We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #17 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and great service”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We got a good deal booking direct with the hotel online - they price matched a price I had on Expedia. We stayed in a Luxury Hollywood Room.
We arrived at 9am and the room wasn't ready yet, so we checked our bags in and went for a look around. It is in a fantastic location - lots of shops and restaurants around. Just be careful of all the scammers on the walk of fame dressed up in costumes - they will want at least $5 per person per photo and some of them look nothing like who they are meant to be!
We were back by lunchtime and our room was ready.
The room is a good size, clean and comfortable. The service from all staff was very personal, the concierge's knew their stuff and it was quick and easy to get anything we needed.
We had breakfast once at the hotel restaurant and it was really yummy.
The pool and gym were good, but we got up one morning to find the pool drained! Called reception and they didn't even know it had been drained or why. Called again at midday and they said it would be refilled tomorrow, but still couldn't tell us why it had been drained.
The only issues I had were that the cleaners start at 8am each day and our room seemed to be first! Make sure you put up your privacy please sign if you want a little sleep in. Maid staff were more than happy to come back a little later to clean if we were still there. Another issue was it took over 5 minutes to get hot water in the shower for every shower. We had to turn it on and go and do other things while it warmed up. This was a big waste of water.
Other than that, the room and people were great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    1,210
    308
    84
    88
See reviews for
1,163
1,064
117
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Upon check-in, our room wasn't ready even if it was already 6:00 pm, but they offered a 50$ dining voucher. Our room was spacious and nice. Location is fantastic. It's connected to Hollywood and Highland mall and only a block away from El Capitan, Dolby and Grauman's (now TCL) Chinese theaters.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinuytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at Loews for 3 nights. The hotel is great, and the locations is excellent. Close to metro, dining and shopping.
We got a room on the 5 th floor with a view to the hollywood sign which was awesome. The room was neat and clean. The sink in our room had a leak, and when we told the management about this, they quickly moved us to a much bigger and better room. So fantastic service there.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Let me first say the location of the hotel is great. Easy access to tons of restaurants and all the great sites. The room was clean and fairly nice - the wood under the sink vanity was worn. The view from the room was great. Had a room facing Highland so I had wonderful views of the Hollywood sign and the city. On the down side, housekeeping was slow to clean the room - room wasn't made up until after past 1pm most days and didn't re-stock the room with shampoo and soap. Had to call twice for more and it took almost two hours for housekeeping to restock the room (and yes I left a daily tip for housekeeping staff - fruitless). Then one the last evening another guest had been checked into the room I was occupying. I almost had a heart attack when the door opened and stranger walked in with his bag in hand - thankful I it wasn't embarrassing for either of us. After calling the front desk, I was told new key cards would be brought up to the room - after an hour I went to the front desk myself. The front desk attendant was pleasant and apologetic but that was it. I was rather shocked how the situation was handled considering safety is fairly important consideration for most hotels. About 45 minutes later someone from the hotel knocked on the door with "new key cards" and a coupon for a free drink from the bar. Was very disappointed the hotel didn't take this issue with seriousness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Highland and ask for a room on an upper floor so you can appreciate the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Hollywood Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and I am happy to read you enjoyed the hotel and Hollywood Location. You are correct we are located in the center of Hollywood with plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance of the hotel.

I am sorry to learn about the incident regarding the unexpected guest. We do take these incidents very seriously and if you wouldn’t mind contacting me directly I would appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, but nothing fancy. Its right next door to a great shopping center with a good choice of places to eat. We rented a car inside the hotel which was very convenient. We had a very good stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Only stayed here for 1 night, but it was a pleasant experience. Hotel itself was very nice, big, clean rooms. Great pool area. Great location, 2mins walk to walk of fame. They also do a great happy hour. Overall... great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutchykoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel is in a good location for sightseeing, I'd still recommend hiring a car for LA though. Dont valet, there is a car park right next door which is way cheaper. Right next to a big shopping centre and seconds from the walk of fame. Rooftop pool is nice but over all the hotel isn't amazing, just a good place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Adelaide_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Property: Loews Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing