We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot beat the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wilshire Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilshire Motel
Ranked #136 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You cannot beat the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've been staying at this motel two nights a week, for over a year now, so I know it inside out.

Let's start with the less-than-ideal.
This place is not new, but efforts are being made to re-model the rooms.
Depending on the room, the internet can be good or unusable, but again, they will put up a new Wi-Fi in the coming weeks.
Parking is very tight, but I park my car somewhere else so I don't care.

The good part.
It's CHEAP. The CHEAPEST. You cannot beat the price for location. The next cheapest motel would be Best Western at over $160 / night. Almost double.
You're 10 min from the Santa Monica beaches, you are next to UCLA, 3 min to 405, 10 min to 10. It's just the perfect location.
It's also clean. Clean sheets, towels, bathroom. You have your TV, fridge and all the basics you would need.
The staff is excellent. Both Julia and Attila are friendly, honest, responsive and they will make sure you have everything you need. There's also a strong European flavor about them, which I personally enjoy a lot.

So now you know. Manage your expectations, don't expect hotel-like quality (because you're not paying for it), and you'll find great value in this place.

Room Tip: Call in advance, talk to Julia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    50
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
32
17
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

May not be for everyone but I love this little motel. It's not a Sheraton or Hilton but offers a great location at a great price with old values, including owners who live on property and who you will see a few times every day making sure everything is right for their guests. How many places will reboot their router to ensure you are having the best WiFi experience? Reminds me of places I stayed with my parents 40 years ago...will absolutely be back when coming to LA for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gates O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place is one of the least expensive in the vicinity of UCLA... already a plus. It is not a new place, which you can see from the locks on the doors, and the fact that the doors stick a bit. My bed, though still comfortable, was also a bit on the mushy side. (My daughters', however, were much firmer.) It is a very minor point, but parking is also somewhat tight, which means that it can take some maneuverings on the part of several guests to leave. However: the amenities in the room (microwave, TV, internet) were quite modern, the room was *immaculate*, there was a great variety of breakfast offerings, the coffee was great, the buildings were attractive and tidy, and our hostess was as gracious and friendly as can be. Given that the hotel is right on Wilshire, it was also surprisingly quiet. We would definitely stay here again, and can easily recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Selene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great vacation motel for our family of 5..wonderful staff..Julia and Deborah were friendly and helpful..clean..cozy...private..excellent continental breakfast..close to beaches for us..Santa Monica and Venice..and Hollywood.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My two week stay at the Wilshire Motel was much better than I expected. The people are extremely friendly and helpful, everything is clean and it really brings you a lot of comfort being such a cozy place! Breakfast is delicious and I am extremely grateful for the many packages the manager received in my behalf. Overall my stay couldn't have been better, I recommend this to anyone who is looking for the perfect place to stay in LA, nothing extremely fancy but definitely lacks nothing. Thanks for the warm welcome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the wilshire motel for the first time last week and I assure you it wont be the last. I first spotted it my last visit out to L A by walking by and thought this place belongs to a different era. I was right in a good way. The rooms are not grand but the people are. In the early a.m. I saw the maid sweeping the front sidewalk and the curb itself. You can imagine how clean the room was. spotless my whole week. Julia, the manager, was a whirlwind just could not do enough. She voluteered discount coupons for attractions, and when I requested the phone number for a cab she insisted on calling herself. You can pay a whole lot more in west L A and get a whole lot less.

Room Tip: if you have questions call and speak to the owners Very helpful
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank floyd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed from Friday to Monday and were very satisfied with the place. The manager is an efficient, friendly and helpful person, who did her best to make our visit to LA a succes. Our room was nice and clean and well serviced by the staff. The breakfast was good. The location of the motel is excellent for visiting LA - especially during weekends, when traffic is not so heavy. We highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#86 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Westside
Holiday Inn Express West Los Angeles
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#150 of 349 in Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#104 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Motel

Property: Wilshire Motel
Address: 12023 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilshire Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-run, 17-unit motel with an international & budget travel clientele. Most people love us for our great rates,and keep coming back for the convenience of our location.ROOMS: we have 17-Intimate guestrooms. The Cottages are larger, some have 2-bedrooms or 3-bedrooms with 1 or 2-bathrooms or small kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wilshire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing