We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than cowboys”

Autry Museum of the American West
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #25 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore art, history, and culture at the Autry Museum of the American West. Located in beautiful Griffith Park, the Autry presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs-including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music-and performs scholarship, research, and educational outreach. The Autry's collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts includes the Southwest Museum of the American Indian Collection, one of the largest and most significant collections of Native American materials in the United States.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than cowboys”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This center houses western cultural history from the earliest times to the present in North America in the form of visual, audio, activities, music. Along with the permanent collection, several western related short term exhibits are also on display. We visited the Beading History-Native American Indians. This was displayed and explained in an historical progression in great detail.This center is spacious in layout and has an outside garden of native grasses and waterfall. It is great for all ages. The is a cafeteria and gift store too. The gift store items are priced very high and staff were not helpful and showed little interest in helping customers. The LA Zoo is right next door and so you can do both in one day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 19022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for visiting the Autry! We're glad you enjoyed our exhibits and grounds, and we've made a note of your feedback. We hope you'll come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    154
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Route 66 exhibit - good...but could have been great”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved the idea of an exhibit devoted to the history of Route 66. And the items in the exhibit were very cool. But I was disappointed at how small the exhibit was. There was one minimally sized section devoted to the Dust Bowl era. And while the artifacts, films and photos were wonderful, they were so limited in scope. The same goes for the construction of the highway. It would have been great to see more about the people who actually built those roads and the early vendors who set up shop along the way. There's so much history along that road. I just wish we could have seen more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank auntie-irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for coming to see our Route 66 exhibit! We're glad you enjoyed what we had to offer, and we appreciate your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I visited the Autry Museum one afternoon last month mainly to see the Route 66 exhibit. I wouldn't have gone otherwise, because I had in my mind that the Autry must be some kind of "cowboy" museum. Much to my surprise it is more than that. (Yes, there is some "cowboy" here, but it's well done.)
The Route 66 show is fantastic! I recommend it not just for travelers to LA, but for the people who live there. My impression as I walked through the multi-sensory experience, was that many people in the gallery were in fact LA residents, who came to learn what Route 66 meant to their 'ancestors' who settled in California and had traveled that road west during the dust bowl years. The history here runs deeper than that, however, noting the late 19th century "Good Roads" movement that was started by growing numbers of bicycle riders. Post-war Route 66 may hold the highlights of the show for many. Automobile travel changed it's landscape so dramatically and in the 1950's and early '60s it became a permanent part of American culture.
Regardless of how old you are, I think you will enjoy this show. Don't miss the little juke box where you can listen to 120 versions of Bobby Troupe's "Route 66".
After Route 66 I moved on to the exhibit of Native American bead work. A gem of a show -- also not be missed. On the same floor are several galleries of paintings and sculptures that I enjoyed.
If you happen to read this after Route 66 closes, I would still recommend you visit the museum. I certainly will the next time I am in LA.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed our Route 66 exhibit and that the rest of our museum was a pleasant surprise. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“First visit but won't be the last....”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have been meaning to visit the Autry but were motivated to visit for the first time because of the upcoming Route 66 trip we will be taking in our RV and there is currently a comprehensive exhibit all about "The Mother Road" here. The exhibit is wonderful as is the rest of the museum. It is well laid out & can easily be accomplished in one day. There is a wonderful café, museum store and plenty of places to eat if you choose to bring your own lunch.....well worth the visit, enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for stopping by the Autry, and we hope that our Route 66 exhibit will make your trip that much more enjoyable. We appreciate hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn About the West”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went to see a special exhibit, but toured the entire museum. It was excellent. They have so many artifacts of the old West! It's both fun and educational. They even have Wyatt Earp's gun in their collection. It's easy to go through the museum and see it all in a couple hours. I was also there for a field trip a different time and it was a positive experience for the students as well as the chaperones. Docents were knowledgeable and entertaining.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank zoofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We're glad that you were able to see not just our special exhibits, but our permanent galleries as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Autry Museum of the American West also viewed

 

Been to Autry Museum of the American West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing