We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dishes & service”
Review of Red O Restaurant

Red O Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red O Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Cresent Heights Blvd.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dishes & service”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My hubby and I decided to dine here after walking down Melrose and hadnt booked anywhere - they were able to seat us quickly. We really enjoyed our meal - it was a bit of a twist on the standard mexican fare and everything was super tasty. The sangria was also fabulous! Our hosts were great and no complaints about anything. It was a little on the pricier side for Mexican but we felt it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debrahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    69
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“"Beyond" Mexican - exceeds the original Chicago Store - Must Go”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a Rick Bayless spin off. For those of you who don’t know, Chef Bayless is probably the most famous anglo “Mexican” chef in the country. His Chicago store has won numerous James Beard awards, etc. His store in Chicago is considered a destination for foodies, and well deservedly.

We dined in his Chicago store just last week, we like Red O MORE.

This is indeed “Mexican” food, but at a very refined, high level but without being stuffy. You are definitely eating Mexican dishes, but lightly prepared, flavorful, and with a depth of flavor that makes you say wow!

We did not have a reservation so dropped into the bar – which you should do too if you are a single or couple as we were. The service from all (from the host, to the server, to the busser) was excellent and friendly.

Chef Rick is known for (in part, he is certainly not defined by) his ceviche and these are every bit as good as we have had from him before in Chicago. But, our entrees and other apps were so much more “cleaner” and precise, for lack of a better word, than what we had in Chicago last week that it makes me wonder whether this is intended to be a restaurant delivering at a higher level by design. I could not tell that from the menu – the offerings, while not identical perhaps – are essentially the same. When we stopped in for lunch last week in Chicago, they were pretty slammed. The food was very good, don’t get me wrong, we had a great meal. It just felt like very, very good Mexican food I could have gotten anywhere (well, anywhere that is trying, that is).

The interior was very lovely and fun. I think I mentioned above that service was great. This is a must try if you are looking for a place to go. I would venture as far to say that if you have people in your group that do not like Mexican food, they will still like this. This is nothing like “Mexican food” most people are accustomed to.

But I have to ask: why Pisco sours on the menu? That is the Peruvian national drink. Yes? Come on chef.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTravel_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Interior and atomoshpere were upscale and interesting. Great tequila options, but thought the rest of the drink options were limited. Food was good but not great for the $$$.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabbynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great vibe, amazing food!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Decor: GORGEOUS. Service: EXCELLENT. Food: YUM. What more could you ask for? This place has a great vibe, and we were there on a Monday night. Beautiful bar area, great lighting, live music, amazing food, and a gorgeous ambience. We were expecting a great restaurant, but it was even better than we hoped for. Our server was welcoming and professional, the food was scrumptious, and the drinks were tasty. Thanks for a wonderful meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank napa_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Sit In Ronalds Section”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've enjoyed Sunday Brunch here twice and plan to try dinner next. The specialty cocktails are very good, especially the Classic Margarita and Bloody Mary. The guacamole is very good and the chips are made fresh. For lighter breakfast fare, the carnitas is a small amount of pork and one poached egg - very small portioned meal. Prefer items in the lunch section, tacos, seafood enchilada, steak and eggs, and Mary's Chicken as those serving sizes are perfectly sized. The vanilla soft serve ice cream with bacon strudel is amazing and worth every calorie. Overall, the food is quite good and unique southwestern preparation. The patio seating is covered and very pleasant, comfortable chairs, light and bright. It was a very hot day but the patio was very comfortable. The main dining room looks lovely, in a casual elegance. Nice small bar area. My only complaint was that my blouse got caught on a chipped table edge and was damaged. I pointed that out to the restaurant as they could and should fix that edge. The entrees are $18-$28 range, the appetizers are fairly priced and the breakfast items are small portions. Our server, Ronald is FANTASTIC - try to be seated in his section. He is attentive and will lead you in the right direction if you ask for suggestions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red O Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red O Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing