We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #294 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Opole, Opolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Do not believe in breakfast - it's toast bread with jam, burnt coffee and water with concentrate juice. Do not believe in great wi-fi - even outside the room it's hard to send email. Bathroom not bad, rooms ok with queen bed, 3 pillows & flat TV (noisy AC), but smell is strange and not pleasant. Everyday change of towels is nice touch. Nice service. Close to Downtown, Metro Center, Staples Center and Convention Center is the only advantage of this location. Laundromat, 7 Eleven and some Thai food nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grzegorz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    18
    18
    37
See reviews for
12
25
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

You get what you pay for, that's all that need be said. The advantages were the location, the wifi, and the fridge. In need of major renovation though. Better shower and better bathroom would have been nice, as well as new beds.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better for sleeping. Parking is free so save yourself money on parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingProgrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My girlfriend and I spent New Year's Eve here when we went to see Kat williams at the Nokia theatre at LA Live. I give it a 3 because it was available. They were polite and nice. The prices are reasonable. The beds were supercomfortable. On the other hand, the "breakfast" was some fake orange juice, coffee with powdered creamer, and cornflakes. Dismal at best. Nonetheless, a great place to use as a hub to explore downtown and avoid a DUI if you are going out here. We loved it! We walked to LA Live at night and to Starbucks in the morning. Beautiful.

Room Tip: we got a 2 bed room off the street and it was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here with my 11 year old son, from the 14th to 27th August, was pretty nervous from reading some bad reviews.

Let's not beat about the bush it's not the Hilton but you are not paying Hilton prices. It's basic especially in the bathroom area. Everything in my room (265) worked but it needs updating and certain things changing like the strip light. As for the rest of it beds were very comfy decent Tv, fridge was a bit tatty but worked. Room was clean and it was cleaned daily, air conditioning worked although a bit noisy.

Staff were helpful especially Aish (Young ish lad) who was very helpful with tips on where to visit and best times to go.

Location well this place is 3 minutes walk from Downtown LA, and within easy driving distance of all the main attractions.

Although the pool need a bit of a clean we used it for the first couple of day's and it was cleaned up during our last week.

Breakfast is served in the small reception area and although I never tried it, it seemed popular with the rest of the guests.

Wifi is available ask at reception for password, you may have sit near to reception to use it as I believe it does not reach all rooms although it reached our well enough.

There is a large selection of brochures and maps covering the area which are very useful.

So to sum it up great value for the money and great location, need's more positive reviews

Room Tip: Rooms near to office get better wifi, room 265 was fine for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I liked this hotel or more like a motel since there is a parking in the middle what makes it easy to reach the room with your stuff. It was quite clean, easily accessible, well located, possible to walk to downtown, but wifi was only in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel was absolutely disgusting. Not only were there stains EVERYWHERE -- on the floor, on the bed, on the sheets, the "couch" but the sink was falling from the wall. There were holes in the wall, the "chair" they give you to sit on literally looks like it was stolen from a pre-school. The mattress felt like it was over 30 years old and was so lumpy and uncomfortable. Top it off, the smoke detector had been removed from the room. Nice to know that if there was a fire, my last days would be in the Motel from Hell.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JL3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#216 of 348 in Los Angeles
82 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#171 of 348 in Los Angeles
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Mayfair Hotel
#240 of 348 in Los Angeles
454 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#169 of 348 in Los Angeles
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: 1135 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2409
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Center Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing