We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #57 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel's situated in Little Tokyo area of city. There are good 'value' eating choices around. The hotel's close to the train and bus stations. It's an 'extended' walking distance away from older and historic part of city and original Spanish/Mexican area of city - but that's not unmanageable. Little Tokyo Village around is worth spending time in - its bustling with activity

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    366
    145
    34
    20
See reviews for
127
191
117
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A great find! Atmosphere and charm. It's so nice to find a place that isn't part of a huge homogenized chain. Miyako has personality.

Rode the Super Shuttle from LAX. Trip took a little under an hour. Room was fine, but not flashy or opulent. Superior breakfast buffet. The Little Tokyo neighborhood is fun to explore on foot.

The bellman Jesus helped me locate an excellent spot for a sushi and sashimi lunch: Sushi Gen. Walking distance. I strolled around and looked at temples. It was Monday, so the museum was closed.

Desk staff welcoming and courteous. I had trouble getting the TV to work, and someone came right up and got it sorted out. It wasn't broken, I was just pushing the wrong buttons.

They have a spa, but I found a small, legitimate mom and pop massage place in the Honda Shopping Center that gave me a good shiatsu treatment for about half the cost. (Info on request.)

I only stayed one night, and look forward to returning for a longer period of time. The really beat staying at one of those grim airport hotels where I usually hole up. Taking this option made Los Angeles memorable in its own right and not just a place to change planes.

A tip of the hat to the TA members who suggested it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
536 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Located in the heart of Little Tokyo on the north side of downtown LA this hotel is simply a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and efficient. Check in took no time at all. The Executive Tokyo King room was well appointed and clean. Comfortable bed with very nice bed coverings. I would recommend a higher floor on the south side to avoid street noise. It has a very basic morning cafe with standard continental breakfast fare. For those wanting a more substantial breakfast experience there is a standard American buffet with all the regulars you have come to expect, eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, etc... I opted for the Japanese buffet, not knowing much about Japanese cuisine. Feel free to ask questions and the waitstaff is more than willing to explain. Restaurants abound within easy walking distance. The Japanese Village mall is right next door full of restaurants, stores, salons, and a full market. Checkout was just as seemless and easy as checkin. A request for a later checkout time was no problem whatsoever. I stayed here for business given its close proximity to the federal and state courthouses. I would not hesitate for a moment to stY here for any future visit to Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with the last numbers being "13" as these rooms are secluded, quiet, and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t-bonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a great location to reside if you want to visit Downtown LA & be as close as possible to great/cheap food (japanese/korean restaurants across the street). The hotel doesn't provide free airport shuttle, but easy to reach from LAX by Prime Shuttle ($15). It is walking distance to public transportation (8min walk to Union Station Amtrak or 3min walk to Metro Gold Line), Olvera Street and Chinatown. A bit far from other main attractions, such as Universal Studio, Hollywood, and Santa Monica. However, tour can be organized at the tour desk (444), e.g. $75 (4hr) CityWalk (Hollywood, Downtown), $85 (5~6hr) to CityWalk+Santa Monica. Clean room/bathroom with the must-have Japanese-styled toilet. Staff were very helpful pointing directions, but not quite enthusiastic in terms of providing information on tours & their own spa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank musemomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My friend and I has stayed in the Tokyo Executive Double for two nights in Oct. It's in the CBD area - if you are more interested in beverly hill area then it may not be your best option.
I was great. Simple but spotless room. We loved the karaok bar on level2!
The restaurant opposite and the plaza next door are all awesome, we are definitely need more time there!
Will definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie Travller M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Located in Little Tokyo, this is a small, well-managed hotel surrounded by excellent restaurants, the Japanese American National Museum and the Go For Broke Memorial. The rooms are small, nicely furnished and clean. This is an historic area of Los Angeles so don't expect a lot of modern glitz of the big hotel chains. Breakfast is a buffet mixture of foods ranging from scrambled eggs to miso soup and a bit pricey at $23; however the only other choice for breakfast seemed to be coffee shops (Starbucks) and bakeries. Traffic is a problem anywhere in Los Angeles so make generous allowances for travel time. The rooms are nice and the staff is polite and helpful. If you plan to visit the Japanese American National Museum, go to the museum website to register at the Miyako at a reduced rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professorhosokawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location as we were visiting for one night only for a Dodgers game.
This hotel seemed to fit the bill and it was very reasonable.
We were not disappointed when we arrived. The hotel is in Little Tokyo and not far from the stadium. It is surrounded by many Japanese shops and restaurants and my only regret is that we had no time to explore these. There is a car-par attached where you can self-park or use the very efficient valet service. All the staff we met were great.
The room itself was a pleasant surprise as it was so spacious for the price, it was clean and the bed very comfortable. We were also amazed by our first experience of an electric toilet with bidet and heated seat and water.
Although for us it was a quick one night stay, Union Station is only a couple of blocks away and from there you can get to all the sights and attractions so I think it would be perfect for a longer
stay especially at the very low price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,091 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing