We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Holiday Inn in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Like a Holiday Inn in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Elan Hotel is the hotel you want if you want to be in a decent location (close to a huge shopping center) and don't want luxuries. I love that the hotel includes wifi and breakfast (continental) but I think the price tag is on the expensive side but still doable and somewhere I would go back to ($169 plus taxes for the smallest room).

Tip: ask for a room away from Beverly Boulevard and the back.

Room Tip: Tip: ask for a room away from Beverly Boulevard and the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzyfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Our location is one that cannot be beat, whether it is shopping, dining, sightseeing, or nightlife there is something for everyone. However, we are not like those cookie cutter chain hotels such as Holiday Inn. We are an upscale boutique hotel and are a very good value for the dollar as we offer complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, evening wine & cheese reception, custom upscale room amenities, 24-hour Concierge Service, and the list goes on. In addition, our customer service at the Élan Hotel sets us apart from many hotels of the same rating or higher. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your review. Thank you so much.

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    397
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
256
528
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just spent a couple of nights at the Elan hotel and loved the location. All staff we came across were friendly and helpful.Room was extremely clean however quite small for 3 adults but we did not come here to spend time in the room so it was okay.Bathroom was bigger than I expected and we had plenty of room for 3 toiletry bags and still had space on vanity. Evening wine and cheese was a great touch with good quality wine and a pleasant way to relax before heading out to dinner. Breakfast was basic with cereals, pastries and bagels so if you want to have something hot there is plenty of places within a 5 min walk. I only have cereal or toast so for me it was suitable. Late check out was granted without hesitation and a car to take us to the airport was also organised and waiting at scheduled time. Only issue for us was that beds were so firm we all struggled to sleep as we all prefer much softer beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Picking a hotel in a city as vast as LA is hard, especially when you're safety conscious. The Elan is not somewhere you need to worry about this. In terms of location, it is close to the Beverly Center, which is great for a spot of shopping, and you are just a short walk from 3rd Street where there are loads of cool shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. We walked there in the evening and did not feel concerned for our safety at all. As with most places in LA, having a car is useful, as getting around can be difficult, and the valet parking at the Elan is great. Our room was at street level overlooking Beverly Boulevard, but the rooms are well soundproofed and Beverly Boulevard quietens down at night so we were not affected by road noise at all. The room itself was stylish and elegant, with a compact but well-appointed bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was a lovely place to relax at the end of a day in the city. The breakfast was amazing, well-stocked and very tasty, and the evening cheese and wine hour is a lovely touch. These occasions, and our stay in general, was made even more pleasant by the excellent staff, who looked after us really well. All in all, an excellent value boutique hotel where I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomijosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you chose the Élan Hotel for your recent trip to Los Angeles. Our location is one that cannot be beat as it is central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer including shopping at the Beverly Center and The Grove at Farmers Market. There are many nice restaurants and more shopping on 3rd Street which is walking distance from the hotel. I appreciate you mention of our Valet Parking service. As we a 49-Room Boutique Hotel there are usually no long waits for your car. Thanks for mentioning our room amenities. It is nice to come back to the hotel in the evening and relax and unwind with a complimentary glass of wine. We fell that we are a good value for the dollar especially when you consider the complimentary Wi-Fi, morning breakfast, and wine and cheese reception. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very nice hotel! Good location (not the best though), with very friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Located near the Beverly Center (a mall), some restaurants, Wallgreens. From there, you can get easily to the main touristic areas (Hollywood Boulervard, Beverly Hills). Last time I went to LA I stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel and, besides its better location, I liked the Elan Hotel better because of the rooms. I'd definitely stay there again. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreyfus_Fabrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Elan based on the reviews on TA. We were not disappointed and all the reviews are correct. We found the room to be very clean and big enough for the three of us, we did not experience any road noise and the breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the valet parking just made everything very slick. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it if you wish to be centrally based.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that your chose the Élan Hotel for your recent trip to Los Angeles based on our Trip Advisor reviews. We do have several different sizes of rooms starting with our Jr. Suite, Executive King Room and our Executive Double/Double with two beds. Thanks for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff and our Valet Parking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and appreciate that you will recommend the Élan Hotel.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stay at the Elan frequently when we visit LA. Even my 89 year old mother in law who is soooo picky loves the hotel. Location, great staff, wine and cheese in the PM is just wonderful. I have two suggestions (not complaints) a more responsive remote for the TV would be nice and please bring back the dried fruits with the wine, cheese a deli meat.Will be at the hotel tomorrow again. Great location and the valet service for parking is just fine,Looking forward to the stay

Green Features: Use of soap and towels. No pool, just clicked wrong- sorry!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam12345475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Élan Hotel when visiting Los Angeles. We are happy that your mother-in-law holds the Élan Hotel in such high regard as well. Thanks for mentioning our great location, customer service, and amenities. From time to time we change the selection of wines and items that’s we serve on our wine and cheese reception. It is possible that we may bring back the dried fruit sometime in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have stayed in the Elan on at least 4 separate occasions over the past few years and I can honestly say that it is the best hotel in LA and you shouldn't stay anywhere else.

The staff are great, helpful and very knowledgeable, the breakfast is great, you have a good nights sleep and its in great location.

The rooms are a good size and although you have to pay for parking as you do everywhere in LA, at least it is an option here, with the valets being very quick to retrieve your car.

I have tried several different and cheaper hotels in LA but not match the Elan. I tried the Saharan Motor Hotel in LA for one night this summer and ended up with horrific bed bugs. Luckily after one night I was back in the Elan who helped me arrange a doctor and made the remainder of my stay very comfortable.

Spend the extra and stay here, its always worth it!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms but I always like a room at the back of the hotel to avoid travel noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Advertised throughout the hotel and rooms to help encourage guests to be more aware
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We like the topic of your review and appreciate your loyalty to the Élan Hotel over the years. I appreciate your mention of the helpful and knowledgeable staff. Thanks for mentioning our rooms and the amenities that we offer our guests as well. Our Valet Parking charges are among some of the lowest in the area with easy and quick in and out privileges. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Property: Elan Hotel
Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing