We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to try sushi first time?”

SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa
Ranked #63 of 10,042 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$34
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Houston, Texas USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Want to try sushi first time?”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Most people order one of the "Trust Me" options. If you don't know much about it, do that and you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nsmHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    71
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Healthy”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a healthy raw fish, this is the right restaurant for you. Salmon Sashimi & Tuna Tartare are my favorites. Lost 15lbs in two weeks by eating here once per day!

Helpful?
Thank Beenover60countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Omikase Value.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This place is for purist and sushi snobs alike. I love it.

Sugarfish is definitely my favorite sushi place period. I've been to Nobu both here and in NYC (both locales--57 and Tribeca). Megu's in tribeca NY. Koi Bev Hills. Yojisan. Sushisamba (NY, Vegas, Miami, and mtl) and a slew of other places I don't remember.

And yet, no one can compare:
Their cuts are sooo fresh (They were in an ocean the morning you ate it). Served on warm rice (The rice is so distinct. It has hints of bamboo and it's not too sticky. So darn good). Their house ponzu. it's pretty incredible.

They tell you how to eat it. And listen to them because adding soy doesn't make it taste better. trust them. :)

Their prices are pretty affordable too. I've had worse omikase for twice the price...

Straight up good pure sushi.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“sushi nazi style, and not even worthy”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This place has been hyped so much, I had to try it. They say on the menu, and repeat with EVERY piece served, that they prefer you eat it without adding any sauce. That would be fine, but every piece they serve is already soaking in ponzu or soysauce on the plate. All i could taste was their sauce. The top price "chef's choice" was pretty boring - salmon, ahi, white fish. Absolutely nothing exotic, nothing exciting. The fish itself was good and fresh, but the pre-sauce-dip ruined it all for me. Definitely NOT a good deal, and i would not go again. i don't understand the appeal. This place is for people who want to eat sushi but don't want to taste the fish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 808stays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha Area
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Small place, so plan on getting there early or plan on waiting in line. You get what the chef gives you ('trust me menu'), so be prepared to be adventurous. Before I went, I heard that the key is the warm sushi rice and it does give a very pleasant contrast with the chilled fish. Not real cheap, but reasonable for downtown LA.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa also viewed

 

Been to SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing