We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old West Artifacts At It's Best”

Autry Museum of the American West
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #27 of 547 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore art, history, and culture at the Autry Museum of the American West. Located in beautiful Griffith Park, the Autry presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs-including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music-and performs scholarship, research, and educational outreach. The Autry's collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts includes the Southwest Museum of the American Indian Collection, one of the largest and most significant collections of Native American materials in the United States.
El Cajon, California, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old West Artifacts At It's Best”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you like to watch westerns and like the old west, this is the place to visit. So many things to see, watch and listen to. There's a beautiful 3 wall mural that shows the history of the old west. The museum is not just about Gene Autry, but there is a section about him and other western / country singers. The biggest kick was getting on a saddle, and being super-imposed into movie scenes that the rest of your group can watch you "act" !! They also have a panning for gold area in the courtyard outside. Their coffee shop / restaurant serves very good food too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for coming to the Autry! We're glad that you get a chance to get "back in the saddle" and see movie magic in action. We appreciate hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    147
    27
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Checking out the old west!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a great place to go to find out about the historical aspect of California. The Native American influence and all other cultural influences throughout history. Pan for gold, see life size statutes of cowboys, learn fact from fiction, learn about Route 66.
This is a historical museum and do sign up for email updates and informational texts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sittinghen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for visiting with us, and for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed your time at the museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Route 66 Exhibit”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I know, I know, this is my 3rd review, but you simply must go see the Route 66 exhibit. It has things for everyone. For adults it has the draft of John Steinbeck's "Grapes of Wrath" and Jack Kerouac's manuscript roll of continuous paper for "On the Road" as well as Memorabilia of the Mother Road itself. For the Kids it has a lot of Disney stuff from "Cars" as well as old counter Juke boxes and interactive videos we all got a kick out of. So go, "get your kicks on Route 66". Also take a couple of minutes and visit the Native American Beadwork exhibit..fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skyros7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for coming back to see our Route 66 exhibit! We're glad you enjoyed it and that you had the time to see Floral Journey as well. Thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
516 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great to learn about this country's roots”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was very interesting for us as foreigners: Route 66, the development of the west, living conditions in the early times in the west, and so on. Many authentic exhibits. You could spend at least 4 hours. Be aware that the museum closes at 4 pm. Also, the observatory can not be accessed through the park, you have to drive around. If you need a map you can get one at the visitor center which is very small and a little hidden: take a turn from Crystal Springs Dr to Griffith Park Dr and you will see it on the left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for visiting the Autry and for letting us know about your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your time and that you had the opportunity to learn a little bit more about the American West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First of all, parking is free and admission only $10 for adults and $6 for Seniors! This place is wonderful. It's educational. It's entertaining. It's interesting. It even has a cafe serving decent food at respectable prices. During our first visit to California we visited many sites and places that we probably will never bother to see again but not the Autrey. I don't think I could ever tire of this place and I'm quite an old man. That said, there's plenty to keep kids busy including (when we visited) an opportunity to pan for "gold". I learned more about the origins of America, the native American people, the Wild West and Hollywood's version of events that I thought possible. I'll be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alanpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Autry Museum of the American West also viewed

 

Been to Autry Museum of the American West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing