We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Hollywood Bowl events & enjoyable stay”
Review of BLVD Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BLVD Hotel & Spa
Ranked #61 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Loved the room and the bathroom too. Requested and received a room with a balcony. Nice kitchen area with a couch and TV. Only complaint is that the refrigerator was more of a wine cooler and didn't keep our food cold enough. The bathroom had lots of counter space and the shower had both a standard shower head and a rain shower head on the ceiling. SO and I really enjoyed that. Was right across from a parking lot that has $5 roundtrip shuttles going to the Hollywood Bowl for events. Was extremely convenient for the Billy Joel concert. Parking at the hotel was $17 a night, but it was also convenient and seems like you'd pay to park anywhere. Overall would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluxxxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blvdhotels, General Manager at BLVD Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your business and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the BLVD Hotel & Spa! Having the Hollywood Bowl shuttle just across the street really adds convenience! We hope to see you back soon and thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I left the BLVD on Wednesday of last week and, after receiving my final bill that I was verbally told had "no additional charges", charged $250 in unauthorized charges to my card on FRIDAY - 2 days after check out!! I called the hotel today to ask what this charge is about and I am told I was smoking in my room. An asthmatic, who complained of smoke, is being charged for smoking! What a fraud!! They tell me there's a photo - I ask to tell me what the photo is. I am told "A picture of what looks like ash in one of our glasses by a starbucks cup". REALLY? So let me get this straight - you have an ENTIRE patio outside that EVERYONE on the floor can access, and uses your cups as ash trays for (We laughed about it actually) and you have what looks to be "ashes" in a cup and we are now smoking? Again, an asthmatic. There are smoke detectors in our rooms. Did they go off? of course not!! We don't smoke!!

I was willing to deal with the rude and completely uncaring staff, but when you charge my card days after we left and when I call you to discuss it, you tell me I need to talk to the manager? No boo, that's not how this works. See, I stayed with a writer from CNN in that room, who KNOWS there was no smoke in that room and that we in fact COMPLAINED of smoke. And you charge us? Not the move... Because they will write about it. REALLY BAD move to fraudulently charge our card. Now we get to talk about you to the press and we have such great outlets on which to do so! I have already contacted my bank and I know they will refund me, because they will find in my favor. But for you staff and management at this hotel? Oh do I feel sorry for you once the press gets out. BIG BIG MISTAKE!! You should never screw a publicist and press when they stay at your hotel. Things like that will put you out of business - we like to make sure of it.

I've already started writing the press release on the shady business practices of Yusef and the BLVD that we were already skeptical of based on other reviews. I'm also going to contact the BBB and LAPD for fraud. I would definitely NOT recommend staying here. It's over priced for what you get, the service SUCKS, and they STEAL!!!!

Room Tip: To choose a good hotel and DO NOT STAY HERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WellTraveledTipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Myself and my husband have just stayed at this hotel, for 5 nights. It was really nice and the staff on reception were really helpful, especially with directions, telling us about good places to eat and ordering taxis for us as we were not driving in LA. They also organised a 'private car' to LAX, which worked out cheaper than an ordinary taxi and less hassle than the shuttles. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the only part i would fault is the cooling system, which was quite noisy at night when we were trying to sleep. We would recommend this hotel. They do take a deposit of $125 when checking in and put it back on your credit card when checking out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YDON4783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blvdhotels, General Manager at BLVD Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your business and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the BLVD Hotel & Spa near Universal Studios! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel room was a good size, but I could not get wifi in the room. The air con did not work, night staff had to reset it in the early hours of the morning. We were woken by the neighbours dog. Room viewed over a incredibly small swimming pool & neighbouring properties yard.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike70382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blvdhotelandsuites, General Manager at BLVD Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at our hotel, but appreciate that you took the time to share feedback. Our WIFI has recently been completely updated and now you can expect to experience a strong, and fast signal. We apologize for the uncharacteristic noise levels you experienced while staying at our hotel. We know how important it is to be able to rest in a peaceful and quiet guest room while on vacation. We hope you will give us a second chance here at the BLVD Hotel & Spa in Studio City. We love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two short nights recently while visiting family in NoHo. Location was great, easily accessible and great staff, especially Daniel K who was so helpful with everything from directions, dinner recommendations and even figuring out how to turn on the shower for us! We were in a third floor balcony room and it was very large with a living area & sleeping area (bed was so comfy!) with separate tvs.
This is not the Ritz Carlton but I've stayed in much less desirable chain hotels with much worse staff and far worse maintenance/cleanliness practices. We would definitely stay here again if we come back. And that's saying a lot because we'd just left The Resort at Pelican Hill the day before! Thanks again Daniel!!!

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blvdhotels, General Manager at BLVD Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your business and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the BLVD Hotel & Spa near Universal Studios! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

No customer service, they sneak charges onto your credit card for no reason. You can't get a refund no matter what. Slimy indoor pool. The staff is rude, rude rude. Avoid at ALL costs unless you like paying extra money for NOTHING.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Admittedly, the reviews on here initially had me quite worried about what I was getting myself into but as soon as I walked into the reception it was forgotten.

The staff on arrival and throughout my stay were friendly & helpful & always gave me detailed directions and suggestions for things to do.

Yes they take your ID & a deposit on checkin (all hotels do!) but there was no issue in getting it back (although I did hear someone arguing about why they lost theirs and the reason ending up being that they smoked in the room - which you clearly agree not to do when you check in!)

The room was functional, refurbished & clean with all the modern stuff you would expect from other hotels.

You are close to all the main areas.. Universal is a 5-10min walk away and you are only 1 metro stop away from all the excitement in Hollywood.

There is no mini bar - but this suited me perfectly as I usually fill the fridge with all the snacks & drinks I want from the Ralph's supermarket up the road

I'm not sure how much time the other reviewers spent in their rooms to have noticed bumpy paint & snagged carpet - we left the room most days at 9am and didn't return until 10 or 11pm and then crashed out. If you are spending most of your days in a room anywhere (even at home) you will start noticing marks on the wall and other oddities so you need to get out more or perhaps find a flawlessly perfect hotel.

The bed is incredibly comfortable!! It almost hugs you as you sleep! And yes we heard some slamming doors and conversation in the hallway during the night but it's a hotel.. (Perish the thought that you are sharing it with other people) and I believe it's unfair that the rowdy behaviour or lack of etiquette of the other guests should negatively impact the hotels reputation.
I've stayed at the Beverly Wilshire and even there the walls were thin - if you are that sensitive to surrounding noises, maybe invest in ear plugs, book a private villa somewhere isolated from civilisation or spend less time in your room and more time exploring LA and you will come back, fall into a deep enough sleep to drown out any sounds.
Like anything in life, you need to make allowances for inconveniences that are not in your control & make the best of the situation instead of bearing a grudge

A big thank you to all the staff that were there during my stay (12th-19th Feb) - you were all very pleasant and really looked after us.

Will definitely stay with you again on my next trip :)


Stayed: February 2014
8  Thank tiggerstoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blvdhotels, General Manager at BLVD Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your business and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the BLVD Hotel & Spa near Universal Studios! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#145 of 355 in Los Angeles
185 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#140 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,210 reviews
The Tangerine
#2 of 20 in Burbank
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLVD Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLVD Hotel & Spa

Address: 10730 Ventura Blvd, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604-3540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £123 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BLVD Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BLVD Hotel & Spa Hotel in Studio City, CA is situated conveniently on Ventura Blvd, near Hollywood in beautiful Los Angeles, minutes away from Universal Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BLVD Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blvd Hotel Los Angeles
The Blvd Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing