We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice place at the right price”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We got a great price on this hotel over the Easter weekend. It is a lovely small hotel in a good location (there is no such thing as a good LA location - you have to drive everywhere). You can walk due south onto 3rd if you want to eat and drink without getting in the car, or drive to most places pretty easily.

Two minor negatives:
1. the breakfast is only so-so. Continental style, but the quality isn't great (e.g. muffins aren't tasty).
2. the rooms are small, as others said. I wouldn't want to stay there for more than 3 nights in a row... it would get oppressive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

We live in San Diego and wanted to head up to LA for the night to make the most of our touristy weekend. I booked through Travelocity and obtained a good deal ($120 for an executive king room). When we arrived, though, they showed us booked into a standard room, so they upgraded us to a suite. They were very nice in correcting the issue. The standard room we were in was lovely, just a little small (it is a big city), but all very clean and updated. The suite was very nice, of course. The rooms and service we received were just top notch. Complimentary wireless internet was much appreciated. Valet parking at the hotel is $19 per night with in/out privileges.

The location is a quick drive to the Farmer's Market, Hollywood Drive and all the local sites (the Walk of Fame, Kodak Theater, Grauman's, etc). There's a mall right across the street from the hotel and lots of good restaurants around. Within easy walking distance is King's Road Cafe (8361 Beverly Blvd); it's about 3 blocks away. They have delish food. Don't forget to take advantage of the breakfast at the hotel (pretty typical but comprehensive continental - apples, bananas, coffee, OJ, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bagels and other pastries, cereal) and the wine and cheese reception from 5-7pm (nice to grab a complimentary glass of wine and some snacks before heading out to dinner and other events).

We loved this hotel and are definitely planning to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

The Elan Modern Hotel is a pleasant surprise for business and leisure travelers seeking a no-frills hotel to spend the night at a great value. Travelers seeking to enjoy spacious lobbies, fancy restaurants, and athletic facilities in their hotel should probably stay elsewhere.

The Elan Modern Hotel features friendly staff, clean well-furnished rooms, a good breakfast, and a short hop to Beverly Center shopping/dining. However (very minor issues), the hallways are a bit antiseptic and the hotel is a not located anywhere near a subway stop.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EugeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed at the Elan Hotel Modern to be with a family member that was having surgery at the nearby, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. It was a rush last minute visit, so it was nice to get a hotel within four blocks from the hospital. The hotel has wonderful employees, everyone goes out of their way to make sure everything is satisfactory.
I was given a handicapped accessible room. I think it was the last available room on short notice. The hotel location was great, not only was it a short walk from the hospital, but it has a variety of restaurants in the area and the Beverly Center is within walking distance.
I didn’t have a car, but valet parking is available. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The television was flat screen with Hi-Def and there was a coffee maker in the room. The bath was very large and clean. As I mentioned the room was accessible so the doorways were large and there were grab rails in the bath.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent. There was juice, coffee, tea, pastries, yogurt, fruit, bagels and cereal. If I had any complaints it would be that the room I had was next to the front desk so there was some noise from the lobby only in the morning.
Elan’s location is convenient, not only for the hospital but for shopping, sightseeing and getting around in general in Los Angeles. When I come to Los Angeles next, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Fresh and beautiful, decorated in modern style with clean lines and relaxing colors. Perfectly located for business or leisure, surrounded by great restaurants and shopping, and convenient to all local attractions. This hotel offers everything travelers need for convenience and comfort. Beginning the day with a healthy and refreshing breakfast, and ending with a relaxing afternoon happy hour of cheeses and wines - all complimentary. Staff is very professional and helpful. Rooms are bright, very clean and comfortable, and eco-conscious with earth friendly bath products. I have stayed at numerous luxury hotels throughout Los Angeles and Beverly Hills, and this is definitely a luxury class hotel without the luxury class price! An absolute must for any traveler looking for ease, comfort, style and value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendydiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

And how often can you say that? We were visiting our son and chose The Elan, partly, because it was two blocks from his architecture studio. We enjoyed easy walking excursions to The Farmer's Market, Museum Row (the LACMA was fantastic), and the West Hollywood/Beverly Hills area. Beyond the great location, everything about the Elan was, well, right. The room was thoughtfully designed and refreshingly well kept. The staff was unfailingly friendly. Breakfast each morning was a delight and the evening wine and cheese reception was a great respite after busy days of sightseeing. All in all, we can easily say that we've spent a lot more money to stay at much less desirable hotels. Great job, Elan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I can not say enough about this small but elegant hotel. Great room, clean and modern looking. Breakfast is lovely. The wine and cheese betwee 5 - 7 is a great idea ! The staff go out of their way to please you. Excellent value for money. Would stay there again and again.

Ilone Burley

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaWarmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#37 of 354 in Los Angeles
826 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £189 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elan Hotel in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing