We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The line is there for a reason. . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pampas Grill

Pampas Grill
Ranked #34 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
L.A.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The line is there for a reason. . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

There's a reason this place has a line most of the time -- it's that good. Forget about the unique cafeteria service system (it's very efficient) and focus on the food. Fresh salad selections, dozens of side dishes (the sun-dried tomato pasta salad is delish) and then you get to the meat. Slabs of excellent beef and lamb, slowly cooked to perfection on a sort of upstanding bbq -- great choices -- and a bacon wrapped chicken which is absolutely wonderful. Get great food, find a good table to watching the passing parade at the Market and enjoy, enjoy, enjoy (guaranteed!).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    55
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

As we entered the Farmer's Market car park we knew what we wanted. Some of the BBQ'd food that smelt soooo good. We walked through the market and finally found the source of the wonderful fragrance at the Pampas grill. Never come across a food place like it but hope to find similar ones again. All the meats are cooked over a charcoal fire pit to perfection and having helped yourself at the amply stocked salad bar you choose what quantity you'd like of the many meats on offer. Your plate is then weighed to determine what you pay. Really novel but great way to ensure you get the food you want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brazilian Food on the cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Not much of a line when we visited over Labor Day weekend. Nice selection of salads and of course the meat. Your food is charged by the weight of your plate. I had a nice big plate of meats and salads for around 12 dollars. If you like Brazilian food, meat especially, this a a fun place to visit. It is buffet/cafeteria style, so you choose exactly what you want and how much.They do a a lot of business, so they food is all fresh. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryz0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good I went back for more the next day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went walking through Farmer's Market with my partner and friend. Trying to decide on lunch, I walked by this place and my mind was made up. The line wrapped around the side. I don’t usually like waiting in long lines for food when I’m hungry, but I had a feeling about this place. And boy was I right. OMG it was absolutely delicious! I had top sirloin, sirloin cap and spicy chicken. I also got a small salad, chicken stroganoff, boiled eggs, and pineapple bits–all for just over $12. As I was telling folks about my experience, I decided I had to go back there the next day. Got more meat the second time around. Highly recommend this place. The line is worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stef2dotoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pay by the pound”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I had a taste of plantains, spicy chicken, chickens with a pink suace on top of spaghetti. The spicy chicken was really good. The chicken that was with a sauce was tough. I thought the price was expensive in comparison to amount of food u get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pampas Grill also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Pampas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing