We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Friendly”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were very friendly. The complimentary breakfast will do the job if you are after something simple, and the free cheese and wine tasting in the evenings is a great touch.

Rooms are comfortable (we were upgraded on check in), but ours was at the front if the hotel facing onto Beverly Blvd, which was quite noisy and busy. There was also a smoking area just outside our room on the floor below, which occasionally caused a cigarette smell to enter, despite closed doors and windows.

Overall a good stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your mention of our great location near great shopping, dining, sightseeing, and nightlife. I am glad that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception. Thanks for your comments about our friendly staff. I will be sure that they see your review.
Based on our occupancy and rooms types available at the time of check-in we are happy to upgrade our guests and offer a check-in prior to 3:00 in some cases. I am happy that we could accommodate you. We are a non-smoking hotel; however our guests do smoke on their patio or balconies. Thank you for your stay with us!

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Elan Hotel is the hotel you want if you want to be in a decent location (close to a huge shopping center) and don't want luxuries. I love that the hotel includes wifi and breakfast (continental) but I think the price tag is on the expensive side but still doable and somewhere I would go back to ($169 plus taxes for the smallest room).

Tip: ask for a room away from Beverly Boulevard and the back.

Room Tip: Tip: ask for a room away from Beverly Boulevard and the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itzyfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Our location is one that cannot be beat, whether it is shopping, dining, sightseeing, or nightlife there is something for everyone. However, we are not like those cookie cutter chain hotels such as Holiday Inn. We are an upscale boutique hotel and are a very good value for the dollar as we offer complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, evening wine & cheese reception, custom upscale room amenities, 24-hour Concierge Service, and the list goes on. In addition, our customer service at the Élan Hotel sets us apart from many hotels of the same rating or higher. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your review. Thank you so much.

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just spent a couple of nights at the Elan hotel and loved the location. All staff we came across were friendly and helpful.Room was extremely clean however quite small for 3 adults but we did not come here to spend time in the room so it was okay.Bathroom was bigger than I expected and we had plenty of room for 3 toiletry bags and still had space on vanity. Evening wine and cheese was a great touch with good quality wine and a pleasant way to relax before heading out to dinner. Breakfast was basic with cereals, pastries and bagels so if you want to have something hot there is plenty of places within a 5 min walk. I only have cereal or toast so for me it was suitable. Late check out was granted without hesitation and a car to take us to the airport was also organised and waiting at scheduled time. Only issue for us was that beds were so firm we all struggled to sleep as we all prefer much softer beds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Picking a hotel in a city as vast as LA is hard, especially when you're safety conscious. The Elan is not somewhere you need to worry about this. In terms of location, it is close to the Beverly Center, which is great for a spot of shopping, and you are just a short walk from 3rd Street where there are loads of cool shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. We walked there in the evening and did not feel concerned for our safety at all. As with most places in LA, having a car is useful, as getting around can be difficult, and the valet parking at the Elan is great. Our room was at street level overlooking Beverly Boulevard, but the rooms are well soundproofed and Beverly Boulevard quietens down at night so we were not affected by road noise at all. The room itself was stylish and elegant, with a compact but well-appointed bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was a lovely place to relax at the end of a day in the city. The breakfast was amazing, well-stocked and very tasty, and the evening cheese and wine hour is a lovely touch. These occasions, and our stay in general, was made even more pleasant by the excellent staff, who looked after us really well. All in all, an excellent value boutique hotel where I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomijosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you chose the Élan Hotel for your recent trip to Los Angeles. Our location is one that cannot be beat as it is central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer including shopping at the Beverly Center and The Grove at Farmers Market. There are many nice restaurants and more shopping on 3rd Street which is walking distance from the hotel. I appreciate you mention of our Valet Parking service. As we a 49-Room Boutique Hotel there are usually no long waits for your car. Thanks for mentioning our room amenities. It is nice to come back to the hotel in the evening and relax and unwind with a complimentary glass of wine. We fell that we are a good value for the dollar especially when you consider the complimentary Wi-Fi, morning breakfast, and wine and cheese reception. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very nice hotel! Good location (not the best though), with very friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Located near the Beverly Center (a mall), some restaurants, Wallgreens. From there, you can get easily to the main touristic areas (Hollywood Boulervard, Beverly Hills). Last time I went to LA I stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel and, besides its better location, I liked the Elan Hotel better because of the rooms. I'd definitely stay there again. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreyfus_Fabrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Elan based on the reviews on TA. We were not disappointed and all the reviews are correct. We found the room to be very clean and big enough for the three of us, we did not experience any road noise and the breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the valet parking just made everything very slick. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it if you wish to be centrally based.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that your chose the Élan Hotel for your recent trip to Los Angeles based on our Trip Advisor reviews. We do have several different sizes of rooms starting with our Jr. Suite, Executive King Room and our Executive Double/Double with two beds. Thanks for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff and our Valet Parking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and appreciate that you will recommend the Élan Hotel.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stay at the Elan frequently when we visit LA. Even my 89 year old mother in law who is soooo picky loves the hotel. Location, great staff, wine and cheese in the PM is just wonderful. I have two suggestions (not complaints) a more responsive remote for the TV would be nice and please bring back the dried fruits with the wine, cheese a deli meat.Will be at the hotel tomorrow again. Great location and the valet service for parking is just fine,Looking forward to the stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam12345475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Élan Hotel when visiting Los Angeles. We are happy that your mother-in-law holds the Élan Hotel in such high regard as well. Thanks for mentioning our great location, customer service, and amenities. From time to time we change the selection of wines and items that’s we serve on our wine and cheese reception. It is possible that we may bring back the dried fruit sometime in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
176 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 358 in Los Angeles
846 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#3 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,184 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £144 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elan Hotel, a Greystone Hotel property, in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing