We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, in a question mark area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

So this Loews sits on Hollywood blvd. the hotel in under a huge rehab. If you stay here make sure to get a rehabbed room. The lobby has been relocated to the mezzanine. The hotel does have a hertz counter so we rented a car at LAX and returned it to the hotel without a drop off charge. The rehab room we had was really lovely, good pillows, bed and towels. Sound between the rooms is pretty loud. The room next to us could be heard talking on what appeared to the phone as we only heard half of the conversation. The desk staff was not particularly friendly. We came back to the hotel one night to find the line for the elevator going thru the lobby.....American idol contestants.....I spoke to the concierge wasn't there another way to get up stairs and he said no.......we were not happy. We had a good enough buffet breakfast. Hollywood blvd seems unsafe after dark and we saw no police presence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suecoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,750)
There are newer reviews for Loews Hollywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,479 - 2,485 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

A friend and I stayed for a night in August, we rode bicycles from Marina del Rey to the hotel. The neighborhood is Hollywood, so people watching is first rate. I pre paid for the Hollywood sign side, but that wasn't available at the time we arrived; the staff offered a large suite with a pull out sofa, but I opted for the standard city view with two beds, because sofa beds can have a metal bar digging into your back all night. I appreciated the staff's effort. They were really nice and nobody hassled us about our bikes. We got room service drinks, steaks, and some good dessert, the view from the window was a panoramic view of LA from the city to the beach and all parts in between. The pool had too many people in the day time hours, we couldn't get a chair, and some drunk couple was in the pool making noise after the bars around 2am, but I don't fault the hotel for that. Overall, it was a clean, nice room with comfortable beds, the staff was helpful when needed and invisible when not needed. Those are good qualities in a hotel as far as I'm concerned. I'd stay there again for a night for the novelty of the location. If I were staying longer, it might be too busy for my taste because there are people everywhere once you leave your door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent hotel in an excellent location. Right in the centre of Hollywood Blvd. Surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions! We stayed for 3 nights and were upgraded on arrival! Breakfast was average, but there are a lot of restaurants and diners close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDOSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We loved staying here. Right on Hollywood Blvd close to restaurants, shops and tours. Our room on the 16th floor had a great view of the famous Hollywood sign. We loved the location and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hollywood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a Deluxe King room. The staff, restaurants and price are great. The location is perfect for walking or cabbing. So easy to take tours from property. Very nice fitness area, and the heated pool is great.

Room Tip: Desk staff gave us a "quiet" room, ask about it on check-in.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I flew into Hollywood, California for less than 24 hours to catch a show at the Hollywood Bowl. This hotel was in the perfect location for me. It was walking distance to the tourist spots (stars on the sidewalk, Dolby Theatre, etc.) and it was walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl. The rooms were stunning, clean, quiet and the beds were very comfortable. It felt like being home. I would definitely stay here again. PS. I could see the HOLLYWOOD sign from my room. That was pretty cool :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is overpriced for a 3 star hotel. The location is only convenient to the walk of fame and that's it. They are far from everywhere and need transportation Yo have to drive every where. Even when you walk down to the walk of fame, you get hustled every five meters so just keep to to yourself.
The butlers were extremely rude upon arrival and reception charge my credit card told me that we cosider your platinum vis credit card a debit card. Doesn't make sense.
I would never go back again to this hotel and regret staying there for three nights. They need to have a reality check and see how much hotels of their kid of service charge.

Room Tip: Avoid going there. They are very experience.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alshehabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#68 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
The Garland
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,087 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#72 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £219 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing