We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.. Very helpful friendly staff!”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Greeted by first name everyday by staff.. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful! Older hotel but has all the necessities required for a few nights stay! Fantastic location.. Less than 10 min walk to Walk of Fame!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em3087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice in our trip recently (Dec) ,each time we came back to LA to fly in or out.Each time we found the Hotel a welcoming and ideal location to say.It is a Family run Hotel and the Owners are just so obliging, helpful with Contacts - such as best options for shuttles to the Airport,close places that serve good fresh food ,they stored our bags for the day while we toured the city before flying out. Our room was clean,and quiet.
Our experience of them made our time in LA a lot more enjoyable. You really cant ask for more

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

For once I feel let down by trip advisor! We choose this hotel based on positive reviews it had received but after going back through them there's a dubious amount of first time reviews especially over the last 20 or so.
Firstly we booked a few days before staying and made the mistake of not choosing a smoking or no smoking room, now as the owner I would have contacted us to confirm which room we wanted instead he didn't! He waited until the hotel was full, so we had no choice.
On our arrival from NZ and after travelling for 27 hours there was no warm greeting whatsoever. There was however a lecture about the room being smoking and that he couldn't change it. Fair enough done. But between check in and being shown to our room it was mention again and again.
Basically the room didn't really smell of smoke so we stayed partly though because we were so tired, very small grubby rooms, sheets with holes in, dank small shower cubicle which is poorly lit.
Room backed on to a car park with lots of damaged cars in, noise from towing and cars revving which wasn't great. Being woken up by someone hammering in the hotel at 9.30 the next day wasn't great either. Very strong smell of Indian spices as well in the hotel which is quite distracting.
Not a great first impression of LA, yes the location is fairly good but anywhere around the metro line and you can get to all the major attractions very swiftly and easterly.
Don't be fooled by the high ratings!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Trylon Location was an easy walk from Hollywood/Vine subway station on Hollywood Boulevard. Attractions like the Hollywood sign, Hollywood Walk of Fame and Grauman's Chinese Theatre were all easily walkable from this hotel. The immediate suburban area near the hotel was very nice, be sure to take a walk through these hills.

The front desk/owner was always helpful and friendly providing us with a map of the local area and highlighting attractions upon arrival. He also provided various kitchen utensils on request and organised a taxi to the LA Greyhound station.

The room was compact but clean. The room itself has a fridge and coffee making facilities but a shared microwave (for all guests) was also available. There were supermarkets very nearby.

The only negative to the stay was an off smell that was sometimes noticeable in the room. We assume this came from the garbage/carpark area next to the premises. This smell was not a food smell.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I spent a night at Trylon Hotel and had a great experience. Upon checking in the hotel owner greeted me very warmly and helped me with the directions to the major attractions, which were quite close to the hotel. Room was very clean as well as spacious for two. Would like to thank the owner (Mr. Kishor) for his generosity - had not printed my tickets for my onward journey to Vegas. He was kind enough to print the tickets for us and put them inside our room while we were enjoying the studio tour. In short, I highly recommend this place to everyone !!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GautamRastogi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

In the crazy land of LA the Trylon offers a little bit of peace and sanity. A lovely little hotel just off Hollywood Boulevard. Everything at the hotel was nice, clean and homely, but best of all were the family that run the hotel. They are such lovely people and this made our stay something special. Every request was met with a smile. If I ever get back to LA, I will definitely stay here. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bretttt2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 times in november and december 2012. Very convenient location, clean rooms, daily maid service, very friendly and helpful staff. Glad to be back to this hotel again.I recommend Trylon Hotel to all who value comfort and quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maxim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,204 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titta Inn
#7 of 94 in Los Angeles
333 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 101 in Los Angeles
1,088 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#58 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing