beautiful hotel and the bartenders are faaaabulous! Next time, I will stay go back to the Andaz or the Standard and come here for a quick cocktail.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Y, Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Please give us a call at Whatever/Whenever if you are experiencing any problems. We will be glad to ensure your stay is made to be comfortable and without issue. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best,
Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at the W Hollywood for one night on my honeymoon and got a bottle of champagne and a really cool sensual candle as a welcome gift.
Staff is really nice and helpful. The awesome look and feel of the hotel is super trendy. The location is pretty good (although downtown L.A. is not that nice). The room we got had a really nice view (you could even see the Hollywood sign from the window) and the W hotels have THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS IN THE WORLD.
I guess the only "bad" thing was that the hotel shower was not as clean as one would hope.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#130 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Property: W Hollywood
Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#58 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#72 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing