We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #108 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed here several times since I often need to stay close to Downtown and even though there are great deals for the high-end hotels, the parking costs often add $20-$30 which drives me nuts! At this Super 8, I like these rooms which are very clean, and it's quiet. And then with free wifi and breakfast, what's not to like? The front desk people are always very nice and helpful. Remember to give them your Wyndham Rewards number so you get points for staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank rstark223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear guest:
We strive on a daily basis to provide the best customer service to all of our valuable guests, it is truly rewarding to meet our guests expectations once they stsy with us.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your business again in the near future.
Sincerely
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is by far not the worst or best place I have ever stayed. The people that work there are very nice and easy to talk to. The lobby is clean and has a decent continental breakfast daily. The location is no more than an hour from anything you could want to see in the LA area. The area outside of the hotel does seem a bit sketchy at night but I felt relatively safe walking from the hotel to El Compadre Restaurant down the road and back even after midnight. Speaking of El Compadre, well worth a stop in if you stay here.
I do have some complaints about the room. I used my Wyndham Rewards points for both nights I stayed so it was kinda free but I still have to raise concerns. The shower head was broken and only allowed on setting which half the pressure just ran off like a faucet. When we first arrived the front desk radioed someone to tell them we were there. Upon arriving at the room the reason was clear. Door was propped open and the smell of Fabreeze filled the air. Once the Fabreeze dissipated the smell of stall sex and smoke filled the air. If I had a family I would have left right then.
It was nice to wake up and walk out the door and see the Hollywood sign and take in the 75* temps in late December. Overall I would stay here again. Just will not have high expectations.

Room Tip: Even if you smoke ask for a non smoking room and go outside to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear guest:
First, let me apologize for the little problem you had with the shower head, normally as soon as our guest finds any problem in the room, as long as they let the front desk agent know inmediately, we will either correct the problem or put you in a different room if available, i am, not sure if you let us know of these issues in order for us to make your stay up to your expectations, in regards of the smoking odor, i would love to know if you were in a smoking room and if you requested it. the reason why my desk agents communicate thru radios with housekeepers, simply because we want to make sure the room is ready and clean for guest to go in the room.
Hopefully you choose us as your destination hotel next time you visit Los Angeles and please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations and the best rate guaranteed 213-250-2233.
Looking forwaed to your business again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 for 5 nights over Christmas while visiting relatives in the area. It was a great base of operations for us. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. And the price is right! While it is not a fancy place, it is a convenient place to stay in downtown LA. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Super 8 Los Angeles.We strive on a daily basis to provide the best product and service at a reasonable price.We appreciate your business and hopefully we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Please feel free to contact us for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your business again
Sincerely
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Besides the good breakfast and internet connection, there was a daily need of recoding the room key, few tables on breakfast room, and on the first day the room hasn't even been cleaned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank StevenConte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest:
It is extremely important for us to offer the best quality in service and product to all of our valuable guests, it is truly rewarding to hear great feedback from our guests and it makes us feel we are achieving our goals.
Please feel free to contact us for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Sincerely
Magaly Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Oscar Gutierrez G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JohnPaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Motel
#162 of 354 in Los Angeles
127 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#178 of 354 in Los Angeles
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 1341 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026-4798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £87 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Super 8 Los Angeles
Super Eight Los Angeles
Los Angeles Super Eight
Los Angeles Super 8
Motel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing