We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go For The View!”
Review of Perch

Perch
Reserve with OpenTable
Perch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: 5th Street
Transit: Perch can be easily accessed by Metro train, at the Pershing Square stop. Just as you come out of the station we are located on the corner of 5th and Hill.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go For The View!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

There are many good things about Perch and here are some suggestions. Make a reservation for dinner around 7 but go up to the rooftop bar for pre-dinner drinks before dinner because it gets ridiculously packed by 9. Try to get a table by the glass balcony (and maybe catch a sunset) and avoid sitting inside because the noise is cacophonous. There is a very cool table for a large party on the side of the venue that I have my eye on for a larger party. The food is fine but it probably won't be the food that brings you back...it will be being part of this exciting re-emergence of Los Angeles as a real city with a downtown worth visiting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyclairemuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    193
    49
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were seated at our table and it took 20 mins to have a waiter greet us. We had planned for a quick 90 minute dinner and the service was very slow.

Food and views were excellent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a view”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Reserve your table right now. You won't be disappointed. Not only was the food fabulous the view is breathtaking. Seating outside on the rooftop balconey was so beautiful. The food most enjoyable and a very courteous, funny server who was also very helpful when it came to making our choices
I highly recommend this restaurant.
The filet and scallops appetizer is perfect to share. I had the most tender short ribs with perfectly seasoned mashed potatoes. It also came with little baby beets that were the best I've ever had.
Dessert is a must. Corkage was $20.00 and the wine you bring cannot be something you could have purchased there. Shouldn't be a problem.
Although I didn't get a chance I didn't get a chance to go I heard there was another rooftop bar.
Parking was $9.00 valet or $6.00 directly across the street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAREN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooftop Cocktail”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Perfect rooftop cocktail to end any evening, they usually have some sort of live music overlooking the city and the sunset. Drinks are expensive but worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoCal_Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails, good food, and Great Views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I went for her birthday dinner, but I've heard they have great brunch too. It was actually less expensive than I was expecting. We had a table by the glass wall, which IMO is the only way to dine here. It is a bit crowded so definitely make reservations. And, they always have live music!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perch also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Perch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing