We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marilyn Monroe and Humphrey Bogart Yes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Historic Hotel
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
el granada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marilyn Monroe and Humphrey Bogart Yes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is one of the most fun I have stayed in and a great value in the area. Although its kind of out of the way it is really fun, and I loved all the old photos of stars on the walls the jogged my memory. The rooms are great and we had one with a kitchen for $99 it was an excellent bargin. I had no issues with any bed bugs at all and they love me, the place was clean with good security and a nice cafe is right next to it with great lattes. Don't expect a bar or even the elevator working but that is the charm of this place. The only unfortunate thing is its next to the conservative area of Larchmount where you won't even find a bar on the the main drag, its like a mini orange county in LA. Overall if you want a bargin that is clean and has a great shower this is the place but be ready to walk or drive if you want a good dinner. The building is an old LA apartment building built around 1920's or a little later and the rooms are large and quaint. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the building away from Melrose avenue, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauditore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    257
    186
    65
    62
See reviews for
82
336
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Do not stay in this place!!!!! It is infested with bed bugs I woke up with over 100 bites on me that some swelled to the size of a baseball all over my face swollen eye shut told and showed the front desk and they did not care had to spend $130 a night for this! Manager has been called and left 6 messages and refuses to return phone call I went to dr because the pain was so bad, they were severely infected and I had a severe allergic reaction to the bites, not only can I not go out in public because of all the bites and open sores I am off work also for god know how long because of them I have lost so much money for staying at this pathetic place they call a hotel I have contacted a lawyer since they have obviously knew about this problem and have chose to do nothing about it, It is not worth the headache that you will encounter they do not disclose when you book the place also that there is not ice machine no elevator if you need anything you need to walk down to the liquor store 3 blocks away because the hotel doesn't provide even cups for the coffee pot that doesn't work towels are GROSS! There is nothing good about this hotel and the staff is unfriendly and a joke! Nobody we encountered should be working with people because they ALL ARE RUDE AND HORRIBLE TO GUESTS LIKE WE ARE WASTING THEIR TIME AND TOO IMPORTANT TO TALK TOO they should demolish this place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JennieB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a swell place to stay. The hotel is clean, is in a great location, and has Old Hollywood charm, complete with photos of classic actors and actresses on each floor of the hotel. You cannot beat the rates for this hotel. Plus the staff are very friendly, and were very helpful to me. I give it five stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The reviews stating the hotel is infested with bedbugs are just unfounded. I took my son to LA to see Jack White at the Shrine. I figured since the cost of the flights, food, tix, and my rental car quickly added up, I just wanted a clean room to crash. The bottom line is that you get what you pay for. I spent $49 per night for a single queen room. In my opinion, that rate was spectacular for what you get - which was a single queen bed fairly comfortable, huge musty smelling closet(but not so bad), and a small basic bathroom with vintage fixtures. The hotel staff were nice. In particular, the dark haired gentleman who checked us in on 8/10/12 at 2pm was very accommodatiing....In fact he printed a Mapquest for me of a site where Jack White was performing a pop up show without a defined address.

If you seek budget accommodations and your expectations are not to stay at a 5 star hotel, consider this one. It is reasonably close to all attractions, parking in the rear lot was well lit, with plenty of spots available. I even noticed that it is monitored by closed circuit webcams.

Room Tip: ask the desk clerk for a room facing the Hollywood sign. From your room with your iPhone you can cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destijl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed at the Hollywood Historic for one week together with my boyfriend. It was ok; comfortable bed, good refridgerator, most of the staff was helpful in giving directions and so. Downside is that there was a lot of trafic outside the window, and the windows were not very sound-isolating. Some nights we woke up from sirens or people playing really loud music in their cars.

Our view was actually looking out straight towards the Hollywood sign, a pleasant surprise. Less pleasant was that the elavator was broken, causing some discomforts when having to carry heavy suitcases up to the room.

The air condition was placed right under one of the windows, which meant that the curtains hung in front of it when drawn. This made it difficult to use it during the night, which was a bit uncomfortable.

All in all it felt like a good decision of hotel, I do however not think I would stay here again if I visited again. Most likely I would spend a bit more money and go to a nicer hotel instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zojx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach sc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

First of all I must say this hotel is not for everyone,it has no elevator,pool,breakfast etc,but what it has is charm you cant hardly find today at any price.The building is great and the lobby is amazing,when I walked in,I felt I was back in 1927,the room was very clean and the staff was great,they went out of there way to meet all our needs and the best part, with a smile.And you could see Griffith Park and the Hollywood sign from our bedroom.The price was right and it has free parking.We will be back

Room Tip: get a room facing the street on melrose,you can see the Hollywood sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

I have read many reviews in my time and decided not too listen to them and it has proven that i was right to follow my instinct...until now!

I am writing this as i am sitting in one of the hotel rooms... I arrived in los Angeles about an hour ago and checked in... Firstly the hotel does smell...the carpets are horrid and dirty and the location is terribly intimidating... The lift doesn't work...the room is noisy dirty and the bed is horrible and so are the pillows... The member of staff on is sort of helpful but this does not make up for the terrible...everything!

I am meant to stay here for 10 nights however i have just cancelled the 9 so i am only staying for 1 and haven't even got another hotel booked yet... This is how bad it is!!!!

I hope people listen to this review and not make the same mistake i did...

NEVER STAY HERE!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank danielday1989
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#129 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Historic Hotel

Property: Hollywood Historic Hotel
Address: 5162 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038-4117
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are private and fully equipped with private Bathrooms. In room Refrigerators, Plasma TV, Time Warner Premium Cable Channels, Coffee Makers with complimentary Coffee, Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hour Security,Private Free On Site Parking, 24 Hour Video Surveilance, 24 Hour Front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing