We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms in the front of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #105 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Noisy rooms in the front of the hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I chose this hotel based on the good reviews I read - its location, cleanliness and friendly staff. I found all of this to be true - it was a five minute drive to the Garment District, Bonaventure and Walt Disney Concert Hall. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly, no frills for a decent price for downtown LA. However, we were given a room in the front of the hotel which is on a busy noisy intersection. Trucks and motorcycles all night long. I wore earplugs and could still hear the traffic noise. I would stay here again, but ask for a room toward the back of the hotel. You will still hear some noise, but not like you would staying in those front rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Dear Guest:
First let me thank you for your time to let us know how your stay was at the Super 8 Los Angeles, Definetely the rooms in the back are less noisier than the ones facing Sunset but all of our rooms have the same accommodations. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    199
    120
    27
    24
See reviews for
130
137
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I stayed here last week and first of all the service was horriable no one knew what was going on and our room didnt have hot water the bed was itchy and the worst was they said i stole a towel now tell me why i would want a itchy dirty towel and couldnt dry anything so i am taking advise from towlie "don't forget to bring a towel" because they will slap you will fees galore STAY AWAY or pay with cash only!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank societyinchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2010
Dear Guest:
First, let me thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to write about the experience you had while staying in our hotel. Unfortunately, when you check in by signing the registration card you agreed to our terms and conditions in the hotel, part of these terms and conditions are clearly specify that by signing you are fully responsible for any damage or missing items in the room. Hopefully, this will not keep you from staying at any of our chain hotels.
Once again thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Saint Louis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Although the hotel is a bit 'off the beaten path' from the Santa Monica/Hollywood areas it is worth the extra driving to sleep in a very clean, quiet, well run hotel at an economical price including free parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickFSt_LouisMO_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write this review to let us know how delighted you were with your stay at the Super 8 LOS Angeles. Comments like yours are very rewarding and hopefully you choose us as your future destination hotel on your next visit to Los Angeles.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-250-2233.
Looking forward to have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I visited LA for a music festival and was looking for a nice hotel while still meeting my budget. This particular Super 8 was perfect. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and in nice condition and it was also in close proximity to everything I needed (echo park, state historic park, etc). The continential breakfast wasn't extraordinary or anything, but I did not expect it to be. It had all you would need: coffee, juices, cereal, danishes. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is just staying a couple of nights and not looking for a luxury resort to stay at. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Dear uest:
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to let us know how pleasant your stay was at the Super 8 Los Angeles.Hopefully you keep us in mind as your next destination hotel in the near future, taking in consideration that we are centrally located only minutes away from the famous walk of fame in Hollywood and also Downtown Los Angeles, now if you are a baseball fan as you might of notice,we are just walking distance to the dodger stadium.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-250-2233. We will be looking forwardto have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Benevento, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

nice experience. clean room,nice location. everything is good.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarkoT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear guest:
We want to thank you for taking a few minutes from your valuable time to let us know how satisfying your stay was at the Super 8 in Los Angeles. It is very rewarding to hear complete satisfaction from a guest. Hopefully you consider us as your destination hotel in the near future. Please feel free to contact us directly for reservations 213-250-2233.
We will be looking forward to have you stay at the Super 8 Los Angeles again.
Sincerely.
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in April. We are from Australia so had no idea of the different parts of LA and because the address of this hotel is Sunset Boulevard we thought it would be central to everything (we found out that Sunset Boulevard goes for miles!). When we got there we discovered that it is a predominantly Mexican neighbourhood which was an eye opener for us. We felt like outsiders when going into the shops, laundromattes and cafes, however this was no-ones fault and I guess in a way was good for us to see the different people that make up America. When in our hotel room we felt safe, however there is no safe in the room so we carried our valuables with us. We walked down the road at dusk one night and didnt feel unsafe, not sure if i would go on my own though. The room was clean but the window looks onto the next doors roof so dont expect a view. The receptionist was friendly and helped us book a tour. I would suggest if you are a first timer to LA that this hotel doesnt give you the best side of the city but a local or out of towner would probably be more at home here. In all we had a good stay here with no problems. The continental breakfast was sufficient but dont be a minute late because they clear it away right on closing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipsalcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Dear Sir:
First of all i want to thank you for taking your time to let us know how pleasant your stay was when you stay with us at the Super 8 located in Los Angeles. Hopefully you will choose us as your destination hotel next time you visit Los angeles keeping in mind that we are centrally located, only minutes away from Downtown Los Angeles/ Hollywood, and of course just a few steps from the Dodger Stadium if you happen to be a Dodger fan!! I will be looking forward to have you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

When I'm in LA, I usually stay at a 4-star downtown hotel courtesy of Hotwire. This time, though, the Hotwire option was out of my budget, so I thought I'd give the Super 8 a shot. Bad idea.

The hotel isn't terrible--my room was clean, and the staff was nice--but it's a far cry from the Super 8 Culver City where I had stayed the night before. The bed was amazingly hard, and the pillows had that delightful bag-of-cottonballs feeling. My *favorite* part was the shower, which continuously alternated from hot to cold no matter how much I fiddled with the controls.

Next time, I will be going back to Hotwire, even if it means an extra $50 in hotel/parking/internet fees.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulofsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zapatamagaly, general manager at Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
First, i want to thank you for taking the time to let us know in areas where we can improve the quality of our service.Sorry to hear that our beds where not the most confortable one during your stay. Luckily we are in process of replacing all of our mattresses in the next couple of months. We will feel honor if you decide to stay in our property in the near future.Once again sorry for any inconveniences you had while staying at the Super 8 Los Angeles. Looking forward to meet you soon.
Sincerely.
Magaly Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Royal Pagoda Motel
#158 of 351 in Los Angeles
120 reviews
Central L.A
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown

Property: Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 1341 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026-4798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Super 8 Los Angeles
Super Eight Los Angeles
Los Angeles Super 8
Los Angeles Super Eight
Motel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing