We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Beverly Hills”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Beverly Hills”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Before arriving in Beverly Hills I was worried about the location of the Elan Hotel, but it was in an excellent location close to everything in Beverly Hills. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the room wasn't large, it was clean and comfortable which was more important. The hotel is modern and not so big as to be impersonal (but it does have an elevator, which some hotels don't have). It has free interent. Value for money was outstanding. My criteria for a good hotel is to ask myself the question: would I stay there again? The answer is yes, I certainly would stay at this hotel again. The only negative comment is that our room was not serviced until late in the afternoons after we had had tiring days out sightseeing and were looking forward to coming back to a clean, serviced room. Overall it was a very good stay at the Elan Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    406
    74
    23
    8
See reviews for
267
535
135
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Great hotel, nice and very well located. The rooms are a little bit small, but everything is new, clean and modern. The hotel offers free internet access at the lobby and a very good breakfast. The only complaint is about the room service, which was a little slow when we ordered food. The lobby attendants were all nice and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minas Gerais
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Great location in beverly hills, you can do a lot of thing on foot from here. Internet and breakfast free.(also they have a wine/chesse free at 17:00)
Parking was 19.00/day.
The hotel is charming and service is great. The room is not too big.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcarrijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

From the moment our taxi pulled to the curb the Elan staff were there to help. We arrived at 9.00 am in the morning for a 3.00 pm in checkin and we were lucky enough to be able to get into our room. Checkin was smooth - and the room was outstanding.
But it was the personal level of service that we received that made this motel outstanding. The desk was managed 24 hours a day so it didn't matter what time you stumbled in the door or out - someone was there to greet you and answer questions and solve problems.
The morning breakfast was a perfect start to the day - enjoyed in a beatifully appointed lobby. You could sit and talk with other travellers - swap notes and ideas or just read the paper. And each evening was rounded off with a wine and cheese get together for interested guests.
Elan was an excellent launching pad for Los Angeles - it is across the road from the Beverley Centre - has restaurants in the street (the italian Trattatoria was superb), and the bus to "anywhere" is on the corner.
We used public transport for all of our adventures - and loved the 25c dash! Travelled comfortably to Universal Studios and Santa Monica using the buses and trains. And each day the Elan staff answered our questions - printed out timetables, maps and schedules and even helped us with elusive change for the bus!
If you are looking for a central location in beautifully appointed accommodation, with friendly, personal staffing support at an affordable price - Elan should be the first place you research.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmintouch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Elan on two separate occasions in the past 10 days and were totally blown away by the extraordinary level of service provided by the staff and manager of the Elan. From the moment we arrived, (earlier than we should have), everything happend smoothly and nothing was too much trouble for the staff to arrange for us. (like car hire, tourist bus tickets, luggage storage for a few days, etc, etc).

The immaculate presentation was a delight to find and the complimentary 'wine and cheese welcome' held each evening in the lobby was excellent.,.. a great way to break the ice and meet some fellow travellers.

The Elan is just a stroll from the Beverley Centre shopping mall and various restaurants (including the superb sushi cafe just 100 metres away),. and the hop-on-hop-off tourist bus service which is also brilliant.

So if you are looking for a great location to base yourselves in LA, we cannot rate the Elan highly enough in such an otherwise expensive city. It is outstanding value and we will be staying there again. Our congratulations to Joel and his staff,..this is one hotel we will defintely recommend to all our friends! Mark Currie. Pacific Palms, Australia.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandsuec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

What a gem of a hotel!!! Can't say enough good things about my stay there. Booked 4 nights at the begining of May and enjoyed every minute. Great staff, location,room, super clean, great breakfast every morning and the hotel is small so not noisey or too tourist-y. Wine and cheese every night was a great way to start the evening. Perfect location for shoppers or those sight seeing. Look around for less expensive rates-they are out there. But, for LA the hotels rates are not that bad! You should check it out if you are going to LA .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

First of all I would like to thank HopSkipJump for making up my mind on the Elan in W Hollywood instead of the Celebrity hotel, I am sooo glad I did not stay in Hollywood. The hotel is one block from La Cienega Blvd where you can catch buses any where in the city, believe me I went everywhere; weekends though are lousy for taking buses, sometimes they don't come at all. The hotel is small, not really a boutique hotel, just small, but you feel like a part of a family unlike say staying at the Sofitel up the street, paying more than double and not having anyone notice your existence.

Omar at the front desk is a sweetheart, always a smile and a hello when he saw me come in in the afternoons. Check-in no hassle at all. Room 206 one queen bed, inside room VERY quiet. Room is small but I was alone so it was fine. Great bed and bedding, 4 great pillows and 4 throw pillows besides and an extra one in the closet. Iron and ironing board in closet too. Desk and chair and internet connection and a large flat screen TV. Small bathroom but adequate with very nice toiletries. Yikes!! no hair dyer and I didn't take one!! No problem, I told Karla the housekeeping girl that I had thought I had read there were hair dyers in the rooms, she said she'd see what she could do and of course when I got back that afternoon there was the needed item. There is also a free in-room safe which I didn't use, I just locked everything in my suitcases and it was fine.

Having breakfast included is heavenly. If, however, you need eggs over easy or pancakes or anything substantial you'll do better going across the street to Jan's Restaurant, more on that in a minute. The buffet breakfast has yoghurt, granola, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee, hot water for the lovely teas they offer, danish, muffins and bagels and yes, they have cream cheese. There's a toaster and a microwave and oh, on a couple of days they had the most heavenly freshly baked banana nut bread. They also have a fruit bowl with bananas, apples and oranges. Breakfast is from 6:30-10:30am. There is also a little outdoor terrace for breakfast for you smokers or those wanting to enjoy the morning sun. I never got around to the wine in the evening, I always got back to the hotel late after siteseeing and shopping. They also have one computer in the little lobby so you can check your email at no extra cost.

Jan's Restaurant is right across the street, but of course you have to walk a block one way just to cross and then a half a block to reach the restaurant. They serve breakfast all day and night so one night I went all out and had a big breakfast and on my last night I had dinner there; prices are fair and the food is decent.

Take a bus from La Cienega to Sunset and you have all the hot night spots and restaurants or stay on the bus and it will take to straight to Hollywood. Walk a couple of blocks to 3rd street and hop a bus right to The Grove, or go the other way and head to Rodeo Drive. You can get any where you want from the Elan by bus.

For you shoppers you have within 3 blocks of the hotel, Beverly Center with Macy's and Bloomingdales as anchors; Lohmann's Men across the street and a block up Lohmann's women's. There is a Grand Luxe Café where I ate twice, expensive but I was on vacation.

Not only is this a great hotel but ALL the people that work there are so very nice and you can't beat the price and it includes breakfast. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in LA, the area is so much nicer than the Hollywood kitsch.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHAMUCO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Property: Elan Hotel
Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing