We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was OK.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Please note, this review is of a stay I experienced over a year ago! It is only now that I have found myself with time to sit and review all the places we stayed.

In June of 2012, my husband and I travelled the USA for a total of 4 months, while we were away it was my 30th birthday, so for the couple of nights over my birthday we decided to splurge and stay somewhere really fancy. The pictures we saw online of the Redbury were EXACTLY the kind of place I was looking for!!!

My birthday was 1 week into the trip, so after the first place we stayed at, we excitedly checked in at the Redbury, we were early due to checkout at the previous hotel but the gentleman on the front desk (I think his name was Errol) was super helpful and it was no problem for us to leave our bags with him while we set out to explore Hollywood blvd, to then return for check in a few hours later.

The location is FANTASTIC!! Walking distance from all the major attractions Hollywood has to offer, we didn't have a car, but there is valet at the Redbury or a parking lot right next door. From the entrance to the corner is about 20 steps and that is Hollywood blvd......that's it.....YOU'RE THERE!! Although still a couple of blocks form Graumans and the Dolby, there is so many places to see on the walk there that it is an ideal location.

Once we returned later that afternoon to check in, we were greeted by a woman on the front desk, and check in was pretty straight forward, no mess no fuss and away we go! The lobby and corridors of the building are EXACTLY as the pictures show them to be, it is really a BEAUTIFULLY decorated place. We found our room on the ground floor and were thrilled upon entering. It was identical to the photos , had plenty of space, a HUGE comfy bed and everything you could need, The balcony wasn't as prettily decorated as the pictures online and had a view of the back alley and a brick wall but if that was the worst of it then I was happy!

We noticed early on that there was no light in the shower, due to a blown globe and mentioned it to the front desk on our way out for the evening. This was not seen to for the length of our stay unfortunately.

This brings me to the negatives...... THE NOISE!!!! I KNOW it's Hollywood.......and I KNOW it was the weekend, but we were there for my 30th birthday so its not like I expected to be tucked up in bed by 9pm!! I couldn't tell you what time we got in to be honest but I know it was late, and the music from a nightclub only seemed to get louder and louder right through the night until about 6am, the balcony that overlooks the alley way turns out to be shared with said nightclub, and to add to the noise were regular dumpings of bottles into a dumpster which sounded like it was right outside our window! The music was so loud you could feel the vibrations in bed and it made for a very sleepless night. The next day we mentioned this to the person on the front desk, to see if we might be able to be moved, only to be told that we had booked the CHEAPEST room available and WHAT DID WE EXPECT on the weekend in Hollywood!!!

The rest of our stay was unfortunately much of the same......lightless showers and NOISY sleep time, although the hotel is beautiful, for the money we splurged we hoped to be able to at least have a night of uninterrupted sleep......or a shower with the light on!

I'm not unreasonable, and I completely understand that the noise was from a separate building and not really something that could be helped from the Redbury's end, I guess it was just more the lack of urgency to help us and make sure our stay was comfortable that upset me, that and making us feel like the 300+ dollars per night we spent didn't warrant us the right to complain.

Room Tip: If you plan on a good nights sleep, don't book a deal on a travel website with a cheaper price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missjessileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear missjessileigh,
Thank you for your review of The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine! We have made many improvements to the hotel in the 20 months that past between your stay and your review including an extensive sound proofing project that all but eliminates noise from the outside coming into the rooms. We hope you will join us again in the near future.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    171
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
343
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Redbury recently and it was an AMAZING experience! We stayed in a Vine flat on 5th floor and from the time we registered til we left the staff was friendly and shared tips on getting the most out of our weekend trip from a locals viewpoint. From the front door to the flat itself the décor was Hollywood, a mix of vintage and modern. The flat itself was stocked splendidly with everything from mini-bars, snacks, first aid supplies to a comfy bath robe to use after enjoying am to die for shower before climbing into a huge, magical bed that looked like it was from a penthouse somewhere. And to top it off, the Hollywood sign was clearly visible from our terrace. The Redbury will definitely be my choice for future trips to LA.

Room Tip: Read the room description and make your choice dependent on your needs. The staff will be happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sarah R
Thanks so much for your kind remarks about your stay at the Redbury. Our goal is to make our home feel like yours, while providing you with a singular boutique hotel experience and an unpretentious refuge at the famed junction of Hollywood and Vine. We look forward to welcoming you back, and I will be sure to share your review with our team.
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Redbury after a show at the Pantages. It is an amazing hotel, with an old Hollywood flare! The rooms are flats that you would see in NYC. The room we stayed in was the premier Hollywood Flat. Spacious, beautifully decorated! The vinyl records are a wonderful romantic touch!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caligirl991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear caligirl991,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We hope you enjoyed the show at The Pantages as much as you did your night at The Redbury! We are huge fans of the work they and love working with them. The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine prides itself on being an all-suite boutique hotel that is the perfect place to unwind after a night at the theater or out on the town.
Cheers,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a shame we couldn't spend more time at this hotel. It's a gorgeous place, located across the street from Capitol Records. Our room was splendid. A fine mix of glam, tradition and modern decor. It had everything we needed...and then some actually - the suite was huge. We will definitely be coming back to LA so we can spend a little more time at this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear RachelAdams,
We loved seeing how much you enjoyed your time at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine and appreciate your review of our all-suite boutique hotel. We want to be “Your home in Hollywood,” and we’re really looking forward to your next visit.
Cheers,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked a room at The Redbury for my wife's birthday since we were gonna catch 'The Book of Mormon'. Greeted with complimentary champagne, a personalized note and fresh fruit which was a nice surprise. I quickly cooked some Steak and Lobster in our convenient kitchen in the hotel room then and headed to the show. At check-in, we asked the front desk of there was anything fun to do afterwards and found a voicemail from Natalia from The Redbury letting us know we were on the VIP list for Hemingways around the corner. Great customer service and we felt like rockstars. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Greg G,
We are impressed! Preparing lobster and steak in your suite’s kitchen for your wife’s birthday before going to The Pantages for “Book of Mormon”…Well played, sir, well played! Thank you for allowing The Redbury to be a part of this special weekend. Your thoughtful recognition of Natalia’s efforts is deeply appreciated as well. We hope to see you again very soon!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a great stay at The Redbury! Love the kitchen and living space, and the balcony with the view of the Hollywood sign and Capital Records... classic hollywood with a modern, hipster twist! It has easy access to everywhere in Hollywood, but you won't want to leave the property after eating at "Cleo" and hanging out at the "Library", their outdoor lounge. Great for a fun couples get-away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 805Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear 805Allison,
Thank you for choosing the Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine for your couples get-away! We love seeing that you were able to enjoy our signature restaurant Cleo as well as beautiful outdoor lounge, The Library. Please let us know next time you’ll be in the area. We’d love to see you again very soon!
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best hotels I have visited for under 300/night. It has a Hollywood character in it rooms are wonderful clean and spacious. The decor is fantastic and the staff are the best. For one of the nights they arranged to take us for free in the hotel's car to our dinner reservation! Truly is a Hollywood hotel we just felt it all the time. I would single out Jerry at check in he was simply amazing especially after a very long flight so refreshing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AR_itani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear AR_itani,
It was awesome to see how much you enjoyed your stay at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine! Thank you for your kind words about Gerry and the rest of the team. We have an amazing group of people, and we love being able to spoil our guests with our complimentary BMW house car service. Please come see us again soon!
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#22 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#67 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing