We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Elan in early November and was so impressed and satisfied with the experience. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The lobby was lovely -- modern and comfortable. My room was gorgeous and so clean. The cleaning staff did a beautiful job each night -- replenishing all the toiletries and coffee, and the little chocolates with the turn-down service was very nice. Huge TV with HBO. Quiet room -- even with my window facing Beverly. No hallway noise. Parking does cost $19/night, but after the first night of valet parking, I found that street parking was very easy 3-4 blocks away from the hotel in the residential areas. (That only applies for Sat-Sun -- might be difficult during the week.) Still, the room rates are reasonable, so paying for parking isn't as painful as it could be. (Especially when I consider parking in Chicago hotels overnight is $45-50.) Oh, and the wine and cheese/crackers every night was SO nice -- and normally I wouldn't think I'd enjoy this (travelling solo as I was) but the lobby was so comfortable and the cheeses were so delicious, I loved it. And the continental breakfast was fantastic. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in all of LA.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChgoGal11225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    397
    72
    23
    7
See reviews for
256
528
133
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Elan!! i love this place so much! I started my 3 week trip around the state here and after travelling around staying in various places i can say without a doubt that Elan is the best place i have stayed hands down in the US. I'll start with the rooms - massive and always clean, loved big screen tv for chilling out after a night out.. Air con works great and the beds are the biggest most comfortable hotel beds ever.

The guys at the front desk and valets are awesome as well. I didnt talk much to the morning shift guys as i was generally straight out the door, but i spent alot of time chatting with the night guys after my night out and they sure are great for a chat.

A quick story why they are so great - i had a hire car and needed to fill up gas before returning, but the gas station have dodgy people tryng to hustle me so i got out of there - when i told the night valet guy (john) about it, he jumped in the car with me and filled it up for me!! where do you get that kind of service? only from Elan - legends

location is awesome - the beverly centre is right there and the big freeway to get you around isnt too far either.

also can you say free wireless?? - everywhere else in the states wanted to charge me but Elan set the standard again :) We loved this place so much we booked it for our last leg in LA before heading back and listen up Aussies - they have vegimite! vegimite on a bagel = win

general tip for LA - get a car because LA is spread out

I'm heading back next year and will definately stay at the Elan. See you next year boys

Big David

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangy_4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed at the Elan for 4 nights and were impressed with the tasteful renovations and the staff were just as helpful as when we stayed here 3 years ago. We purchased the museum package and the Petersen Automobile Museum was the highlight. The motel is very clean, quiet and in a great location with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Beverly Center is only a 2 minute walk. We will be back!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaSAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed at the Elan while over for the Breeders Cup World Horseracing Championships at Santa Anita. A good welcome with upgrade to a larger room. Great comfortable hotel in good safe location. Loved the breakfast (most hotels in LA don't do breakfast) and the evening wine and cheese. I had a problem with my laptop charger and housekeeping were helpful in sorting it out.

The Beverly Centre is the nearest main landmark and a great place for shopping. A short bus ride away is The Grove - shops, farmers market and cinema - which is worth a visit.

Would definitely stay at the Elan again. I loved LA so I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bullets69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We had 3 nights in LA as a precursor to a prolonged road trip around the South West. We wanted an inexpensive hotel in a part of the city we'd feel safe to stroll around day and night. The Elan, manager William and staff provided the best possible start to our trip. Arriving by taxi from the airport at 21.30 we were met at the door, checked in and shown to our room in the most courteous fashion and in double quick time, but not before we'd learned that the hotel provides cheese, wine and coffee each evening, gratis. The evening's offerings had been cleared away but, realising we'd be hungry as well as tired after journeying all day, the staff volunteered to serve it all again just for us! Not only that but when the repast arrived it included a bottle of our favourite Aussie red wine!
The rest of our stay was equally comfortable, the staff being just as happy advising us of bus timetables and bus stop locations as arranging for another guest's hire car to be upgraded to a Hummer! They were also very helpful in arrangingtours etc.
The location was all we could have hoped for - a stroll around the block before breakfast was through a delightful residential area; we walked out at night and felt perfectly safe locating a bar and restaurant some blocks away.
Top marks for the Elan.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcmartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel is a real find. The location is central, The rooms are relatively quiet, and the design is subtle and calming. For a longer stay in particular, the professionalism of the staff is very impressive. I have stayed here twice when in LA for work and will definitely be back. The only drawback is there is only valet parking - so if you have a car, which you're likely to in LA, you have to either spend another $15 a day on valet or figure out the complicated street parking regulations and move your car a lot.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearhandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed at Elan Hotel for 3 nights last week. The service was second to none and very personal from the admin staff in the back offices , guys on the the front desk,valet parking and the housekeeping staff. We were greeted personally and asked about our day by everyone we saw ,they could not have been more hospitable. The breakfast included in the tariff was relaxed and generous served in the foyer of the hotel , we met there again in the evenings for the wine ,cheese and fruit reception, were they served fine Aussie wines !!! When I had a few hiccups in getting out of LA they were supportive and helpful with some good suggestions. They also have some preferred taxis drivers that were cheaper and safer than others we used.They organised 2 day trips for us giving us great suggestions on what to do.The hotel is managed by a couple of Australians that are attracting a good clientele, many business men but also lots of Aussie accents there having breaky! More a boutique type of hotel and very safe for women travelling alone.Would highly recomennd Elan Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElanMGR, Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
G'day Aussies!
Thanks for coming all the way out to LA to visit us! We're thrilled you had a great visit at our hotel, and we'd love to have you come visit us again anytime. We had a little chuckle reading your review- we indeed have an Australian connection in our management staff and we're glad you liked the wines! (They were chosen to represent our Australian connection :-) so we're glad you picked up on it!)

The staff sends their well-wishes and hope we can welcome you again on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Best Wishes and Safe Travels,
The Elan Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Property: Elan Hotel
Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing