We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Budget friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are looking for a hotel thats cheap and close to the main strip of hollywood dont look any further. I booked 3 nights on booking.com in may for under $270 and was pleasantly suprised with what we got. Location wise the Trlyon is literally a 5min walk from the Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Blvd, which means plenty of restaurants and transportation close by and all the touristy things. The room also comes with free wifi which is extremely handy and greatly appreciated by international tourists. The owners are very friendly and helpful too. Looking forward to coming back in a few years and staying in one of the rooms currently being renovated!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    171
    77
    21
    18
See reviews for
56
249
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The owner was very welcoming and informative. We arrived early and he held our luggage in a room while we went for a walk on Hollywood blvd until there was a room available. The room is a little dated, but we didn't come here to stay in our room. There were hot water for showers, air conditioning, comfy beds. All you need for a good night sleep to get you on your way the next morning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved the Trylon, amazing value for money & extremely friendly staff.
If you are booking this hotel & expecting 5 star hotel, do not book. It is quaint & the location. Is fabulous. We needed a place to stay for a bed to sleep in,v& this hotel was perfect to rest our heads after big days exploring LA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just wanted to start off by saying Location Location! Staff is great they help with all your needs and rooms are just immaculate,they clean them everyday so you really get that clean feeling.Modern rooms make you feel up to date and refreshed to start site seeing! restaurants and the stars are walking steps away convenience is always great,close to all your need is a walk away.If your visiting L.A. or just Hollywood you should definitely check this hotel it gets 5 stars in my book!

Room Tip: i stayed on the 2 floor rooms were great,quite and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April and although the property offers good value for money, and located near the tourist hotspot of the walk of fame, Dolby theatre and a short walk to hollywood reaervoir to see the hollywood sign -- it is rather dated. The room we stayed in shows a lot of wear and tear with dark lighting and dated carpets, furniture etc. I probably wouldn't stay again as I slept poorly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G90_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

In the middle of Hollywood, you find very good hotel with very nice staff who can absolutely do anything to please their guests. I stayed for one whole one week, went to vegas for couple of nights then returned back to this nice hotel. The Hotel has very clean modern rooms with excellent wifi and very good service as mentioned.

Room Tip: ask for the new furnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is by no means The Hilton however for the price we got our stay for it makes it a decent budget hotel! Yes the rooms were dated and showed signs of wear and tear but our room was clean and cleaned every day which is great!! I found the staff to be very helpful and the location of the hotel is a fantastic base to explore LA. It is just around the corner from Hollywood walk of fame and there is metro station near by (if travelling from Union station you just get the red line and get off at Hollywood/vine). Yes, like other reviews said, the hotel did tend to smell of curry but the smell was only apparent at lunch time as the owners were clearly cooking their dinner or lunch. Overall if I was ever to stay in Hollywood and were in a right budget I would definitely consider The Trylon!! Ps. Some rooms are under renovation so they may be more modern and in better condition. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Property: Trylon Hotel
Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing