We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location ”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic location ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is by no means The Hilton however for the price we got our stay for it makes it a decent budget hotel! Yes the rooms were dated and showed signs of wear and tear but our room was clean and cleaned every day which is great!! I found the staff to be very helpful and the location of the hotel is a fantastic base to explore LA. It is just around the corner from Hollywood walk of fame and there is metro station near by (if travelling from Union station you just get the red line and get off at Hollywood/vine). Yes, like other reviews said, the hotel did tend to smell of curry but the smell was only apparent at lunch time as the owners were clearly cooking their dinner or lunch. Overall if I was ever to stay in Hollywood and were in a right budget I would definitely consider The Trylon!! Ps. Some rooms are under renovation so they may be more modern and in better condition. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    174
    78
    21
    18
See reviews for
59
254
92
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding anniversary from 04/21/14.
Asked for a quiet room and that's what we got. Our room was serviced every day, towels changed, coffee replenished and the room cleaned.
The location of the hotel is excellent, the Hollywood sign is visible from across the road and Hollywood boulevard and the walk of fame are 10 minutes away. The area is perfectly safe and there are takeaways, restaurants, cafés and supermarkets within a few minutes walk. We found the owner and his family to be very helpful and sociable and they would always be willing to offer help in any way they could.
Our room was a little dated but we were happy, we had paid very little for the room and we only needed the bed for 3 nights we weren't living there so it was great for us. The owner showed us one of the newly refurbished rooms and that was very impressive.
For the money you can't go wrong with this hotel, if you want 5 star luxury then pay 5 star prices. If we visit L.A again we'll be staying at the Trylon.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very bad found couple crocoaches, room smells very bad, very bad customer service I was about to call health department, crocoaches were all in bathroom and under bed, sheets seems never washed that day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf-gate21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Trylon hotel for 3 nights in April. We arrived straight from the airport before checkin and they were very accomodating and gave us our room early for a charge of $10. We had a friend stay for 1 night that was not booked and they provided an extra mattress and bedding for an extra $20. We also used the car park service that they provide in a secure car park lot opposite for $10/day.
The rooms were clean, the shower head pressure was great and the staff very helpful in directions and also printed tickets for us.
Unfortunately on our second night we could not sleep as there was loud noises during the night, possibly renovations going on in the room above us. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and although we did not stay in a renovated room they looked great and appear to be almost completed.
All in all the location was great, the coffee shop opposite the hotel makes great coffee and I would recommend Hotel Trylon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This family owned and operated Hotel ticked all the boxes for me. Travelling around the world for 3 months I needed accomodation that was central in Hollywood, clean, safe and priced within my budget. Contacts for the filming of my documentary are all within minutes of this place so it's saved me money on travel.i tried a hotel on the same street that was double the price and came back to spend the rest of my stay in Los Angeles here at the Trylon Hotel. Highly recommend!

John Ungvary from Perth in Western Australia.

Room Tip: Travelling with my disabled brother we chose individual rooms with connecting bathroom, which was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUngvary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Pros: new renovated rooms; good location for trips; nice hosts

Cons:
VERY small room; we stayed 3 nights and the room was cleaned only ONCE; hosts are living in the hotel and they were very loud (wafer-thin); other room was still under construction (they started at 8am in the morning); bathtub was really disgusting; parking spot costs additional 10$ a day

Bottom line:
Good to stay for a night.
Way too expansive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinselmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I came to Hollywood from New York and wanted a low key, quiet place to stay. I could not have asked for anything more. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything works. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. On my first night and for the rest of my stay, I slept like a baby. Devang and his family made me feel at home. At one point I was in a hurry to arrive at another location and asked if they could call a cab, The cab arrived in five minutes. Added plus: If you are traveling and buy items there is a UPS store right around the corner (on Wilcox). I was able to ship items without schlepping to the post office (or carrying them on the airplane!).
Also go to Solar de Cahuenga (1847 Cahuenga Boulevard) across the street. Good espresso drinks and an attentive staff.

I like this place and I will come back.

Room Tip: The Trylon does offer smoking and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMOTHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,436 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Property: Trylon Hotel
Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing