We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you have to. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Historic Hotel
Ranked #114 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

If you enjoy European hotels that have no modern amenities than this is your place. No phone in room, musty odor, no ice machine, no baggage carts, tiny 1930 model elevator, no central air, 6'×5' bathroom, stiff mattress and poor location. The $120 rate was the only good thing.

Thank mrscott001
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Hollywood Historic Hotel in April, 2014 and it is a very clean hotel, but very old. It was established in 1927 and not many amenities. Our room had a king sized bed that was very comfortable, a desk with a chair to put our laptop on. No other chairs or places to set down even to watch TV. The bathroom had a tub/shower combination that worked very well, but there wasn't any shelves in the medicine cabinet for my wife to store her toiletries. That, after 3 days was a major inconvenience. There was a long, narrow closet that had three shelves way at the back of it, and two clothes rods that were only about 3 feet long and too close together to allow the clothes to hang properly. We finally just left everything folded as it came from our suit cases. There is no breakfast offered at the hotel either. The elevator is just large enough for three, four if you're very friendly. The parking spaces behind the hotel are primarily for small cars. We couldn't find any ice dispensers, either. All in all it was just okay. I think we would look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicksburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our second stay whilst in LA. The greeting was lovely when we arrived, we were given advice on where to go and what to do. The hotel room was massive, clean and comfortable. The decor is dated but this is a 'historic' hotel so I don't know why people moan about it, the clues in the title!
The location was a bit further away from the boulevard/West Hollywood than I hoped but we had a car so it wasn't too much of a problem. It was a great base to explore Hollywood hills, the Hollywood sign and really close to Paramount Studios which I'd really recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaRoxann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It's not really close to Hollywood boulevard, but if you aren't afraid of walking for a half an hour, you don't need to take a taxi (too expensive in Los Angeles). Rooms are huge and similar to something we can see in Hollywood movies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moumzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is a little dated but on the whole it's good value for money and the staff are friendly and helpful. Stayed for 4 nights and were made to feel welcome. It's in a good location to get to north and west LA.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are a little more noisy but give views of the Hollywood sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermitthe60poundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Upon arriving I was surprised to see it didn't look anything like the photo's on the inside or outside. It was run down and old. The staff was rude when we arrived and didn't like the fact we were there it seemed since we obviously were interfering with the visitation of a friend or something. The parking lot is in the rear and the shop below the hotel ws doing demolition work and there were several workers removing debris from the area with wheel barrels and some of them were getting very close to hitting the car. The noise from the demo was horrible. Once we headed up to the second floor to settle in we noticed they had two rooms across the hall from us with the beds torn apart and were trying to rebuild the old wooden frames which was also quite loud. The room was small and old with no blind on the window and since we were facing south the sun was beating down through the window adding several degrees to an already hot room. The air conditioner didn't seem to work either. The bathroom was from out of a fifties horror film. There was an old wall hung lav, a toilet with an old wooden seat and a small tub with an old ugly curtain. There was a light above the lav with a pull chain switch but it didn't work. There were wires going from an outlet at the floor to the light in the room which looked scarey and very tacky, The TV was older than me and was the size of a small car with a tiny screen. The bed felt like we were back in Bedrock with the Flintstones. If you want an old run down hotel with a cave feel this is the place for you. We decided after five minutes to check out and find another room elsewhere (our car would have been better). We asked the staff if there was another room available and were told the hotel was booked full. In the time we were there we didn't see anyone else or any other cars in the parking lot so I don't think they wanted to admit that we had their best room. Their cancellation police for cancellations made within 24 hours of arrival is to charge for the first night but they charged for two nights. I will say the young man at the desk when we were checking out was nice. He told us he understood and was very sorry. He said he would call the manager and see what he could do to cut the charges since we hadn't been there for 10 minutes. He called and asked her what to charge us and I could hear her scream F them we need the money charge them full price. He was so embarrassed I even felt sorry for him. We are disputing the charges with our credit card people. I would recomend staying on the street before staying here!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at any cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tommyboy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived mid-afternoon and was warmly greeted by Beti at the desk. Beti was by far the best thing going for this hotel. She was extremely knowledgable and helpful. She sent us to the most wonderful Seafood/Mexican restaurant--Masicos Linda in East LA.

The hotel is located with easy access to almost everything. The Nue Cafe located next door was a great place for coffee and breakfast.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, our room and bathroom are small, but clean and nicely furnished. Our biggest complaint is the noise. We were happy to be at the back of the building away from Melrose Ave, but our room was still noisy from the other side street. All in all, I guess you get what you pay for. If you are expecting a Hilton or Hyatt, it is not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#101 of 357 in Los Angeles
183 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#50 of 357 in Los Angeles
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 357 in Los Angeles
725 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#217 of 357 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#124 of 357 in Los Angeles
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Historic Hotel

Address: 5162 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038-4117
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are private and fully equipped with private Bathrooms. In room Refrigerators, Plasma TV, DirecTV Premium Cable Channels, Coffee Makers with complimentary Coffee, Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hour Security, Private Paid Parking available, 24 Hour Video Surveillance, 24 Hour Front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing