We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eccentric hotel, great vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #13 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eccentric hotel, great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

The Redbury was constructed as a longer stay hotel. When money became a problem, another company, SBE, took over to operate it as a (more or less) standard hotel operation. The result is big rooms with kitchenettes and a nightlife vibe that sbe is known for. The service was so much better than one ever expects for a "design hotel," and the scene was just right...mixed crowd in a laid back environment, great music and small but interestingly designed common areas. The food at Cleo's was great at dinner and good enough at breakfast, and the small plates at the Library were perfect for midnight snacks and drinking. The hotel design is a funny mix between rock & roll and old Hollywood...designed by Phillipe Starck, the place seems to be LA from the point of view of someone who isnt from LA. I really liked it. Fair warning: don't take a garden room unless you want to party most of the night because you won't be able to sleep with the party about 2' from your glass doors.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    171
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
343
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Redbury for two nights and the accomodations were terrific. The spacious room (750 sq. ft.) included a large kitchen (including microwave, fridge, plates and flatware) and living room area, wonderful bed and linens, a tremendous shower, nice vanity/dressing area and a separate room for the toilet. If you enjoy funky, fun decorations, you will love this place. We really enjoyed the phonograph and records that were provided. The hallways have large, illuminated photos on various walls of hollywood starlets, which was a nice touch. Location was great, at Hollywood and Vine, just a short walk down the walk of stars to Grauman's Chinese and other Hollywood sights. BTW, a Trader Joe's is just down the block - which happened to be a plus to us on our first night, as we were tired from traveling and weren't feeling like going out for dinner. We picked up some items at TJ and prepared a lovely dinner in the room. A couple of things to note: while the valet parking is a bit pricey, I would recommend it, as it does provide for in and out service, and the parking lots near by are not much less in price. Also, we did attempt to have breakfast in the hotel's restaurant - after waiting approx 10 minutes for a host/hostess to arrive and seat us, we asked one of the wait staff about getting seated (the restaurant only had a handful of guests eating and there were plenty of empty tables). He replied that he was "overwhelmed" at the moment and that we could look at a menu and place an order with the person that was working behind the bar. We chuckled to ourselves and needless to say we went elsewhere. I think another guest who was on his cellphone just outside of the restaurant wisely observed, "I don't think LA is a morning town". This minor hiccup was no big deal - but if you do decide to have breakfast outside of the hotel, do some checking as to what's available nearby. Other than a McDonalds (not for us) and a Starbucks several blocks away on Hollywood Blvd (which we went to), we couldn't find anything else in the vicinity, though I'm sure there are other choices had I done the research. All in all, very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pauljay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stay at the Redbury for all of our Hollywood/LA concerts and events. The hotel is modern, artsy and hip. Everytime we go there we meet someone who has never stayed there, and who are super impressed by the rooms and decor. The staff is truly a service-oriented bunch, and go out of the way to make your stay perfect. All the rooms have awesome modern amenities and set an incredible mood with their beautiful style. It's right smack in the middle of everything in Hollywood, so you can walk or cab to the best music venues, restaurants or night clubs in the area. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side of the hotel overlook the swanky lounge scene below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at the Redbury Hotel and was so amazed by the suite I didn't want to leave!! The property looks like and old one from the outside and is close to the freeway, but inside it's spectacular. All of the rooms are HUGE suites with incredibly beautiful finishes. A full living room and patio balcony. Full kitchen and two flat screen TVs--one in the living area and one in the large bedroom. Ample bathroom with huge closets and shower. Wish I could have stayed for more than one night! Highly recommend especially if you can find a deal!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Klbster,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Redbury. Oddly enough, a lot of people think the building looks as if it is a longstanding resident of Hollywood, but it is actually ‘new build construction’ that was completed in 2008 giving us the best of both worlds…Classic Hollywood glamour and charm along with state of the art infrastructure! Again, thank you for choosing The Redbury and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the areas.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel was great, my only tiny complaint is that is was a bit loud but our room was right on Vine. I would stay here again and request a room on the backside of the property. The rooms are wonderful and large. I love having a kitchen where I can make my own coffee and tea. The location is prefect if you are seeing a show. We walked right over to Pantages theater. We dined in the restaurant and everything was excellant - delicious greek food! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We live in Hollywood and wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a cool boutique hotel without giving up any amenities. Needless to say the Redbury is a true class act. Each room has a fully functioning kitchen and living room and balcony - making for very spacious accommodations. We dined in ordering Katsuya for dinner and breakfast from Cleo in the morning. Despite its looks, the hotel is brand new so everything is immaculate. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed at a Premiere Flat on the second floor for 4 nights and the experience was good overall. I liked that the room was spacious and the bed was one of the best amongst all of the hotels that I stayed at. The hallway was very noisy on Friday and Saturday but as soon as we closed the door, we stopped hearing the noise except we still heard a bit of noise in the bathroom. There were gaps between the floor tiles so it wasn't that comfortable to walk on. Also, the floor with gaps was not cleanable. The room did not have blankets and pillows for the sofa bed. When the blanket was delivered to our room, we found a small spot of blood stain on it. There was a day that they were low on bath towels so we only had 2 towels for 4 people to share. When we checked out, I had to inform the front desk staff that the bill was wrong. They charged us for 2 nights of valet parking and a bag of peanuts but it was 4 nights of valet parking and nobody ate any peanuts.

Room Tip: Stay away from the courtyard. Our balcony was facing the white brick building and it was quiet on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#21 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#68 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing