We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Nice People”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place, Nice People”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have just returned from our stay at The Elan, The staff and service were helpful, courteous. We flew back to Australia at 11.55pm, They made an extra room available after check out so we could shower and rest before our trip. The continental breakfast included in price, as well as, cheese and drinks in late afternoon at no cost were exceptional value. Would recommend to everyone looking affordable clean accommodation. Well done everyone.

G S Sunshine Coast Australia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoflaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    414
    76
    23
    8
See reviews for
281
543
136
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Very nice hotel with friendly staff always ready to help. The room was quite spacious and spotlessly clea and the bed was much more comfortable than the one I have at home :-)
Thank you for a good tip

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasamson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The good: Great location; tremendously friendly and helpful staff; layout, amenities and cleanliness of the Executive King Room are excellent; good (complimentary) in-room wifi and lobby pc's; good breakfast; and the (complimentary) cheese & wine reception every evening is a really nice touch.

The bad: The only thing that we noticed that could be improved was the outdated hallway (in comparison with the lobby and rooms), but even this was being refurbished while we were there (with minimal disruptions by the way)!

Verdict: For us, it was the best hotel in a 5-week vacation; will definitely stay here again when in LA.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was our second stay at the Elan, and it was just as pleasant as the first visit. The hotel is within walking distance of nice restaurants and shopping. The surrounding residential areas appear upscale and safe.
A nice touch in the Elan is that the room doors have slow closings, such that doors do not slam on their own. Thus the hotel is relatively quiet, unless there is loud talking outside your door.
Worth mentioning is that internet access is free, but parking is not. And there are few safe alternatives for parking that would cost less. With free parking I would give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

First of all, I'd like to say that The Elan is a very neat small hotel. The staff was accomodating, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast bar/coffee & evening reception of wine & cheese. My drawback was the size of the room. I have to admit, I was shocked when I walked in the room. The room we stayed in was VERY small. However, I've not stayed in any boutique hotels, so I don't have any comparison. I prefer a larger sized room with a large bathroom. So, if you're expecting luxurious - forget it.
Really, the staff & the general "feel" of the place made the experience more comfortable. I can see why it's rated so high, but, it's just not for me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodyboy0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here for three nights In early August and the hotel was just as expected. The rooms were very nice and well equiped (although the smallest of all the rooms we stayed in, on our holiday through out the US and Mexico including New York), the staff were lovely, the breakfast very nice and the location was good for LA.

The only issue we had, which was no fault of the hotels, was that they were demolishing the Taco Bell across the road and as we had a room facing onto Beverly Blvd we were woken every morning at 7.30 to the loud sound of construction.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We arrived in LA having booked a bed and breakfast for 4 nights it was so horrendous that we left after one night and trawled through our Lonely Planet guide and ended up with this gem. Every cloud has a silver lining. We didnt even mind the valet parking fee cause Paulo was very pleasant. Had 2 different rooms because that was the only way they could accomodate us 2nd night was suite. Rooms comfortable clean and no complaints at all. Breakfast very good plenty of fresh food pastries juice and coffee. Free internet location good what more can we say. This place thankfully restored our faith in LA which had started off rather badly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgans_berriew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,056 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#35 of 350 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Property: Elan Hotel
Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elan Hotel in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing