We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting variety”

El Caserio Silver Lake
Ranked #1,237 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: London St.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very interesting variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a party of 4, and two had one of the Camarones with Pasta - quite tasty, and 2 of us had a dish of Camarones I don't see on the published menu. It was large prawns in a very tasty sauce - said to be a Peruvian recipe. The eclectic mixture of Latin American and Italian recipes not only led to some surprisingly good combinations, but there was clearly something on the menu for all tastes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpringfieldFresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific Ecuadorian & Italian cuisine - best in Los Angeles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This little gem is a keeper! All of the food is fresh, delicious, and the flavored will excite your taste buds! The aji (their version of hot sauce) is beautifully balanced, but beware - it is deceivingly hot! Their mixed seafood cervice is amazing and will bring you back, and the llanpingacos con fritada will change your life! I've never had a dish here that I didn't like, so try it all. Visit El Caserio for your next special occasion!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystica33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, cosy and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Food was great. Large portions, large menu. Well prepared with friendly service. I had the lamb chops that came with special potatoes and , fresh cooked veggies. Two. In our party had the New York strip steak and they were impressed with the flavor of their meals, which included an egg easy over on top of a mound of rice, salad, and fries. Two in our party had the goat dinner which they absolutely loved. And, last but not least, one of our party had an Italian dish - what else, but pasta bolo else. The tiramisu was light and delicious also. Whoops! Almost forgot - we ordered a calamari appetizer - large platter - done right - enough for everyone to enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try llapingachos con fritada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I had heard many good things about this restaurant and had been dying to try it. We had the empanadas, which were good. I had the Llapingachos Con Fritada. Excellent! Very satisfying. The restaurant was small and quaint and the service was good. They have an outside patio also. I would definitely go again for brunch on a Sunday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmartin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, so so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, their servers were ery attentive, the owner is on the premises as well, we ordered two Churrasco steaks, we asked for them to be medium fare, wich they were done, however the meats were very very hard.
Hopefully the next time the food will be better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamaway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Caserio Silver Lake also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to El Caserio Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing