We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Historic Hotel
Ranked #111 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

It is true there are bed bugs at this hotel! My boyfriend and i were woken up by bed bugs at 4 in the morning!! We checked everywhere and squished 7 bed bugs! They moved us to a better room but when we came home my boyfriend discovered a bed bug hiding on our lugguge. If your going to stay at this hotel be warned that you might bring these bugs h and be bitten throughout the night. Request NOT to stay in room 318 there are lots of bed bugs harboring there :(

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeddigrahamxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Historic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel is old, regular and cheap. The location is good, and have a parking lot.
Negative points: to much noise from the street and the air conditioner is not so good.

I recommend if you want to save money, and don't care for a simple room.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Giovana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

this hotel is awsome. not only is this hotel an affordable price, but the staff here is incredible. yes we did have to walk up and down the stairs but the guy at the front desk was more than happy to help with our luggage and with extra towels, etc. the fridge in the room, ceiling fan and a/c, free wifi, and free parking was also very convenient. you really cant beat the location of this hotel. right down the street from almost everywhere you need to go. it also has a great view of the hollywood sign. also right next to the hotel is a wonderful little cafe, also very friendly employees. all in all this hotel is great. and i will most definetly stay here everytime i come back to hollywood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank california c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The rooms look like typical European hotels with small rooms and super tiny bathrooms. Place was old and could really use an update. Front desk was really nice. Light sleepers won't like the street noise. elevator wasn't working just as many reviews before me said. We had to haul our bags up the stairs

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehnazik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I wanted to like this hotel. The location was convenient for me. Unfortunately, there were bed bugs in our room. They have covered the box springs and mattresses, but that is not enough. Also, we came back one day at 1:30 in the afternoon. Our room was not ready. Then next day we came back at 4:30 in the afternoon. The room was not ready. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWilson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A dirty, run down mess of a hotel. They were replacing the carpeting when I arrived. The elevator was out of service and since I had requested a handicapped room online, it was a nightmare getting to my room on the second floor. As someone wrote, they think they got bed bugs. I agree. I have bites all over my legs. I would never stay there again. The room is small. I had to request a light bulb. The ceiling fan made lots of noise. On the plus side: fridge in the room, great location, free bumpy parking lot out back on a very busy corner. You will definitely need a car here. No effort was made by the staff to offer help with my luggage.

Room Tip: If you have ANY disabilities avoid this hotel. There is no mention that it is not handicapped acces...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Psmooselbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ok, I was a little weary after reading the reviews but I booked the room before I did my research. Devon was working the front desk and he was more than accommodating!! He showed me the room before I agreed to stay there. The room was clean, and way better than I had expected!! We loved it!! We had the best time and cant wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#152 of 353 in Los Angeles
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 353 in Los Angeles
682 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#128 of 353 in Los Angeles
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Historic Hotel

Address: 5162 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038-4117
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are private and fully equipped with private Bathrooms. In room Refrigerators, Plasma TV, DirecTV Premium Cable Channels, Coffee Makers with complimentary Coffee, Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hour Security, Private Paid Parking available, 24 Hour Video Surveillance, 24 Hour Front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing