We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz but Cheap, Clean and Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Historic Hotel
Ranked #105 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the Ritz but Cheap, Clean and Charming!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in November and definitely recommend for budget minded traveler/tourist and would stay again without hesitation. Great central location and great price. We had a rental car and parking is free and safe...we saw Mercedes and BMWs in the parking lot! The comments about the friendly staff are absolutely true, we were served by 3 different staff and all were extremely helpful. The lobby is lovely and the hotel has a great family owned history. We thought the old elevator was charming and worked perfectly.
The rooms are small, but had coffee maker and fridge. Our room was on the 3rd floor with view of Hollywood sign. The bathroom is aging and simple and sink very small, but really who cares...it was clean and water pressure and temperature were excellent. If you've ever been on a cruise the room and bath are of similar size. The bed, pillows and linen were comfortable, and air conditioning worked well. The mattress was sealed in vinyl which indicates either prevention or containment but there was no evidence of bedbugs...after reading the negative reviews I scoured the bedding and room and was relieved to find nothing and slept comfortably.
We loved the fact that you knew you were in Hollywood and not at a generic hotel. The old pix of stars were fun and nostalgic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    266
    195
    66
    61
See reviews for
87
349
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was a little unsure about staying here due to the amazingly low price - but, working on a budget, I thought I'd give it a try. Especially since i had read many positive reviews! I was traveling with my 9 year old daughter who loves the old Hollywood time, loves Audrey, Marilyn, Bogart, etc... I thought this was perfect! She loved seeing all of the pictures throughout the hotel and loved that our room, facing the street, had a perfect view of the Hollywood sign! It was great! However...we only stayed in that room for one night since I am a light sleeper and - wow - Melrose is loud! I called the front desk the next morning and they were very accommodating and I had a room on the other side of the building for the remainder of our stay. (This room looked over the hotel parking lot...which is FREE! Loved that!) You will need to rent a car. The hotel is not within walking distance to any big attractions. But, with the free parking, it was not that big of a deal...got a car from Enterprise (on N. Vine) for $30 a day.
The workers at the hotel are awesome, Mike and Michael - were very helpful and professional.
Yes, the rooms are smaller than most rooms that we are all used to staying in. However, it was perfect for us since we were only in the room for sleeping. They have free wifi and Direct TV.
We loved the elevator which is so tiny, but unique. Also, I felt great looking at the other guests there...everyone we saw were either there for a conference, all dressed up, drove nice cars, etc. I did not feel like it was a last resort hotel, which is what I was thinking because of the low cost.
So, if you are on a budget and just want to see LA without paying all the crazy hotel costs. Stay here! This way, my daughter and I were able to spend our money on the WB VIP Tour, Starline Tour, wax museum, nice dinners, etc... :)

Room Tip: Front - see the Hollywood sign but might be a bit noisy - back - not a great view but quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has some definite charm and the staff here was probably some of the friendliest I have come across in LA. The rooms are a little "outdated" but my room was clean and the bed was comfortable. If you're looking for a great deal with parking and wifi this is your place!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful - rooms are clean and updated but with the character of an older hotel. Everything was in good shape and worded. coffee in the room. Small desk. Rooms on the back side are quieter and larger. On the front - you get to see the Hollywood sign and listen to the traffic but really it was not bad.

Small criticisms - the windows were dirty outside and the woodwork in the bathroom must have had 10 or 20 coats on it. But let's be clear for the price paid, this is way decent!!. You will need a car to get here - it's a few block from the Paramount lot. Very nice, casual Italian restaurant and bar a block away. There's a coffee shop in the same building as the hotel but accessed via the street, also does great sandwiches and basic food.

Free parking (fenced and well lit at night as well as free internet in the rooms. No complaints about this place if you are looking for something cheaper and do not need ultramodern.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter and larger. On the front - you get to see the Hollywood sign and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The last of ten hotels I stayed in during a 2 week trip to the USA and actually my favourite.
Older building but very well maintained and very clean, themed with pictures of old time Hollywood actors all over place and an impressive set of main doors.
Desk was reasonably helpful and the hotel rents out 3 or 4 units at its front to other businesses including a hair stylist, café (who were kind enough to let us sit on free coffee refills while waiting to check in) as well as a company that makes fireplaces for the film industry(Titanic being one of them.)
Although not the best value for money we found I like the fact it is situated in a Mexican area with cheap eating places and local bar (Pepe's.)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chillipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week. The staff were lovely, the beds comfortable and the cleaners efficient. We did have cause to make a small complaint, this was dealt with graciously and generously.
We took a room with kitchenette as the hotel has no kitchen and found the HHH to be a perfectly good budget base for all our Hollywood touristic requirements. The cafe next door is fantastic too!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyTigSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently spent 5 days here.
The room was compact but functional, the elevator kept freaking out and we used the stairs quite a bit.
Location is a perfect base for getting around and seeing the sights.
Less than a mile from Paramount Studios.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 350 in Los Angeles
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#125 of 350 in Los Angeles
294 reviews
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#140 of 350 in Los Angeles
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Historic Hotel

Property: Hollywood Historic Hotel
Address: 5162 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038-4117
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are private and fully equipped with private Bathrooms. In room Refrigerators, Plasma TV, DirecTV Premium Cable Channels, Coffee Makers with complimentary Coffee, Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hour Security, Private Paid Parking available, 24 Hour Video Surveillance, 24 Hour Front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing