We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of gritty Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of gritty Hollywood”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We chose The Redbury for our trip to Los Angeles based on appearances and all these positive TA reviews. And, I'm happy to say, we were not disappointed.
The entire hotel is stylishly decorated, reflecting the glitz and glamor of Tinseltown without being over the top. The rooms are spacious and could more accurately be described as a studio apartment, complete with a kitchen, washer/dryer and living area in addition to the bedroom. The room we were in came with a record player and a few vinyl albums.
The restaurant downstairs, Cleo, seemed to be the place to be and the food was pretty good too.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the nearest Metro Rail station and most Hollywood sights are also within walking distance. However, the neighborhood doesn't feel very safe at night and our cab driver actually warned us about staying out about 10pm.
Our only complaint? The noise from the nightclub next door that went on till the early hours of the first morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    173
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
351
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is unique. We loved the record player in the room that also had a nice selection of vinyl to play.
Location is perfect if you are planing on seeing some sights. The hospitality is very good and you are always made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickP1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I recently spent our vacation in Hollywood and stayed at this hotel. The decor was beautiful and the room was very spacious. Everything was very clean and we loved the special touches like the record player. The hotel is in a perfect location and the parking is very convenient. We are very particular when it comes to hotels and truly the Redbury is a unique romantic getaway. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Lisa B,
Thank you for your kind remarks about The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine! We are really proud of the intimate and romantic atmosphere at the hotel and love that you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Redbury in the near future.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently traveled to Los Angeles with my boss. The Redbury had been recommended by other business travelers I know. The decor is really impressive. The rooms are a good size. I love the spacious kitchen and the record player. The bed was also very very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. It was conveniently located and the parking was easy.

However, my boss & I took some business associates to the restaurant Cleos, for dinner. This was a BAD decision. The food was very flavorful. Alas, it was one of those "bomb went off" deafeningly loud restaurants. It's a real shame. We could not hear each other talk and it just became unpleasant to try and converse. So most of our meal was eaten somewhat quietly. We asked to have the music turned down -which they did for a few songs. And then it was back up loud again. So unpleasant to dine with this level of noise. the food was fantastic -but I would not eat there again due to the sound level.

I really think this hotel is unique and offers a great value when traveling to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The rooms are spectacular, the hospitality at The Redbury is fantastic, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Los Angeles! We came up for a birthday night away and couldn't have asked for a better night.

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxM776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I was in Hollywood for an event that my daughter had attended in the area, so I thought it would be interesting to stay here based on it's reviews and it's location. This hotel is fun, a bit mysterious and is in the perfect Hollywood location...oh, and by the way, if you read the reviews, customers rave about the comfort of the mattress... it's true, you'll sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed at the Redbury in Hollywood for 5 nights while attending the TCM film festival. At first I was concerned the hotel was too far from festival location or that it was too much of a "see-and-be-seen" hipster hangout. I was pleasantly proven wrong on both accounts.

The location of The Redbury is the best in Hollywood. Close enough to all of the Hollywood sights but distant enough to escape. A perfect combination.

Yes, The Redbury has a hopping restaurant and bar scene but in no way did it interfere with my stay at the hotel. In fact, the fun energy actually contributed - positively - to the atmosphere of the hotel. I look forward to returning The Redbury for next year's film festival.

Pros:
. location: as mentioned, close enough to everything in Hollywood yet still a nice escape from the craziness. And the subway is literally across the street to take you anywhere you need to be if you don't rent a car or feel like taking a taxi
. the room: beautiful, spacious, comfortable, full of terrific amenities so you feel like you have a home away from home - great bath products, amazing shower, generous closet space
. the service: Excellent - everyone from check-in to room service to service in the restaurant for breakfast was polite, professional, you got the feeling everyone truly enjoys working at this hotel. A refreshing attitude.
. the decor: I love old Hollywood (hence my coming for the TCM film fest) and the beautiful, elegant decor throughout the hotel is just the right blend of sophisticated and whimsical. Great old photos and memorabilia of Los Angeles and Hollywood.

Cons:
. though the lively atmosphere of the terrific restaurant and bar truly does not interfere with your stay, the hotel is located right next door to The Avalon so outside noise and traffic can be disruptive
. it's pricey: from room rate and food at the restaurant, budget accordingly, it adds up...but The Redbury is a boutique hotel and honestly, I think the service and amenities are worth every penny. Just know that yes, you can probably find much cheaper alternatives in Hollywood

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is on Vine - it's great to have a balcony; you're overlooking the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eastdeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing