We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want Hollywood this is for you. You can park and walk to all the sights - expensive parking though. The rooms are rather small for LA standards but perfectly fine if you're not planning to spend a lot of time here. The beds are SUPER comfy and very quiet rooms too. Room service was very slow which was a shame because the food was pretty good. The bell hops were excellent, really on the ball and very pleasant. My check-in was speedy but I did see long lines later in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator bank.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are delighted to hear that our iconic location and its accessibility to so many shopping and dining options served you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
There are newer reviews for Loews Hollywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights in March 2013. I picked the hotel because it had a great rate and was recommended by a business acquaintance. If you want a convenient and nice place to stay in the heart of Hollywood, this is the place. The complex that the hotel is located in is modern and safe with movie theaters, a shopping mall, lots of chain restaurants, and the Dolby Theatre where the Academy Awards is also located in the same complex. It was neat to simply see the theater even though nothing was going on and you couldn't get in. Another great thing about this complex is that it has a huge underground parking ramp that is clean, safe and well-lighted. I don't recall getting a special rate from the hotel, but the daily parking rate was reasonable by LA standards. Outside of this particular complex, you have Hollywood -- the good, the bad, and the ugly. It is fun to walk around and see all the characters on the street, the Hollywood walk of fame, Jimmy Kimmel's theater and all the other sites. I didn't have kids with me on this trip, but I think it would be a fun place to stay with the family (although not as fun as something closer to the water). The hotel room was very large, clean and had a great view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluetornado0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We agreed that Hollywood and Highland is at a very energetic location.
Hopefully you made some wonderful memories during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Was here on a conference with family. Centrally located on Hollywood Blvd. next to the Dolby theater, and the TCL. The rooms are small, not too impress with the view of the pool. Did not feel like a brand new luxury hotel, small pool, small lobby, and small gym. The restaurant had dirty table cloths. The food was less than average. This hotel has lots of room for improvement.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dylan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

The experience you describe is not in keeping with our standards. While we are pleased to know that the hotel’s location was a hit, we would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience.
Please do not hesitate to call on our manager on duty at 323 856 1200 for additional follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked a Deluxe King room and were delighted when we woke up in the morning to see a clear view of the Hollywood sign from our room window. Complimentary upgrade? The room was spacious and modern with a good shower and lighting in the bathroom.

As a non-US resident I would not stay at the hotel again, due to poor customer service and billing issues.

Positives:

-Really good position for the walk of fame, Chinese theatre and the Hollywood sign, which was all I was in Hollywood to see.
- A complimentary car service which we used for transportation to a restaurant for the evening.
-Excellent coffee making facilities.
-Pool area and pool bar were rather nice.

Negatives

- Room service was poor, of 4 bottles of wine we tried to order only 1 was available. It was 1/2 an hour late one day (after phoning and being told it was on its way) and the order we received wasn't correct.
- No mini-bar price list and we've since been charged $10 dollars for something out of it we didn't have over 3 days after we left. We've tried to query this by email but have been told to phone, we live in the UK and therefore it'd cost us more than $10 for the call!
-Billing, we were not told on check-in that our card would be charged daily, which is actually against the merchants agreement, this meant that as UK customers we have incurred lots of separate transaction fees.
-Travellers cheques are not accepted as payment against your final bill, again I felt that the hotel was not set up for, or wanted customers from outside of the US.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sophika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Loews Hotels welcomes all travelers and we regret that your recent experience left you with a contrary perception. We hope that the many positives you encountered during your stay will serve as encouragement for a future visit.
Please contact our management team at any time for further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here as a family i.e. two adults and two teens. One teen used a sofa bed, the other a rollaway bed. The room was easily comfortable enough to accommodate this configuration and I would recommend this for families struggling to find good quality accommodation that is centrally located.
It is walking distance to the Walk of Fame, Graumans Chinese Theatre and all of the touristy and fun stuff on Hollywood Bld such as Madame Tussauds, Ripleys, etc...so if you are interested in all of these I would highly recommend it.
We got room service a couple of times for brekkie and it always arrived promptly and was of good quality.
We had a rental car that we paid to have valet parked at the hotel. It was always retrieved promptly, and we were grateful not to have to worry about parking. In fact the front of hotel staff were excellent. Always opening our car door and making us feel welcome on return each day.

Room Tip: We didn't have a nice view :( Ask for a high floor if you are after a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubefeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are pleased to know you had such a gr8 stay!
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Loews is a brand new hotel, or so it seems. Modern look, very clean in the rooms and in the public areas.

Rooms could be larger, especially if you take a double queen, as we did ( 2 + 2 kids ).
Modern look, large windows offering a nice view. Swimming pool is ok, not too big and almost located in the shopping area.

If you have a car, then parking is close by in the hollywood shopping center next door. Cost is 13$ for self parking. It is a bit of a hasstle to get from the parking into the hotel by foot.

Restaurant was closed when we were there. Breakfast was available in a conference room. Not the most romantic place, but ok. Cost was 27$ for a full bf including omelets of choice.
Nice restaurants available in the shopping center, or accross the street.

Location is perfect if you want to wander around on the walk of fame ( not really a nice place ), take the car to the studios; Paramount is 2.5mi. Beverly Hills is a 20 minute drive. LAX a 45min drive due to lack of direct highways in between.

Room Tip: ask high floor, hollywood sign side
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieterderam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that the hotel's central location worked well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Loews Hollywood Hotel. The place is clean and updated and we had no problems. It is very easy to get to the outdoor mall from the hotel without having to go on the street. The area around the hotel is dirty and not the best place to go at night but the mall and hotel itself are excellent. We especially enjoyed the different shops and eateries.

Room Tip: get a room with a view to the Hollywood Sign if possible
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jomil0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,944 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#67 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
The Garland
#14 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,083 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#72 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £221 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing