We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #53 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I found my stay at the Miyako fantastic. The beds are very comfortable and the room was an adequate size for one. All staff were very friendly and check in and out was a breeze. Location was also unbeatable with everything you could possibly need right at your doorstep. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 22Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    361
    145
    34
    20
See reviews for
126
188
117
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Excellent location. Close to the subway station. For the room size the price was on the higher side. The Wi-Fi was not good enough. Check-in and check-out was fast.
Would consider staying here next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was the least expensive option in downtown LA. I had a meeting in a government building downtown and needed to spend the night . The room was clean and well appointed. The shower head was more air than water but that is a function of local water saver code. I would recommend bringing your own shampoo, the 'organic' stuff they provide smelled like a barnyard on a summer day. They have a parking garage they charge extra for but you are allowed to come and go all day at no extra charge. They is some sort of coffee bar for breakfast in the lobby with fancy SoCal crap that would no doubt make me ill as half of it looked raw and the pastries looked like pressed twigs and were overprice. There are no regular restaurants close by. All asian food.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for one night before an appointment the next morning. Staff was polite and efficient. Despite the room looking out over 1st St, it was quiet, and the bed was good and firm. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terjemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Los Angeles to speak at a conference at the Miyako was the host hotel. It was close to the conference venue and reasonably priced, so I figured why not? I was pleasantly surprised.

When I arrived, I was impressed by the design of the lobby. Very light, clean and modern. I had a small mix up at check in that almost prevented me from staying at the hotel (despite having a reservation and pre-paid room), but the front desk clerk went to their manager who took care of everything.

The room is nicely decorated...nothing fancy, but it was clean and well kept. Some parts of the room showed age (thermostat, light fixtures, baseboards) but everything was ok. The bathroom was a decent size and all the bathrooms have heated toilet seats & bidets, which kind of surprised me given the price point, but it was nice. Unfortunately, the bathroom light burned out in the middle of the night (found that out the hard way when my boyfriend was taking a late night potty break). Bathroom was decent, but as I mentioned about the room, showed some age.

The best part about this place though is the karaoke bar on the second floor. Its called Ohjan and it is a real Japanese karaoke bar. We had so much fun! Locals and hotel guests were there and everyone encouraged each other to sing.

Honestly, I probably would never of stayed here had it not been for my conference. Not sure how soon I'll return but its nice to know of a reasonably priced, decent, comfortable, clean hotel near downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penceyprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have stayed several times at the Miyako. The rooms are very quiet. The beds are comfortable. I love Little Tokyo. This is a great place to relax before taking in a concert, since the valet is open late. I recommend valet parking only. It is totally worth it, especially since it's hard to maneuver around otherwise. We love their little coffee shop downstairs. The front desk lobby personnel are very attentive, courteous, and polite. Security keeps the riffraff out. We like browsing the shops in the neighborhood and eating at the Korean BBQ place across the street. There is a temple nearby (totally cool!) where we made contact with a monk who truly didn't speak any English. It was a very decorative temple where you felt blessed. The Miyako is the only place I will stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good that we've had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ocean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here while in Los Angeles for my nephew's graduation from USC. We enjoyed exploring Japan Town, including the Japanese American museum. The bed in our room was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Family members staying in other rooms agreed. Nice place at a reasonable rate for LA. Our air conditioning wasn't working the first day so the front desk sent up a repairman and he fixed it right away -- great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing