We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently being let down by renovations...”
Review of Hotel Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Normandie
Ranked #18 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Currently being let down by renovations...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What to say. My brother and I arrived into LA after coming through the whole of downtown and to be honest it felt as if the streets got steadily more sketchy. When we found the hotel the whole bottom floor (restaurant) was being revamped so it was all boarded up , again making it look a bit iffy.

However when we gave the car to the valet who were nice guys and came into the lobby we both let out a sigh of relief. The inside of the hotel is beautiful and very much old style and very welcoming. Lady at the desk was just as nice checking in, as were the concierge when we asked them stuff to do (Cabo Cantina Taco Tuesday in Hollywood). When you get to your floor again it keeps the older style of hallways, not like a chain hotel that’s basically a room factory. In truth, our room was pretty small with a bad view (we stayed in 436), but we asked for the most quiet room available and we were on a budget so we didn’t mind.

I was worried about the car after reading some bad stuff on TripAdvisor too but the valet guys were nice and showed us where they parked the car – under a street light/ camera.
If you’re worried, then ask for specifics beforehand, don’t give out afterwards. (Tipping well won’t hurt either).
Okay there were also no food facilities but didn't bother us so I can't comment.

All in all though – a very happy camper with this hotel.

Room Tip: We got 436 and while it's fine if you're on a budget there was no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilFlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, Manager at Hotel Normandie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review about your recent stay! We were really happy to hear that you were a happy camper at departure, and your initial impressions were changed over the course of your time with us.

Coming very soon, we will be starting service of the first of our restaurants here at Hotel Normandie; Cassell's Hamburgers. Following that, will be a second restaurant, a craft cocktail lounge and a lobby bar. Stay tuned for all of those announcements!

The windows of our restaurants have paper on them to cover the construction to the public view, but we can assure guests reading this that nothing is boarded up and appearances are very important to us as we finish off this amazing restoration of an incredible historic hotel in a really cool neighborhood!

Thanks again, and we hope you can come back soon!

Sincerely:

Hotel Normandie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    234
    59
    13
    13
See reviews for
137
191
69
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel has NO food facilities at all. Be warned: if you want to eat you have to venture out. Nearby restaurants are limited (unless you like Korean Food - in which case there is an over-supply). We found that all the local restaurants recommended on trip advisor were fully booked for dinner. There is no breakfast of any kind - so they recommend going two blocks to a diner that has beggars standing outside demanding money and sells a very poor plate of food.

The rooms are small. I banged my knees several times on the bed trying to get around to my side.

They have no parking. You will have to pay USD30 to have your car valet parked.

Was this worth USD200? Really not. Unless you absolutely love restored brick buildings, I would choose a chain hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back. View = a roof. Bars on windows - not particularly 'quaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, Manager at Hotel Normandie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for providing us with feedback about your recent stay. We would like to address your concerns so that future guests reading these reviews are clear about our hotel and surrounding area.

The Hotel Normandie is located in the Mid-Wilshire area of Los Angeles, a bustling urban center 3 miles from downtown LA, 4 miles from Hollywood and 15 miles to the ocean. Within this centrally-located neighborhood are hundreds of restaurants offering various cuisine from around the world. It is known for its Korean food, but by no means is that all, and a quick trip to the front desk to get a recommendation will provide you that insight.

It is very serious to us when guests question safety or comfort, because our goal is to help our guests to feel safe and be comfortable from the moment they arrive until they depart. Guests who prefer chain hotels will not find that here at the Normandie. We are an historic, boutique hotel finishing a multi-million dollar renovation. We have all the charm and character you would expect from a lovingly restored hotel from 1926 in an up-and-coming neighborhood of Los Angeles.

We encourage guests to stay with us who love boutique, historic hotels in diverse neighborhoods. Also, we have two restaurants and a craft cocktail lounge opening this autumn, so keep your eyes peeled for news of those amazing new offerings, so you will have even more choice for dining!

Thank you again.

Hotel Normandie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just finished a two-night stay at the Normandie. Originally opened in the 1920s in what was then the mid-Wilshire district, now more commonly known as Koreatown, the Normandie was recently refurbished and re-opened. While most of the rooms appear to have been completed, the planned restaurant/bar areas are still under construction, and the hotel lobby is the only public area.

A few notes on the location: The neighborhood is in the midst of gentrification. The hotel is one block from the Wilshire/Normandie subway station, and a short walk from numerous Korean and other ethnic restaurants, as well as fast food and coffee shops on Wilshire. A taxi from LAX takes about 45-60 minutes, depending on traffic. The neighborhood is a bit gritty, but did not feel unsafe - I did not feel uncomfortable walking alone in the area at 11 PM on a weeknight, although a single woman might be more hesitant.

The Normandie's current incarnation is an appealing concept: burnish a historic property to its former sheen as a boutique hotel. The hotel's original design looks to be a pastiche of Romanesque and Renaissance, and the grand lobby - complete with wooden floors, ceiling beams, and a massive fireplace - makes a positive impression. The rooms themselves are more prosaic. I got one of the relatively quiet interior rooms, which was medium-sized at best, and featured wooden floors and a few other interesting architectural details. The bedding was good, and the bathroom was small but functional, with a great shower. As someone else noted, the curtains don't block out all of the light. There's a desk/dressing table and mirror near the entrance, but otherwise the room felt a little Spartan. There was no safe, and, more surprisingly, no closet or wardrobe. Instead, there is a small clothing rack bolted into the wall in one corner of the room. As with other fixtures, the rack looked quite cheap. Although the hotel just opened, the cut-rate fixtures are already showing some wear - a section of paint had chipped off the bathroom mirror, and the clothing rack was already coming unbolted from the wall. If you look closely, the property appears to have skimped on quality and attention to detail in a rush to open.

The staff was amiable and helpful, and service in general was fine. Housekeeping hasn't gotten its act together yet, however. It's really not acceptable to have housekeeping staff ignore the "do not disturb" sign on the door and barrel into the room for cleaning - especially only two hours from the checkout time.

Overall, I didn't think the Normandie was quite worth the $209/night rate. You expect loose ends in a new property, but a dramatic lobby doesn't really make up for the other shortcomings at this price point.

Visitors interested in the area might want to look into the Line, another new property only a block away on Wilshire. While I didn't stay there or see the rooms, the ground-floor lounge was excellent for a drink. For other suggestions in the neighborhood, if you're interested in old school lounges/bars, track down the HMS Bounty and The Prince, both located in historic apartment buildings. These two stalwarts were in the orbit of the venerable Ambassador Hotel, which once stood on this stretch of Wilshire. The Bounty and the Prince look little-changed since the 60s; the former serves steaks and vintage sandwiches (Reuben, Monte Cristo), while the latter is noted for Korean roast chicken.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Hotel Normandie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for sending such thorough feedback regarding your stay not only at The Normandie, but your stay in the Mid-Wilshire District. Your recommendation on restaurants are ones we use as well when guests ask us what to do in the neighborhood. Our in-hotel restaurants and craft cocktail lounge will be up-and-running very soon, so keep your eyes peeled for details of those on our website.
The staff will be very happy to hear that you found them friendly and helpful, and we are glad you enjoyed the grandness of the hotel's lobby. As for housekeeping, thank you for informing us of this, we are researching why this happened and taking steps to insure future guests don't experience the same thing.
As with any hotel in a bustling urban center, one must always stay aware and act safely when walking around, but we have not experienced any issues with our area and feel secure letting our guests know that the neighborhood is safe to travel in.
Thank you again, we appreciate such detail in reviews and take comments very serious. As we are a new hotel, feedback is important in creating an experience that everyone can enjoy. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Classy, newly renovated hotel in heart of Koreatown, one block from hottest Korean restaurant now. Offered view or quiet room when we checked in; we took the quiet (435) and slept peacefully. The room was small but still big enough for desk, king bed, bedside tables, and refrigerator. Top notch picture on TV. Bathroom small but awesome water pressure with a window in the bathroom, not all rooms have bathroom windows. We had no problem parking on the street on Saturday night, but hotel offers parking ($29). Lots of trendy restaurant s nearby.. We went to EMC for oysters, soft shell crab, and a whole Branzino.. (until 7PM oysters @ $1/ea.) Also went to Beer Belly--loved the buttermilk battered fried chicken and the grilled cheese sandwich. Not my usual food. Also lots of great beer on tap. @Western & 6th. Burger restaurant and bakery to come, but coffee maker with Starbucks coffee in room. Also Hotel Line at corner has a coffee and breakfast bar. Hotel N. offers post-renov'n room discount and 15% off second visit. Our son lives nearby so we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 435 was quiet with good light, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in June. I love historic hotels and they have done a great job renovating this one. If you want a standard, modern hotel then don't stay here. However, if you appreciate unique , historic places this is a great place. The lobby is beautiful . The room had hard wood floors versus carpeting which was great. We had no issues with noise as stated in other reviews. There are a lot of places within walking distance to grab good. I liked the location because it wasn't touristy. They are going to be adding restaurants and a bar in the near future so that will be great. If we are in LA again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise ask for a room facing away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mate0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I gave it four star because I did not pick this hotel myself. So I didn't have much of an expectation. The hotel is on the outskirt of downtown, it is in Koreatown. But it didn't bother me. The location was still very good and convenient. The carpet was really dirty as after I showered I was walking in the room without shoes and realized my feet were inked with dirt. The hardwood floor that was not covered by carpet by the bed had a layer of dust on top. It didn't seem like it had been cleaned for a while. Bathroom was tiny and dark, but such are 1920s hotels. I am sure some people prefer the old charm. I personally am not a fan. No dinning on the premises. The valet staff was super friendly. Good customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was there last week, hotel is lovely and very charming. The street was very quiet at the time I stayed. Hotel is 1 block away from the Metro station, I took the train to where I needed to be and avoid traffic. I personally would refer to be closer to down town for my work, so it's a bit out of my way. I booked room at Hotel.com, it was amazing deal compare to those National chain hotels.
Most importantly, hotel is very clean. The only thing is room has the "old hotel" smell ( still very clean) but I guess it comes with the old hotel charm. Lobby is well done with the eclectic mixed old/new feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
924 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandie

Property: Hotel Normandie
Address: 605 S Normandie Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Normandie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Normandie is an historic, boutique hotel. The property is a cultural landmark in the city of LA, in the Renaissance Revival style. Built by Walker & Eisen in the mid 1920s. With training as preservationists, and with commitment to the community in the style of the 'New Urbanism' movement, the team has lovingly restored a rare piece of LA history for guests, for neighbors and for the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing