We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the Ritz while in town for George Strait concert at the Staple Center. Friendly, helpful staff, perfect location. Had a driver take us to LAX on Sunday, he was sociable and efficient. Can not think of anything I would have changed. Thanks LA & The Ritz for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntxnightnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

It just does not work, the new Residence Inn opening next door will surely be nicer. The valet parking guys lacked a clue about taking my car. The room layout is dysfunctional and lighting poor. The shower is a disaster as is the sink. Closet is small. Even the TV guide does not match the actual channels. Who designed this place? As a gold marriott rewards guy, I expected way more....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CWinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie D, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your candid and constructive review. We greatly value your insight and have taken the opportunity to share your comments with our Engineering Team. It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectation and provide luxurious hotel accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Ritz in Downtown L.A. this past week for business. The staff was friendly and very helpful and didn't grobble in the expectation of a tip like those in similarly priced hotels...So I hook 'em UP!

Although expensive..meaning I would not stay if it were not on the company expense; the proximity to Staples, L.A. Live and Nokia theatre are a plus. There are plenty of good eaten' places near by and even a huge movie theatre to pass time. Although it is in downtown L.A..... the cops do a good job of keeping the ghetto element in check! thank you LAPD.

Overall this Hotel was really nice, friendly and helpful when you needed it!

Room Tip: It depends what you want to look at from your window...Google map the location.. its either the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalaniPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we stayed here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay , the staff were great and very professional and courteous especially Corey who was very attentive and informative on things to do and places to see , we ordered room service which was great .overall this is a really nice hotel with great views over LA from the lounge area and bedrooms... I totally recommend it although the down side is its in downtown LA which is a bit off the beaten track for exploring the Hollywood sights ,upside is that there is tour bus route that passes one block away which takes you uptown.. Thanks for a great stay folks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidoMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Last year I stayed at a Ritz-Carlton in Florida and was disappointed that the standards didn't seem to me to be up to what I expect from a Ritz-Carlton. However, my experience at the Los Angeles Ritz Carlton restored my faith in the brand. The warm reception from the staff upon checking in was exceptional. Front desk people, bellman all were helpful. The room itself was a fairly large corner room with beautiful views of the city. The large bathroom had double sinks and vanities and there is plenty of both closet space and drawer space for your belongings. Room was always made up early in the day and the turn down service was always taken care of. The location of the hotel in the center of LA Live and next to the Staples Center was great. However, it is a little bit of a ride to the western parts of the city. The Ritz is a small boutique hotel sharing the building with the JW Marriott and the Ritz Carlton residences. By walking through a passage you can access the Marriott lobby and the large restaurant there or the Illy Cofffee shop. You can cross charge at any of the Marriott facilities. The Ritz pool on the 26th floor is beautiful and set up to offer both full sun and plentiful shade with comfortable lounging areas and the pool service is excellent. A friend of ours was arriving after we got to the hotel and was staying at the Marriott. He had no luck arranging the type of rental car he wanted and asked if we could help. The concierge at the Ritz, Irene, got right on it and persisted until she had arranged for the car for our friends. This was typical of the service we received and another reason why this is an excellent choice when staying in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: I would recommend a corner room if you can get it, The views are just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pacaconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We actually moved to the Ritz-Carlton after a very unfortunate experience at a Beverly Hills hotel and could not have been happier that we moved here. We had narrowed down our choice of two hotels prior to coming, this being one of them, but chose the other initially due to location compared to our plans in LA. Honestly, the Downtown location was fine and getting around was quite easy as the hotel is extremely close to the highways. We were able to get to all of our destinations throughout the week long stay within 20 minutes and considering LA traffic, we found that quite acceptable. In addition, the area the hotel is located in has been revived with restaurants and LA Live which brings many folks down there in the evenings. There was even an outdoor ice rink (in 75 degree temps)!

Now for the review of the hotel - the hotel lobby is quite small, but very lovely. The decor at this location is different than other Ritz locations as it has much more of that California vibe - I quite liked it! The building is mostly Ritz-Carlton apartments and there are, I believe, 7 total floors dedicated to the hotel with the CL lounge located on the 23rd and the rooftop pool located on the 26th. We stayed CL this time and found the room to be very nice. The room was very clean upon check-in. The bathroom was very nice and works well if multiple people need to get ready at the same time. Beds were extremely comfortable! We did not have a very nice view from our room, but that was not important to us.

We did experience a bit of an issue with housekeeping on the last two days of our stay, but when we brought it to Management's attention, it was handled very well.

The Club Level lounge was fantastic and in my opinion, well worth the extra cost! I was pleasantly surprised at how much was offered throughout the day and everything was very fresh and quite delicious! Very notable were the CL staff - I will make special mention of Ashley and Asaf - they were quite remarkable and really went out of their way to be helpful. Also impressive was how most everyone addressed us by name after only the first day of staying.

If we ever venture back to the West coast, which I'm sure we will, we will most definitely choose this property again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deemc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at The Ritz to visit family and the service was excellent. Room was a little small but the bed was comfortable. Would stay again. WP24 was overpriced but view was great and it was cool to be next to LA Live.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cokatoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
840 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Address: 900 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £376 - £751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing