We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Korean BBQ Perfection”
Review of Genwa

Genwa
Ranked #123 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Korean BBQ Perfection”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Seriously, I love Korean BBQ. Genwa was the best of both worlds - amazing Korean BBQ and simply spectacular service. It may be one of my must goes when in LA. What a wonderful experience! Do not miss this place. It is as advertised.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank violetsnpansies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    40
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality beef, great taste and no smokey clothes!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We tried Genwa during our brief downtown LA stay and ordered the Combo D meal for beef lovers. We had four cuts of beef, I couldn't pronounce the names, but the cuts were excellent, short ribs were great and the kids were picking up the smallest marinated sliced beef scraps off the grill at the end. We ordered an extra plate of glass noodles which were also very good. The servers were efficient and also took time to explain how to use the pickled radish slices as wraps around the beef dipped in miso or spicy sauce. We also tried Soju (an alcoholic rice spirit) with a squirt of lemon, which goes really well with beef. Genwa is a little bit farther away from where we were staying compared to other Korean BBQ places, but definitely well worth the trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mimo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had to wait about 30minutes to get a table, but its nice to sit in bar so the wait was ok. We ordered the smallest sharing course and for the two of us that was more than enough. Nice detail with small bbq on each table, and lots of variety to choose amongst. Some of the food can be a bit spicy so ask the waiter if you don't fancy a spicy meal, but I loved the spicy tofu soup. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the fact that the meat was prepared on the table. Service was good and the price for what we got was ok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RuneFris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Quality korean BBQ... you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

●Price:$$$, 4 star.
● Ambiance: friendly, trendy, clean, 4+ star
● location: safe area, near the groves, museum road, miracle miles neighborhood. 4 star.
● Meals: excellent,4+ star
● Service: excellent, 4+ star

We came here on a Sunday night... The place was full but not too bad. Tried to dine here before but It was always packed. We called ahead this time but still waited for 20 min... The food is worth of the wait!
We got combo A including Kalbi and bulgogi, 24 plus choices of side dishes, egg soup and kimchee tofu soup, rice, clear noodle with veggie and salad! Everything was tasty and high quality. We also got chocolate raspberry ice cream and coconut mango sorbet which was delicious! The servers were attentive and pleasant. At the end of the meal, there was sweet rice drink to clean your palate and hot towels to clean up! Everything was perfect to detail. The restaurant is well ventilated... smoke free... so you don't come out smell like BBQ!
Our bill came out about $100 including tax, tips, drinks, combo A for 2 and 2 deserts... which is not too shabby!
We definitely will come back and will recommend this place to our friends and family!

Helpful?
2 Thank kukulimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a trip”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Make sure you call in a reservation. This is a very busy place. The good news is that once we were seated the service was excellent! Since this was our first time, we ordered the most popular combination A. for two ($60.00). Next time we'll probably share an appetizer and one of the Korean BBQ. Both the Galbi Prime and the Bulgogi were excellent so it will be hard to chose between them. Also, our waiter Vincent was patient, helpful and thoroughly professional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesfromSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genwa also viewed

 

Been to Genwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing