We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great over a decade later”

Autry Museum of the American West
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #25 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore art, history, and culture at the Autry Museum of the American West. Located in beautiful Griffith Park, the Autry presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs-including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music-and performs scholarship, research, and educational outreach. The Autry's collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts includes the Southwest Museum of the American Indian Collection, one of the largest and most significant collections of Native American materials in the United States.
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Still great over a decade later”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I remember visiting the Autry Museum as a child and loving it, so this year for my birthday my husband surprised me with a repeat visit as an adult. It was just as fun as I remembered it! So many great exhibits, from the early days of California to amazing Hollywood memorabilia. The day we visited they had some great interactive centers set out for the kids, like painting and clay work. Make sure you make a stop to pan for gold! This visit only took us a few hours, and had we had more energy we would have headed across the street to visit the Los Angeles Zoo in the afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for coming back! We're glad that you enjoyed the Autry as an adult just as much as you did when you were a child. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience, and we hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    154
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent museum of the history of the US west”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This museum has extensive collections of American Indian bead work, western saddlery, firearms, and related cowboy and American Indian artifacts. It has details of the various cattle drive trails and how these influenced the growth of the US West. Outside of the Smithsonian, NRA museum, and the Cody Museum, it has what must be the most extensive collection of Colt and Winchester firearms. It is also a member of the museum consortium that includes the Cody Museum, so admittance is free if you are a member of any of those museums.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a nice place to discover the history of the West”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place has large amount of historic pieces tp illustrate US history and especially how the West was won: people, culture, gambilng, guns, transportation, indians. it also has spaces for kids where they can dress-up and play and an outdoor patio illustrating the gold rush

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for visiting the Autry! We're glad you had the chance to learn about the history of the American West. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Terrific Western-Style Museum”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Autry is a real treat which brings the attitude and history of the West to a normally stodgy museum setting. Visit, stroll, learn, and bring the kids for a very nice outing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank feiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your sharing your thoughts about the Autry! We're glad you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A slice of the West!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Interested in historic saddles, firearms, paintings? Come here. Interested in the early western movie genre? Come here. Interested in serious reflections on the west, and slices of life living in the wild west or driving cattle? Come here. They have permanent displays covering all the above that are all very well done and enjoyable by school age kids up to us seniors! And the temporary displays are great, with the one I viewed being on the bead work of the Native Americans. Very exquisite work with beautiful pieces on display.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed learning about some of the different facets of the American West at the Autry, and that you had the chance to see Floral Journey. We appreciate hearing from you and hope you get the chance to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Autry Museum of the American West also viewed

 

Been to Autry Museum of the American West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing