We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal views”
Review of Hollyhock House

Hollyhock House
Ranked #82 of 547 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This house turned museum was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.
Pasadena, California, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Phenomenal views”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Set up on a hill overlooking Hollywood, this house is a treasure to the architectural houses of Los Angeles.

Helpful?
2 Thank LAJFJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Located in Barnsdall Park in East Hollywood at Vermont, easy to miss location with minimal signage. Drive in and up the hill for parking and walk through the park, between the galleries to find the House. Call the Gallery in advance for tour schedule and tickets. Frank Lloyd Wright design, half under renovation, with a fully furnished living room and dining room. Great views of Los Angeles. The docent makes the tour special.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Be sure and see the inside”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were really lucky to be visiting when tours were offered. In June construction began to restore the porch and, when we were there in October, tours were available Friday - Sunday (usually Wednesday-Sundays). There are lots of areas that need renovation so be sure and check schedules -----. Also ask if the documentary about the structural work done to make the house more earthquake resistant showing the meticulous restoration of the outside concrete is available for viewing. We were early for our tour and the only ones watching in a multi-use area so I am not sure it's always available, but well worth the time. Another possibility: watch it on the internet (find the link in Wikepedia's "Hollyhock House"). It's a great introduction to the house! Hollyhock House is on the top of a hill shared with a small theater and a Municipal Art Gallery. The whole area is lovely with nice views and the exterior of the house is very decorative. However, the interior (which you can only see with a tour) is what makes this a top attraction. Hollyhock House is not like Falling Water (either in design or state of preservation). Wright was working on the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo during much of the construction and project supervision was left to his apprentice Rudolph Schindler and his son, Lloyd Wright. The house was given to the City of Los Angeles in 1927 and for many years was leased by art and cultural groups which adapted the space for their use. In the '70's a major rehabilitation restored much of the house's original appearance, but it's a difficult house to maintain and lack of money is evident. Nevertheless, it is well worth seeing! Our docent was excellent - a very enjoyable afternoon. If you are interested in architecture, Richard Neutra's VDL II house is near-by. I think those tours are available only on Saturday.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorkAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A piece of architectural history in a hidden GEM of a park”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

And speaking of architects (weren't we?), my favorite, latest, must-see attraction in L.A. is Hollyhock House (4800 Hollywood Blvd; www.hollyhockhouse.net), designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. It's in Barnsdall Art Park which is a gorgeous little pocket park of land just up a hill from Hollywood and Vermont area. Can't tell you how many times we drove by here and never realized this park was here. Some guys hanging out playing guitar, students reading, a little Frisbee ... just perfect. Panoramic views of Griffith Observatory, downtown, the Hollywood Sign...you name it. The house itself has undergone recent renovations, and unfortunately we just missed the last tour of the House, but will definitely return to see next visit. Husband had fun playing pickup guitar with some of the guys. Wonderful place to relax and terrific photo ops.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“park OK, exterior of Hollyhock House was kind of sad”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We only toured the outside of the house, but it was in pretty sad shape. The landscaping in the park was nice, and the views are great, almost 360 degrees. The best views are of the Griffith Observatory.

Helpful?
1 Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollyhock House also viewed

 

Been to Hollyhock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing