We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Historic Hotel
Ranked #108 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The rooms look like typical European hotels with small rooms and super tiny bathrooms. Place was old and could really use an update. Front desk was really nice. Light sleepers won't like the street noise. elevator wasn't working just as many reviews before me said. We had to haul our bags up the stairs

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehnazik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    259
    188
    65
    61
See reviews for
81
339
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I wanted to like this hotel. The location was convenient for me. Unfortunately, there were bed bugs in our room. They have covered the box springs and mattresses, but that is not enough. Also, we came back one day at 1:30 in the afternoon. Our room was not ready. Then next day we came back at 4:30 in the afternoon. The room was not ready. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWilson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A dirty, run down mess of a hotel. They were replacing the carpeting when I arrived. The elevator was out of service and since I had requested a handicapped room online, it was a nightmare getting to my room on the second floor. As someone wrote, they think they got bed bugs. I agree. I have bites all over my legs. I would never stay there again. The room is small. I had to request a light bulb. The ceiling fan made lots of noise. On the plus side: fridge in the room, great location, free bumpy parking lot out back on a very busy corner. You will definitely need a car here. No effort was made by the staff to offer help with my luggage.

Room Tip: If you have ANY disabilities avoid this hotel. There is no mention that it is not handicapped acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psmooselbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ok, I was a little weary after reading the reviews but I booked the room before I did my research. Devon was working the front desk and he was more than accommodating!! He showed me the room before I agreed to stay there. The room was clean, and way better than I had expected!! We loved it!! We had the best time and cant wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband one night. We wanted something sheap in LA and not very far to Universal studio (3 miles) and Hollywod blvd. Hotel is pretty nice but everything is old. We stayed on a second flor so we didn't need elevator but it didn't work. I asked about room with view on Hollywood sign and they gave us the room with the best view on it. On reception they honestly told us that it will be little nousy because of close to the road. Honestly it was very noisy and when I tried to asleed during the day I couldn't. But I slept very good at night because I was very tired after walking and riding in Universal Studio. One of the key to the room doen't work. We have some problems with TV and lamp but they came and fix it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateryna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights on a holiday that included a trip to Hawaii, Philly and Canada. We needed a cheap place to stay and I loved the character of the place when i saw it online. I read the reviews on here and began to freak out, thinking we'd made a huge mistake.
When we arrived, though, we received great service from the clerk (Justin?) who helped us to our room with our luggage, even though we had no cash to tip him with. He recommended a few restaurants in the area, called us cabs whenever we needed them, and organized a cheap but stylish transfer to Anaheim for us when we left.
The rooms were clean and housekeeping came daily. It was a little musty smelling but we kept the windows open. Yes, the hallway carpet is filthy looking, the rooms are dated, the elevator doesn't work and it is not in a nice area, but it is cheap. You can easily pay much more for not much better accommodation. I found that the nicer we were to him, the nicer he was back, and noticed that the guests who were rude to the staff got the same attitude back, so treat people how you would like to be treated.
They've combatted the bedbugs problem by covering the mattress in a zipping matress protector, so that's a plus.
Don't walk around the neighborhood at night, try the Osteria la Buca down the road for brilliant food and service, and really have a realistic idea of what you're staying in - Hollywood is rough and loud, dont expect Beverly Hills accommodation.

Helpful?
1 Thank DominiqueClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hollywood Historic Hotel, once in 1984, when it hadn't yet been remodeled, and another last February, 2012, when we arrived in LA to observe Paul McCartney obtain his Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Both times the service was good, but on this trip we were pleased to see the hotel's remodel. What was once run down is has been refurbished and the people who welcomed us, walked our bags upstairs, as they haven't any elevator. Our room was clean and their service was great. I would definitely return if we ever return to Southern California, as it's historic value alone was worth the price to stay for the four-days we lodged there. There's a nice restaurant at the corner, and once again, the service was excellent. The beds were cozy and the service was worth the buck. I'm glad that we found it On-Line, obtained it in a package-deal for hotel/rental/and airfare, all in one pop. Great place and nice friendly service.

Room Tip: Book in advance for best deals; that's how we located our package deal so inexpensively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#23 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#122 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Historic Hotel

Property: Hollywood Historic Hotel
Address: 5162 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038-4117
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are private and fully equipped with private Bathrooms. In room Refrigerators, Plasma TV, Time Warner Premium Cable Channels, Coffee Makers with complimentary Coffee, Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hour Security,Private Free On Site Parking, 24 Hour Video Surveilance, 24 Hour Front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hollywood Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing