We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the cool vibe, just need more light”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #13 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the cool vibe, just need more light”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel has the coolest vibe of any I've ever stayed at. It has a deep, rich decor that harkens back to Old Hollywood and low mood lighting that screams cool. The suite was very large with a full kitchen (sink, dishwasher, mini-fridge, bar-height island) and living room. I wish I could have entertained friends and family there! The room even included a record player with a selection of about 4 albums (you are able to borrow more records from the front desk). Very cool!
A balcony off the living room overlooked the bar and patio that was part of The Library, the hotel's onsite bar. It's open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday and makes for some great people watching. The sound proof door insulated us from almost all of the noise.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff top-notch. Whenever we asked for something, they had someone at our door within 15 minutes. Their "shuttle" runs until about 11:00 p.m. to transport guests to bars/restaurant and/or bring them back. The shuttle was a 2014 BMW 7 series. Very nice!
My only criticism is there wasn't enough lighting in the room. The low lighitng was great for hanging out and relaxing, but horrible for doing things at night like reading, applying makeup, trying to find something in your suitcase, and working on a laptop.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide more of a sound buffer from the partying outside at The Library's courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panayo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Panayo71,
We’re stoked to see how much you enjoyed the cool vibe at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine. Our all-suite boutique hotel strives to provide an ultra-cool, yet unpretentious hospitality experience including one of Hollywood’s coolest bar scenes at The Library. I have to admit to enjoying the 7 Series BMW house car myself! To you point about the lighting, I am happy to report that we are weeks away from installing all new LED lighting throughout the property which will not only address your concern, but it will also all our us to dramatically reduce our energy consumption and be better stewards to the environment. Please come see us again soon and let us know what you think!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    171
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
343
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My GF choose this location for a romantic stay for the 4th of July. We sought someplace close to the Hollywood Bowl given we took in Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers, the LA/West Coast Symphony, and fireworks at the Bowl for the 4th. Great show by the way...put on your bucket list.

The rooms and bathrooms at this hotel are quite large. Ours came with a full kitchen and sit down bar, as well as having a small patio deck. The pictures on the web site do a good job of portraying the unique decor, canopy bed, and accoutrements of the hotel rooms.

We wrote a letter to the manager on 2 small matters--we could not get the record player to work--yes, record player -- it fits the room's theme...and the outdoor terrace was closed for the 4th long weekend. In response we got the following reply (abbreviated). Any hotel this attentive to the customer's experience is deserving of follow-up and exposure with Tripadvisor:

Thank you for choosing the Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine while in Los Angeles! We truly appreciate you taking the time to complete our survey and were delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay despite not being able to sit on the terrace or enjoy the record player. These are two of my favorite things about the property, and I apologize that things worked out the way they did. Please contact me directly next time you are coming to the area as I would like to offer you an amazing rate with a complimentary upgrade on a night you can enjoy them both."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MACSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear MACSr,
Thank you for posting this great review despite your challenge with the record player and The Library Bar not being open during your stay. As I mentioned in my e-mail, those are two of my favorite things about the hotel and was defiantly disappointed that you did not get to enjoy them, but it sounds Like Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers help take the edge off. We hear amazing feedback about their shows every time they play the Hollywood Bowl. Please let me know some of your favorite artists are when we set up your next stay, and we’ll be sure to stock your room with records you love!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at The Redbury in February 2014. Loved it! Fantastic rooms. Very lush and groovy.
Awesome bed.
Heaps of room for the 3 of us, really like a small apartment.
Awesome bathrooms. Cleo's downstairs is delish! Try the brussel sprouts.
Warning though, the nightclub next door cranks on the weekend.
If you can't deal with that, maybe ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Choose a street side room if staying over a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear michelle m,
Thank you for this great review. Our all-suite boutique hotel was originally constructed in 2008 to condos, so each room is an apartment by design. Cleo’s brussel sprouts are amazing! I would have eaten more veggies as a kid if my mom made them taste like that. The Hollywood and Vine flats are typically the quietest options, but we did recently complete a sound proofing project as well. Please come see us again next time you’re in the states.
Cheers,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After spending a week in budget motels, The Redbury was an absolute pleasure. From the second you walk in, it is cool, quiet and just gorgeous. The flat we stayed in was spacious, very quiet and nicely dark - fantastic for catching up on missed sleep. We stayed on a Tuesday & Wednesday, so can’t comment on whether it is noisy at the weekend. It looked beautiful, had everything we could ask for (microwave, washer/dryer, glasses, plates and cutlery), including a turntable and funky record collection. Being so close to Amoeba Records, this is a big plus! Not a great view, but it was clear at booking which flats have views and which don't (our budget didn't allow for the next step up). Couldn't fault the room or the staff, who were all friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to look after us. Were we to find ourselves in LA again in the future, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at The Rebury again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_Perth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Andera_Perth2014,
It was great to see how much you enjoyed your time at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine including the kitchenette, washer/dryer, and record player with a collection of vintage vinyl. We must admit that we find ourselves down the street flipping through records at Amoeba a bit more than we should, but can you blame us? Thank you as well for complementing our amazing staff. They take great pride in being friendly and helpful as you noted. We hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Rodbury is amazing. I't's artistic, his decoration is incredible ,well located, personal very friendly and its rooms are suites. They are huge, they have their own kitchen, living room and bedroom.
In the Rodbury you're going to feel like a home. Literally.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kepokomemolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear kepokomemolo
We were thrilled to see that The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine felt like home to you. We want our guests to feel like they have the keys to a cool friend’s apartment in the city instead of staying in a traditional hotel since every room in our all-suite boutique hotel offers kitchens, living rooms, and private balconies.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 3 night stay here and enjoyed my time. The rooms are very big and are more like a work of art. The decor is very funky and liked the little touches like the record player and some vinyls to use during the stay. The bathroom is very large with room to have a party in the shower cubicle. The bathroom amenities very nice (nice enough to take with me which I don't usually do). There was a bit of noise from outside, despite staying on the top floor. But I can sleep through a thunder storm so didn't bother me. I used their car service to and from the airport, which is pricey but makes it very easy, and you travel in luxury!! Also, I ate from Cleo, their restaurant which has amazing middle eastern food. I would recommend trying it while you're there (it on its own is number 4 on trip advisor at last look).
The location is also pretty hard to beat if you want to be in Hollywood area. It's right on the walk of fame and close to activities and touring option. The metro station is just around the corner too! I would probably stay here again when I return to LA

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BmitchAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear BmitchAdelaide,
It was awesome to see how much you enjoyed your time at our all-suite boutique hotel including our signature amenities like the in-suite record player with a vintage vinyl collection, and complimentary BMW house car service. Thank you for your kind words about our award-winning restaurant, Cleo, as well. Please come see us again soon!
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our group has stayed her a few times in the past. The rooms are spacious, fully furnished and comfortable. There's not a lot of amenities like a pool or gym if that matters to you, however. Room service and a nice hotel restaurant are available. The hipster staff is polite and accommodating.

The major downside is the bar /nightclub in the hotel which has now become host to the stupid Hollywood weekend crowd that used to frequent the Roosevelt Hotel down the street. So it you don't mind loud drunks, and bad DJ's blasting club music that spills into your room til midnight (or later) this place is still great. If you actually want a quiet hotel room at all hours, avoid this place on the weekends.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room on the weekends, spend more $$ for the Hollywood Flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear tobeginwith,
We love having your group stay with us when you are in Los Angeles and appreciate how much you enjoy our spacious suites and restaurant. The Library Bar does offer one of Hollywood’s best bar scenes on the weekends, and we are in the final stages of a sound proofing project that keeps the party where it belongs and not in your suite. You are 100% correct that the Hollywood flats are the quietest in the building…excellent tip! We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#21 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#68 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing