We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very chic, cool boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very chic, cool boutique hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Redbury and I travel all over the world & stay at the best hotels. (I am a regular guest at the #1 hotel in the nation located in Chicago -- was initially The Elysian which is now the Chicago Waldorf Astoria, so I know the best hotels!) The Redbury is in a great location to see the hip Hollywood area of L.A. The spacious bedrooms are suites with interiors that are decorated in a very cool, retro-inspired, chic bohemian Hollywood-glam style. I like & have used (the off premise complimentary for hotel guests) 24Hr. Fitness facility just a half mile from the hotel. Also, The Cleo restaurant is a trendy restaurant with excellent tapas style cuisine. But, what I like best about this place is the great staff -- from the valets to the night manager. They are so very accommodating & truly care about their guests. The only negative thing is if you are not a music lover than I would not stay there unless you would like to pay extra for a room away from the music lounge courtyard. Because most rooms face their balcony overlooking an outdoor lounge area that have live bands entertaining at least 3 nights/wk. So, if you are looking for a quiet or relaxing place then this lively cool boutique may not be for you. I highly recommend this place for someone who loves a lively, fun, hip cool unique experience.

Room Tip: If you don't like live bands, then pay extra for a room away from the courtyard lounge which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Mary1758,
Thank you for choosing the Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine for a second time! We love seeing familiar faces at the hotel and hope to be your “home in Hollywood.” We are always honored to mentioned with the likes of world-class hotels such as the Waldorf Astroria Chicago. This December we will complete the first phase of an acoustic retrofit where we will be further sound proofing all of the rooms on the north side of the building and will be working on the rooms facing the courtyard in 2013. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    171
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
343
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Beautiful accommodation, we had no problems with the room which had a kitchen (though basic equipment), decorated beautifully, great bathroom, it was really lovely, the website photos are a great indication of the look of the rooms. Good value rooms too. The staff were fantastic, very helpful! Positioned in a great location, and the restuarant Cleo in the hotel is suppose to be the hotest restuarant in the area at the moment run by an Aussie chef, and we enjoyed a lovely meal one night! It was incredible accommodation! BUT! sadly it is positioned next to a music club and when we were there they had something playing Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. The worst night was Saturday the music didn't finish until 5.30am and thats when we finally fell asleep - however when we mentioned this to staff they ensured we were looked after to make up for it! Also, because the floors were wood, we found that our upstairs neighbours were heavy footed and from 4am some mornings could hear them stomping about! Otherwise, ask for a room facing away from the music club and I think it's accommodation worth staying at!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear TravellingOW,
Thank you for choosing the Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine while in Los Angeles! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at The Redbury and were pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay despite the noise from the nightclub next door. We are anxiously awaiting the installation of an acoustic retrofit of the rooms facing the nightclub that will all but eliminate any sound transfer. Admittedly, the process has taken much longer than we would have liked, but we only have one chance to get it right and have invested an exorbitant amount of resources into ensure the best solution is used. Thanks again for choosing The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine!

Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

The Redbury is a nice boutique hotel right in Hollywood. I stayed in a Highland Flat, which was very spacious. The room had a full kitchen, a living room with a couch and two chairs, the bedroom, and a nice bathroom. The shower is huge with a rainfall shower head. The room itself was great but it was the small details that were irritating. The room had gnats in it, enough that it was bothersome. Not sure where they came from but definitely not something I want in my room. The other thing I noticed was the room could have been cleaned better. I realize this is me being very picky but you would think the room would be spotless since it's cleaned everyday. Even with the few negatives I would come back. The size of the room is great for what you pay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Luxbizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Sneeker365,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent very much. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with housekeeping and rest assured that your experience is not indicative of our high housekeeping standards. We were delighted to see that you would choose to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly at david.lang@theredbury.com if I can be of assistance with any future needs.
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at this amazing hotel for the last 3 nights of our CA trip.

I can't rate this hotel enough, the rooms were H U G E, clean, and very comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The Cleo resturant was amazing and the cocktails especially good.

A short 5 min stroll up Hollywood Blvd and we were in the heart of it all....

The only downside is the cost of valet parking... $37 a day, was a bit extortionate.

Stay here if you want the best of the best..... Thank you to the Redbury hotel for making my trip to America unfogetable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505, great view of Capitol Records and the hollywood sign from our blacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeHeidiOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our stay was in August at the end of a 5 week trip so we were very much delighted to be shown to such a glamourous room/apartment. The rooms are a visual feast with much thought having been put into the furnishings and trimmings. We loved the old style record player along with a selection of LPs. We loved the big bathroom and generous shower and large sized amenities were a bonus, sad that we only had one night to enjoy them.
We enjoyed a long walk down Hollywood Bvld looking at the pavement stars, though it was a wrench to leave the room!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was awesome, though no view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_from_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in september this year with our 1 year old daughter. Having a full kitchen and laundry with a massive lounge area was perfect for travel with a little one. The rooms were stylish and well decorated with neat little features like a record player. We found the staff friendly and attentive. The attention to little details made the stay great. Great location if you plan to take a look around hollywood boulevard and explore the hollywood area.
We didn't eat at the restaurant or take in the nightlife in the area so can't comment on that. We liked the place so much we were going to book an extra couple of nights but no rooms were available. Would totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singmummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear singmummy1,
As a parent, I undersatnd how traveling with young children adds another dimension to the trip and am always grateful for the little things that make it easier for the kids. We were delighted to hear how much your family enjoyed your time at The Redbury and appreciate your gracious review.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our stay at the Redbury was our first night of 30 nights in the USA & Canada from Australia. We rated the Redbury as our best overnight stay. Not bad when we also stayed at the Fairmont Chateau (Lake Louise) and the Palmer House in Chicago. While it doesn't have the vista that the Fairmont enjoys, it's digs were far superior. We enjoyed a fully equipped kitchen, a huge walk in shower, a separate toilet and comfortable bed. The decor was quirky and well done with a real homely feel. All this within a short stroll to all the Hollywood has to offer. This has prompted us to avoid the larger hotel chains in future and seek out hotels such as the Redbury. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Matthew C,
Thank you for kind words about the Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine. We a truly humbled to be mentioned in the company of such amazing hotels as the Fairmont Chateau and the Palmer House. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Redbury next time your travels bring you to Los Angeles!
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#22 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#67 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing