We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful/spacious/artsy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful/spacious/artsy”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Customer service was top notch from the valet to the front desk to the wait staff in the bar. We were in the smaller room and it was still amazing. Ours was definitely a fun couples room - large comfortable bed/private balcony/slightly see through shower/huge double shower/private toilet. Don't think of a hotel room, think of a large Studio apartment with stocked kitchen, living room, bedroom, and huge bathroom with shower for at least 2. Great amenities too with soft robes and shower goodies. And the attention to detail in the decor - old time Hollywood meets modern day. Quirky/funky/artistic - the interior designers did an amazing job!! Right next door to the Avalon so if you have a concert there first, you can literally roll home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the alley for the Avalon next door (trash cans, staff hang out). C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari_CA_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    173
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
351
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay in Hollywood! Rooms are mini-suites, very spacious with kitchen, living room area, washer/dryer in unit, and patio deck. The design is very eclectic, with record players in the rooms, which is a cool treat; the record selections vary by room, but I believe you can request additional ones if you prefer.
My only disappointment with the hotel is the food options. Their menu is very limited and can really only get good options while their main restaurant is open (approx. 7-11a, and from 6p, skipping lunchtime). This isn't a deal-breaker as I'll definitely stay here again (and just bring my food in).
All in all, a fantastic find in LA and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern US
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Cool hotel in Hollywood. Walking distance to Chinese Theater. We stayed in a suite and it had a working record player and actual records (if you are under 25 you might not know what this is, he he). Full kitchen, etc. Again, a cool hotel, but it is a little worn--nothing that would make me change my mind about staying here, but I see them needing to make some renovation in the next year or so. Nice experience, nice location.

Room Tip: YOu can walk to Roscoe's Chicken and Waffles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetravelthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you are staying in Hollywood look no further, this is truly a great palce, home away from home. Record player in room with great tunes was nice bonus.

Room Tip: Quieter on the higher floors, ask for room with view of capital records.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingLuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent. Within walking distance from Chinese Theater, Roscoe's Chicken and Waffles, Metro Red Line, great trendy restaurants and many more. My husband and I really didn't need a car during our stay here.

We stayed in the Vine Flat with a view of the Capitol Records Building. The room was very comfortable and a nice amenities. I liked that there was a kitchen so we had a place to stash our leftovers from any restaurant we ate from. I also liked that there is a washer and dryer. I didn't get to use it but is very convenient. The bed was ridiculously comfortable. I felt like we were sleeping on a giant fluffy cloud.. AHHH! The TV had DVR and some premium channels... awesome!

The only awkward thing about the layout of the flat was the shower. I think its kinda odd that from the bed you can see a blurry outline of the person taking a shower on the other side of the wall. It's okay if you are with your significant other, but what if your staying with some friends? If you want to take a shower, you would have to turn on the light in the shower. The problem with this is that if there's someone sleeping in the bed (on the other side of the shower wall) the light shines brightly on them.

All in all, I totally recommend staying here. The staff is very friendly and the housekeeping rocks. I do recommend staying on the higher floors for those who are light sleepers. It did get a little loud at night with the late night crowd roaming the streets. You can hear all the conversations on the street even when all the windows are closed. Luckily I sleep with ear plugs so this wasn't a big issue with me, but it was with my husband.

There was so many pluses than minuses during our stay here. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8a8yd011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We really loved that we had space to spread out with a combination kitchen/dining/living room area in addition to bedroom, bath and balcony. The kitchen was equipped with the basics to make a simple meal (though we only made coffee). We were disappointed that we couldn't get into the restaurant (Cleo) despite the front desk recommendation that we try it for dinner. A suggestion to make a reservation a day ahead would have been helpful. Otherwise the service was good and the location worked out great for us. The decor is quite retro/bohemian and the record player with classic vinyl in the room was a really neat touch. One caution.. As with many hotels, wash the glasses before you use them. I'm pretty sure these were not going downstairs to the dishwasher because ours were consistently iffy - fingerprints, towel lint, etc.. I'm not really cool with the maid washing them in the sink and then wiping them with any old towel.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view are great for people watching. Rooms with courtyard view might actually be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kays55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara-TheRedbury, Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Kays55,

I’m delighted that you loved the hotel and appreciate your feedback.

I’m sorry you weren’t able to experience Cleo during your stay. We always make every effort to squeeze hotel guests in, even on busy nights, and are typically successful. Please let me know if you plan on returning, and I will ensure we secure you a table.

I have passed on your concerns regarding fingerprints and towel lint on the glassware, and the necessary steps to avoid these moving forward are already underway.

Cheers,
Kara Flew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Great Place & Location if you want to be in the heart of all the action. Rooms are phenominal and very large. Decor is unique,modern,retro & simply put;SPECIAL!! Did not feel like a hotel at all. More like a great flat in the villiage of NYC! Restaurant Cleo's def one of the Best places I've ever eatin. Service was great.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxmarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing