We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood on a budget!”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved the Trylon, amazing value for money & extremely friendly staff.
If you are booking this hotel & expecting 5 star hotel, do not book. It is quaint & the location. Is fabulous. We needed a place to stay for a bed to sleep in,v& this hotel was perfect to rest our heads after big days exploring LA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just wanted to start off by saying Location Location! Staff is great they help with all your needs and rooms are just immaculate,they clean them everyday so you really get that clean feeling.Modern rooms make you feel up to date and refreshed to start site seeing! restaurants and the stars are walking steps away convenience is always great,close to all your need is a walk away.If your visiting L.A. or just Hollywood you should definitely check this hotel it gets 5 stars in my book!

Room Tip: i stayed on the 2 floor rooms were great,quite and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April and although the property offers good value for money, and located near the tourist hotspot of the walk of fame, Dolby theatre and a short walk to hollywood reaervoir to see the hollywood sign -- it is rather dated. The room we stayed in shows a lot of wear and tear with dark lighting and dated carpets, furniture etc. I probably wouldn't stay again as I slept poorly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G90_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

In the middle of Hollywood, you find very good hotel with very nice staff who can absolutely do anything to please their guests. I stayed for one whole one week, went to vegas for couple of nights then returned back to this nice hotel. The Hotel has very clean modern rooms with excellent wifi and very good service as mentioned.

Room Tip: ask for the new furnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is by no means The Hilton however for the price we got our stay for it makes it a decent budget hotel! Yes the rooms were dated and showed signs of wear and tear but our room was clean and cleaned every day which is great!! I found the staff to be very helpful and the location of the hotel is a fantastic base to explore LA. It is just around the corner from Hollywood walk of fame and there is metro station near by (if travelling from Union station you just get the red line and get off at Hollywood/vine). Yes, like other reviews said, the hotel did tend to smell of curry but the smell was only apparent at lunch time as the owners were clearly cooking their dinner or lunch. Overall if I was ever to stay in Hollywood and were in a right budget I would definitely consider The Trylon!! Ps. Some rooms are under renovation so they may be more modern and in better condition. :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for our wedding anniversary from 04/21/14.
Asked for a quiet room and that's what we got. Our room was serviced every day, towels changed, coffee replenished and the room cleaned.
The location of the hotel is excellent, the Hollywood sign is visible from across the road and Hollywood boulevard and the walk of fame are 10 minutes away. The area is perfectly safe and there are takeaways, restaurants, cafés and supermarkets within a few minutes walk. We found the owner and his family to be very helpful and sociable and they would always be willing to offer help in any way they could.
Our room was a little dated but we were happy, we had paid very little for the room and we only needed the bed for 3 nights we weren't living there so it was great for us. The owner showed us one of the newly refurbished rooms and that was very impressive.
For the money you can't go wrong with this hotel, if you want 5 star luxury then pay 5 star prices. If we visit L.A again we'll be staying at the Trylon.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very bad found couple crocoaches, room smells very bad, very bad customer service I was about to call health department, crocoaches were all in bathroom and under bed, sheets seems never washed that day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sf-gate21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,801 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,997 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 354 in Los Angeles
450 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,159 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: £67 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing