We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a great location”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was conveniently located close to Beverly Center. Vallet service worked perfectly. Room was nice and breakfast good. There was three of us in a room with two double beds. Melrose with good shopd is just around the corner.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    409
    75
    23
    8
See reviews for
278
539
136
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

surprised my husband with a quick weekend trip to LAX, Six Flags, etc....read numerous reviews and decided on this hotel. so happy with my choice! staff was very very nice. i was even able to message them on facebook before we went to get restaurant suggestions. they serve free wine and cheese every night for a few hours. TONS of options for dessert in the morning. excellent location. near many different restaurants and walking distance of a huge mall. wasn't loud or too busy, which is what i expected in LAX. room was perfect size and very modern, loved it. will def return to this hotel if i am ever in LAX. thank you guys for a short but great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyannag20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Dyannag20,

We are pleased that the Élan Hotel was the perfect get-away for a surprise weekend trip with your husband! I appreciate your mention of our staff as they are always eager to assist all of our guests whenever they are needed. Thanks for connecting with us on Facebook as well. I’m glad that you liked our rooms and the amenities that we provide including the complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, and evening wine & cheese reception. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked in for just one night and were really impressed by the Elan - the staff were friendly and efficient - helped us unload our (too many) bags so we could go around the corner and drop it off to Hertz. It's in a great spot - the Beverley shopping centre only a few minutes away and restaurants everywhere. We took a taxi to and from Hollywood Boulevard for sightseeing - $20 each way including tip. The room was stylish and the bed was really comfortable - top points there. But the Elan provide two things which make it special - wine & cheese in the foyer from 5-7pm (makes for a convivial start to the evening, chatting to other guests) - and nice wine! - plus a buffet breakfast with everything you could possibly want to start the day (including Vegemite for their many Australian guests!) I would recommend the Elan to absolutely anyone who wants a convenient West Hollywood Hotel. Five stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helkat2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear helkat2254,

We appreciate your mention of the friendly and efficient staff at the Elan. All of the staff is eager to assist with inquiries for directions, shopping, sightseeing, restaurants, and so much more. Our Concierge staff is available 24 hours a day. I am glad that you like our rooms and felt that the accommodations were very comfortable. It’s true our expanded continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception do make the Élan special as many hotels do not offer these free of charge. Thanks for recommending the Elan Hotel to your friends and family. We appreciate your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a fine hotel. Highly service oriented, clean and convenient to local destinations such as Cedars Sinai and shopping. There is a very nice wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. The only downside was the street noise as my room faced Beverly Blvd.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Blvd side are noisy from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DASBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I spent one night at this hotel on a stopover before the long flight back to Australia.
The hotel is in a very good location. One block from the Beverly Shopping Centre and walking distance to The Grove. The room I had was large and comfortable. I was on the ground floor and did not hear much outside noise. The bathroom was clean and looked as though it was renovated in the past couple of years. Breakfast was sufficient for my needs but some may prefer a cooked breakfast. The wine and cheese in the evening was very much appreciated.The free wifi work well and was fast. I emailed the hotel that I was expecting some parcels to be delivered and could they receive and hold them for me. They emailed back that it was no problem and would I like them to arrange a pick up at the airport for me. I replied that It would be appreciated as I had quite a bit of luggage and that was arranged and I was met at the airport on time. I would definately book this hotel when I visit Los Angeles again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy that you had a very comfortable stay with us on your stop over before returning to Australia. As you mention, we are in a central location to many shopping venues including the Grove at Farmer’s Market, The Beverly Center, and are just minutes from Rodeo Drive. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary expanded continental breakfast and the evening wine and cheese reception. We were happy to organize transportation for you as well as receive the parcels in advance of your arrival. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for our first trip to LA. Initially the Elan was recommended to us for it's central location, close to The Grove, Farmers Market, Beverly Centre and Beverly Connection Centre (for outlet discount stores).
The location was really good and we were also very impressed with the friendly service and genuinely welcoming attitude and help from staff . All of the staff were so (genuinely) nice and happy to help with all of our enquiries (we had a lot being our first trip to LA and USA). Being a smaller hotel (unlike the larger property chains) meant we saw familiar faces each day which was nice.
The Elan also provides lots of little extras that make it comfortable.Breakfast was included and between 5pm and 7pm at night there is complimentary wine and cheese served for guests. This is a great bonus if you are wanting to return from outings and have a break and recharge before going out again. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were good quality (essential for a good sleep).
We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Alison S,

Thank you for choosing the Élan Hotel for your first trip to Los Angeles. We are pleased that you will highly recommend it to friends and family. As you mention, we are central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer whether it be shopping, sightseeing, dining or nightlife.
I appreciate your mention of the friendly service that you received during your visit with us as well. All of the staff enjoys meeting our guests from around the world. As we are a 49-room boutique hotel it is easier to personalize the customer service to our guests in a hotel of our size. I’m glad that you liked our amenities and enjoyed the morning expanded continental breakfast. We appreciate your visit with us and thank you for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is my 4th review of the Elan Hotel in LA (West Hollywood). I return each November for medical visits at Cedars-Sinai. The first time I stayed there, it was a somewhat random decision to pick Elan. It was the right choice!
Elan has been a consistently excellent hotel in which to enjoy a quiet, nicely decorated room with all the amenities a modern traveler expects. In addition, a lovely breakfast bar begins each day and an evening wine and cheese bar is the perfect place to relax before retiring to one's room.
Joel and his staff provide a comfortable ambiance, one in which sitting in the lobby is a fun place to congregate and meet folks from near and distant places.
Elan is within walking distance to the elegant Beverly Center and 3rd Street, Robertson Street etc., where one can visit a variety of shops, galleries and eateries to suit modest or expensive style.
Melrose Ave. is not far and for a longer walk, neither is the Farmer's Market and Fairfax Ave. Of course one can take a bus or cab, however the area is safe to explore on foot. There are also sites to visit on Beverly BLVD, close to Elan.
It is worth repeating in each of my reviews, that the Elan Hotel is an excellent place to stay.
I'm looking forward to November when I visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxymusic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear roxymusix4,

We are happy that you chose the Élan Hotel on your first visit to Los Angeles four years ago! We are conveniently located near Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and other venues such as The Beverly Center for shopping and the Grove at Farmers Market. Just to mention, all of these are within walking distance as well.
I am glad that you liked our room amenities and were able to take advantage of our morning expanded continental breakfast as well as our evening wine and cheese reception. Both are a great way to meet guests from around the globe.
We appreciate your reviews and look forward to seeing you each year. Thanks for being a loyal guest of the Élan Hotel and a STASH Rewards member! See you in November!

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Property: Elan Hotel
Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel - a Greystone Hotel - is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing