We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfortable”
Review of UCLA Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
UCLA Guest House
Ranked #62 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming and Comfortable”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is perfect for a short stay. Comfortable, clean and quiet. I liked it as a place to attend a play my daughter was in. The rate is reasonable and there is coffee and tea available all the time. Be prepared to have dinner out and scope out places to drive to. Not much in walking distance on a weekend. The bed was comfortable and it was plenty of room for me. I met up with a friend in their common area and we were very comfortable the area near the fireplace. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd choose this place over the hotels I have stayed in near campus if there is space available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    37
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
6
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Imagine Faulty Towers without the John Cleese character and that’s my impression of the UCLA Guest House after a recent 10-night stay. The furniture and décor are dated – about 1950’s, and most of the staff seem to date back then as well. But a most pleasant staff that one gets to know and soon there is more than a feeling of being a guest but of being almost family. The guests are almost exclusively there because of UCLA – they are parents of students, or visiting campus with their high school kid, or they are a guest of one department or another at UCLA.

Front desk, not so. Here a mixed bag of student employees and part-timers who vary from professionally helpful to blasé and occasionally indifferent. And here are some helpful hints, not provided at check-in or in the info book in your room: UCLA campus is big and hilly and you are on the extreme north east corner of the campus and adjacent to a very up scale residential area. Westwood, the nearest shopping/restaurant area is on the extreme south east of the campus. And taxicabs want your first-born. Buses are ubiquitous but confusing. And although you may receive a list of Westwood restaurants when you check in and although the counter can quickly summon a cab, you may not know how easy it is to take a bus, or that the campus bus is free and available to you, or that there is a student eatery just across the street and out of sight.

I’d describe the rooms with the Dutch word gezellig, which roughly translates as cozy. Smallish rooms, high-end linens, tub with shower curtain, no mini bar. There is a sad vending machine on the second floor, also an ice machine, and a gleaming washer and dryer. I suggest a room on the second room and in front. I was temporarily moved to a first floor room (with mini fridge and microwave) but the wall was vibrating so much, even to the touch, from a water pump behind the wall that I was moved a second time. And there is no pool.

But there is breakfast – nothing fancy but one of the freshest and most appealing breakfast buffets I’ve ever experienced. From the layers of California fresh fruits, to smoked salmon, and cuts of chicken, beef, and ham, to wonderful cheeses, and perhaps the best, some of the most delicious muffins, breads, and even bagels. The seating is very casual with only three small tables and some side seats, you may find yourself sitting with a visiting lecturer on library science from Paris or a Polish professor from Kraków who is here to give a lecture at the Getty Villa on the Cyrus Cylinder – as I did. Get down early as breakfast starts at 6:30 and soon after gets a bit unraveled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stormrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Americas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Not bad if you need to be near UCLA. However, this is not a full service hotel. The front desk is understaffed but the staff is nice. There is no charge for internet and there is a small business center. Complimentary breakfast is fine, but the plates are tiny so you have to serve yourself a few times if you want to be full. There is also very limited seating so if you are more than two people you are likely to end up seating with strangers. Luckily the strangers are generally very nice people. By the end of the breakfast service the staff of the hotel takes all the food that's left and eats it in front of the guests. That I found strange. Service is a bit slow overall and the rooms are very small. Dont' expect hotel amenities. Complimentary parking is rather limited. There is no bell service and the place smells like institutional disinfectant. Still it is convenient if you are staying only a couple nights and want to be at UCLA. The staffers start talking early in the morning in the middle of the hall. For every one who is working there are two just looking around. That felt strange.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have traveled so much this summer and have stayed in expensive hotels (Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica and Demond Jene London: both complete dumps). I have also stayed in inexpensive places, this being one of them. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the parking was easy, the location goes without saying: if you have a child/friend/family member at UCLA and you need a place to stay, consider yourself lucky if you can get into the UCLA Guesthouse. The complimentary breakfast is served daily in the dining room and consists of fresh fruit, croissants, bagels, juices, coffee, hot cocoa, tea, etc. The room was very nice, the bathroom was spotless. All this for a very low price. I was not able to book a room for the upcoming parents' weekend in November but I will try again for my next trip. EXCELLENT PLACE.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redpatch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Hey, I was attending a course at UCLA so I stayed here only one night in the beginning. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! They have a bunch of restaurants they can recommend and they give you a campus map which is easy to follow. Room was quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable. Service is good. I'd definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendler-Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My dad chose to stay here because the location is very convenient if you are attending an event at UCLA. You just walk out the door and there you are. However, my poor dad got no sleep here at all because the walls are paper thin and you can hear every cough and conversation of your neighbor. His neighbors kept him up very late every night and woke him early every morning. My dad is not fussy so he didn't really mind the shabby decor or the uncomfortable bed. He did mind the constant noise. Lastly, he came to breakfast one minute early and just wanted to get a cup of coffee. He was reprimanded and told that he could not have the coffee until the exact minute breakfast started. He will not be returning to stay at this "guest house."

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and love it! Beautiful room with microwave and fridge. Excellent free breakfast. Great staff. Close to everything and nestled next to a beautiful neighborhood. I will always choose this place when I visit the area

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimporterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#143 of 351 in Los Angeles
180 reviews
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#113 of 351 in Los Angeles
302 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
15 reviews
Westside
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
The Claremont Hotel Westwood
#213 of 351 in Los Angeles
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UCLA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UCLA Guest House

Property: UCLA Guest House
Address: 330 Charles E. Young Dr E, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1466
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Ucla Guest House Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing